R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-10-2005, 02:14 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
performula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CO
Posts: 1,729
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Servo wire exposed

After running my car this weekend I noticed that my throttle servo wire got pinched in my battery holder and went through the wiring. The only wire effected of the three was the black negative wire. It almost wore through the metal wire. Is there a way to fix this or will the servo be OK?
performula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2005, 02:16 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
performula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CO
Posts: 1,729
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

The servo works fine.
performula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2005, 03:10 PM   #3
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,106
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by performula
The servo works fine.
Use CA to seal the opening for further damage....the key is you don't want the opening to get worst or get shorted for some reason...
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2005, 07:03 PM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
Ffejdat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 904
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Use a dab of silicone to insulate it, so it is flexible like the wire. as long as it's only ONE wire that is exposed, it will be ok after insulating it. make sure the exposed wire is not frayed or broken, don't want it to break or fail later, should be ok. You can wrap the whole area with a little electrical tape, to protect it from happening again, maybe try to re route your wire so it doesn't happen again.
Ffejdat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2005, 10:21 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
Rapid Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: L.A. (Rowland Hts)
Posts: 1,531
Default

You can also use liquid electrical tape. I get mine at home depot. Many different colors too.
Rapid Roy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2005, 06:00 PM   #6
Tech Regular
 
clmbia45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: las vegas, nv
Posts: 366
Default Re: Servo wire exposed

Quote:
Originally posted by performula
After running my car this weekend I noticed that my throttle servo wire got pinched in my battery holder and went through the wiring. The only wire effected of the three was the black negative wire. It almost wore through the metal wire. Is there a way to fix this or will the servo be OK?
Well, you have another issue. The black wire is carrying the negative power to the servo. The wires are the size they are for a good reason: it takes this size of wire running the original length, to carry the maximum current draw of the servo, plus a "safety factor". If too many strands are cut, the wire will over heat, and burn out. You have, IMO, three choices:
1. Open up the servo and solder a replacement lead to the circuit board. Not a problem if you have a small soldering iron and a steady hand.
2. Cut and clean the damaged wire and splice the ends together. You can solder them, but they must then be protected from flexing or it will break at the wire/solder border.
3. Cut all the wires at the damaged area and swedge on a new connector. Of course the wire has to be long enough to reach.

If more than a 1/3 of the strands are cut, I would not continue to use the servo without one of the above fixes.
clmbia45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2005, 07:06 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
performula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CO
Posts: 1,729
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Just in case, where can I get a new Futaba J lead/connector?
performula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2005, 07:14 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
Rapid Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: L.A. (Rowland Hts)
Posts: 1,531
Default

Hobby shop. You might need to buy an extension and cut off one end.
Rapid Roy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2005, 09:40 PM   #9
Moderator
 
Artificial-I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rurouni Kenshin
Posts: 3,459
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Artificial-I
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by performula
Just in case, where can I get a new Futaba J lead/connector?
Im sure superior will have one. I would check ebay and stuff before cause I was searching online and they have a futaba power switch for 2 dollars shipped. It was 9 dollars for the same thing at superior.

Normally its not that bad, but if you want to save a buck you can always try that.
Artificial-I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2005, 11:22 PM   #10
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Ft. Lauderdale
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by performula
Just in case, where can I get a new Futaba J lead/connector?
Just about any Hobby shop around you, and you got a few to chose from. If you are sheptical about doing it yourself you might consider sending it back to the manufac. or service center and they will usually be happy to do it for you and it doesn't void your potential warranty.
viperrj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FOR SALE 4 wire SERVO tomo900 Australia For Sale/Trade 0 07-23-2008 01:06 AM
4 wire servo mxdawg Micro and Mini Scales 2 12-04-2007 03:55 AM
spektrum wire exposed HELP! cm367700 Radio and Electronics 2 11-27-2007 10:02 AM
Servo Wire OLD 69 Electric On-Road 13 05-17-2007 12:35 AM
FET Servo Wire???? drx Rookie Zone 12 04-01-2004 06:58 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:44 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net