R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Old 06-01-2005, 07:06 PM   #1
Tech Regular

Send a message via ICQ to Dragon
Default Need help starting Pull start

haha... sorry guys, im new to this...

Using the GXR-15 on the V-one S III...

I have been trying like 6 hours now, but i cant seem to get the car to start... fingers hurting...

I followed the manual like so closely... 1/2 turn here and there... doesnt start... got it to start it ONCE but died a while later...

could it be the trottle? been trying a slight trottle before pulling it...

AM i Missing Something?????
Dragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2005, 07:56 PM   #2
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

In cases like this, always go back to the basics.

First, check the glow plug and your igniter. Pull it out and make sure the plug glows. It should glow bright.

Next, fuel. Is fuel getting to the engine? Check the lines and stuff. Pull the line off the carburetor and see if there's fuel there. Is the fuel good?

If this checks out, put everything back, and richen the mixture screws 1/4 turn. Try it now.
jiml is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2005, 05:03 AM   #3
Tech Regular

Thanks Jiml,

I found the problem... not the plug but the heater itself... no power...hehe didnt know a glow plug actually "GLOWS"...

now trying to break in the engine... keeps stalling tho...
Old 06-02-2005, 08:28 AM   #4
Tech Regular

Hey guys, is it normal for the pipe to be spitting fuel? how do i solve it if its a problem?
Old 06-02-2005, 08:50 AM   #5
Tech Master

spitting fuel during break in is normal.. it means that its running rich.
if it keeps stalling you might try leaning it out an 1/8 turn on the hs needle.

If the engine is running that rich it might not be getting up to temp.. during break in you want it to reach a min of 180F and no more than around 220F otherwise your just wasting fuel.
onnetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2005, 08:52 AM   #6
Tech Regular