R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-25-2013, 04:33 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
snuvet75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,412
Trader Rating: 16 (94%+)
Default How do I change gear mesh in NT1?

The title sounds to be a stupid question but I just don't understand how to do it in my NT1. The gear mesh happens to be right when I built it so I didn't have to worry about it but the lower engine mount is supposed to be moving so as to adjust the mesh but the mounts have only round holes where the screws go in. They don't have one of those sliding holes like electric motor mount. How do you do it really? Did I just get defected part?
__________________
Capricorn LAB C03, Capricorn LAB C803, Serpent Project 4X, Serpent Spyder SRX2, Mugen MTC-1
RCTarget, DeSotoRacing
snuvet75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 05:20 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
djiewie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 440
Default

use the bolts on the motor. once the mesh is correct you can change gears without readjusting the engine/mesh.
the lower mount does not move, and thats really good. its the only car i know off with this and its great.
djiewie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 05:50 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
snuvet75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,412
Trader Rating: 16 (94%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by djiewie View Post
use the bolts on the motor. once the mesh is correct you can change gears without readjusting the engine/mesh.
the lower mount does not move, and thats really good. its the only car i know off with this and its great.
Thanks but I still don't get it because the upper motor mounts don't have sliding holes either. There's a little nipple in lower mounts that go into a dent in bottoms of upper mounts. They are total round males and females that fit to each other. And it's not like the motor has sliding holes. I thought of using smaller socket heads but it doesn't make a sense because the engine will be loose eventually if I do that.
__________________
Capricorn LAB C03, Capricorn LAB C803, Serpent Project 4X, Serpent Spyder SRX2, Mugen MTC-1
RCTarget, DeSotoRacing
snuvet75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 06:18 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
valk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,025
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to valk Send a message via AIM to valk Send a message via MSN to valk
Default

the motor screws themselves have a little bit of wiggle if you back them off which is enough to adust the mesh. then if you have to pull the motor, just unscrew the lower screws. comes in and out without any adjustment after.
__________________
My stuff
| Team Associated - Reedy - Reflex Racing/RSD - ProAMPS RC |
My RC
www.irocc.ca - www.wcics.ca - www.vrcworld.com - http://proampsrc.com/ - www.teamassociated.com
valk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 06:30 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
snuvet75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,412
Trader Rating: 16 (94%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by valk View Post
the motor screws themselves have a little bit of wiggle if you back them off which is enough to adust the mesh. then if you have to pull the motor, just unscrew the lower screws. comes in and out without any adjustment after.
I see. I just couldn't think of a concept that you can "Not" tighten the screws all the way, especially when a car has a lot of vibration like this nitro. I'm a newbie in nitro world but I have several electric cars and still didn't get it. Good to know. Thanks a lot Valk!!
__________________
Capricorn LAB C03, Capricorn LAB C803, Serpent Project 4X, Serpent Spyder SRX2, Mugen MTC-1
RCTarget, DeSotoRacing
snuvet75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 06:38 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
valk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,025
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to valk Send a message via AIM to valk Send a message via MSN to valk
Default

what i mean is the holes in your motor tabs are too big for the screws, so if you loosten the top screws that actually hold the motor to its mounts, you can adjust the mesh. but you wanna loctite those to the mount itself for sure as they will wiggle loose.
the motor mounts themselves wont move as they are keyed to the chassis motor mount.
__________________
My stuff
| Team Associated - Reedy - Reflex Racing/RSD - ProAMPS RC |
My RC
www.irocc.ca - www.wcics.ca - www.vrcworld.com - http://proampsrc.com/ - www.teamassociated.com
valk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 06:58 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
snuvet75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,412
Trader Rating: 16 (94%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by valk View Post
what i mean is the holes in your motor tabs are too big for the screws, so if you loosten the top screws that actually hold the motor to its mounts, you can adjust the mesh. but you wanna loctite those to the mount itself for sure as they will wiggle loose.
the motor mounts themselves wont move as they are keyed to the chassis motor mount.
Then the instruction is wrong because it says to loosen the screws from LOWER mounts to adjust the mesh. But like I said, there's no way to do that by the manual. I just checked it on my car and you're right about that. THanks again
__________________
Capricorn LAB C03, Capricorn LAB C803, Serpent Project 4X, Serpent Spyder SRX2, Mugen MTC-1
RCTarget, DeSotoRacing
snuvet75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:42 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net