R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-18-2005, 06:23 AM   #1
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pole Position
Posts: 3,173
Trader Rating: 13 (93%+)
Default fail safe.. is it really worth it ?

just wanted some info on fail safes


trying to set my gws fail safe on my fw-05r however i cant get it to hold the throttle closed without putting so much force on the servo.

any ideas on that ?

thanks
Jhn
mrgsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2005, 07:08 AM   #2
Moderator
 
Artificial-I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rurouni Kenshin
Posts: 3,459
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Artificial-I
Default

Get an electronic one.
Artificial-I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2005, 08:30 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Tabushi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chile - Southamerica
Posts: 3,029
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Tabushi Send a message via Yahoo to Tabushi
Default

I use the small ofna failsafe (http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXEYG2&P=ML)

And YES, IT REALLY WORTH ... on my truck last weekend during the race i was receiving a small interference on a hi-speed turn at every lap, and fortunately just when the car wanted to turn crazy the failsafe activated it self in every turn and aplied some brakes on my, after 1/2 second i had the control again ... so for me its great ...

Here its a pic of it :

__________________
Patricio "PATO" Concha

E-Mail : [email protected]
Facebook : http://www.facebook.com/patoconcha
Whatsapp : +56 9 66165085
Tabushi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2005, 01:20 PM   #4
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,106
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default Re: fail safe.. is it really worth it ?

Quote:
Originally posted by mrgsr
just wanted some info on fail safes


trying to set my gws fail safe on my fw-05r however i cant get it to hold the throttle closed without putting so much force on the servo.

any ideas on that ?

thanks
Jhn
Go get a $20 OFNA fail safe or that Vernom one....$20 is really nothing, but will safe your $500 plus car running on to the highway or onto a concrete wall.

Those throttle return springs are so 80s....not that it does not work, it only works with HIGH END throttle servos.....those $30 cheap servo are so hard to move and those springs are not strong enough to pull those cheap servo back to the brake position....

Also, the idea is to set the throttle servo to BRAKE position when something happen, not just to the close/idle position, you want the car to BRAKE when something happen, not just slide...
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2005, 09:34 PM   #5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 939
Send a message via AIM to bbntc3
Default

I've always used PCM on my radio with built in failsafe, now I use the new Spektrum system with failsafe built in. I never thought the add on was worth the weight and trouble mounting. I guess with the lesser radio systems it could be of some help. Just remember no failsafe works if you loose batt voltage.
bbntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2005, 09:41 PM   #6
Tech Adept
 
k_brian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 139
Default

The ko propo Fail safe work great. It stop your car if the reciever pack voltage hit 5.0v. The bad thing about fail safe is if it activate at the long straight it and be dangerous too.
k_brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2005, 09:54 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,318
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

If you don't want the failsafe to totally crunch the brakes on, just limit your brake epa down until it's where you want it, then setup the failsafe. Then you can move the epa to the normal setting.

I'd rather spend 25 bux on a failsafe than buy the whole front end of my cars or a motor.
jbrow1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2005, 09:58 PM   #8
Tech Regular
 
Ducati-Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: California Central Coast
Posts: 458
Default Problem with electronic failsafes .......

is that they only work when the battery is hooked up and charged. Lets say the battery gets disconnected or the switch comes loose and turns off the radio - then you are screwed so you need electronic and the ol spring thing.
Ducati-Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2005, 10:29 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,318
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Exactly the reason I run a failsafe AND throttle return spring. No such thing as to overcautious when driving a toy car that you've got near a grand into!
jbrow1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 07:58 PM   #10
Tech Addict
 
Darth Vader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Coruscant
Posts: 658
Default

Had a KO fail-safe installed about a week ago.
Was playing at a local track 2 days ago when rx batt voltage dropped. Failsafe kicked in...
Worth the money I'd say...
Darth Vader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 08:48 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,318
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Although my last race I was using a failsafe and a return spring and still had a runaway!! The throttle servo went out, but locked in full open position. A guy caught it and shut it down luckily. Anyhow after taking the servo out, putting a horn on it thing still wouldn't turn. It was completely locked. Don't ask what kinda servo...I was testing a new kind for kicks. And yes you get what ya pay for. Airtronics and Futaba for me please and thank-you!!
Just saying there are instances where they won't work. But I wouldn't run a nitro without one!

Last edited by jbrow1; 04-21-2005 at 09:30 PM.
jbrow1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 09:06 PM   #12
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 259
Default

After spending $120 dollars on the front end of one of my first nitro cars. I put one on every nitro car I have. Never had a runaway again. Ofna, KO, Venom they all work and are worth the money, nice little $25 insurance policy. I'm sure there are plenty of instances that an electronic failsafe won't work. So what, because there are plenty when they do work and work well.
jbackslash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2005, 10:32 AM   #13
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,106
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jbrow1
If you don't want the failsafe to totally crunch the brakes on, just limit your brake epa down until it's where you want it, then setup the failsafe. Then you can move the epa to the normal setting.

I'd rather spend 25 bux on a failsafe than buy the whole front end of my cars or a motor.
You forgot about the average $75 a piece chassis.............
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2005, 10:38 AM   #14
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,106
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

There are no such thing is 100% GARANTEE run away free device.
If you batteries suddenly cutted out, the plug competely off, your throttle servo burned, your throttle linkage suddenly locked into the WOT position........NO failsafe can save you.

Everyone should spend an hour or so to check all the electronics and servo condition, a day or so before SUNDAY race..........I've been doing that for a long time (almost 20 years).....back then, there is no such thing is FAILSAFE.........just throttle return springs or plumbing O-rings.........but I have never had 1 run away in my life.
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2005, 03:59 PM   #15
Tech Master
 
dg8one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: NELLYVILLE
Posts: 1,368
Default

you can buy a bag of fail safe at a dollar store for buck they called rubber band been using it for almost 6 years and its cheap and lite wite
__________________
Member of the CHEATERS CLUB
TEAM KAMIKAZE(MARYLAND CHAPTER)
TOKWA'T BABOY LTD
dg8one is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BEST FAIL SAFE TO FIT G4S? aussies1129 Nitro On-Road 13 06-19-2007 06:55 AM
WTB fail safe rammstein88 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 06-07-2006 07:01 PM
FS: Fail safe Boarder_man720 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 01-25-2006 11:08 PM
HPI mt2 Fail safe mcfly276 Monster Trucks 7 02-08-2005 09:11 PM
this is what happens if you don't have a FAIL SAFE cybertoolzz Nitro On-Road 12 04-08-2003 11:41 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:32 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net