R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Old 04-27-2005, 10:46 AM   #1
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Cost to design a kit?

Out of curiousity. When a company has an engineer (s) design a 1/8 scale racer or touring car how much money is invested into the car before it actually goes into production?

My guess is $100,000.
performula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2005, 11:04 AM   #2
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)

This is a very good question.

I'm a design engineer for a major automotive supplier and I know how much work is involved in getting a design to implementation.

The processes will be definately be less restrictive than automotive design (FMVSS, Customer design specs, WSS, etc...) however it will still require a good investment to get it done.
ddesros2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2005, 11:45 AM   #3
Tech Fanatic

Default Re: Cost to design a kit?

Quote:
Originally posted by performula
Out of curiousity. When a company has an engineer (s) design a 1/8 scale racer or touring car how much money is invested into the car before it actually goes into production?

My guess is $100,000.
Depends on many factors. If you have a competent designer who can get the prototype design in the ballpark straight off the board and you have access to your own workshop etc you could make a prototype competitive for around $5k.

But if you have to source another company to make the parts etc or the design is poor then it could amount to anything up to $200k
teammpp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2005, 07:05 PM   #4
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

You also need a competent machinist to make you the prototype, , right PE?
nitrodude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2005, 08:41 PM   #5

Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Artificial-I