R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-29-2005, 10:20 AM   #16
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Default

A friend's failsafe on a new XTM XLB failed to kick in when the signal got scrambled and sent the buggy into a wall at 20mph. Fresh batteries in both tx and rx and was 30-40ft away when it happened. Luckily all he broke was a metal rod used to support the internals to the chassis.

The only thing disturbing is the car did this once while in another parking lot late at night standing 20ft from the car during break in and the fail safe activated for some odd reason, but did so correctly without locking the throttle in full open position. It just stopped responding.

Is the rubber band really that effective of a secondary failsafe? Right now, my friend can't "trust" his XTM won't launch into a street or other large object if it happens again. Its less than a week old with only a handful of tanks run through it.

Also, could excessive vibration cause this and further isolating of the wires will be needed? The XTM is totally stock.

Sunny
JaguarXJ6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2005, 12:53 PM   #17
Tech Regular
 
jrabbito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 265
Default

OK,

If you think logically then why not eliminate points of failure...switch is one. You can remove it. In Europe and Asia many people run without it (I am talking racing here).

Second is one that has been mentioned a few times. A GOOD return spring. I think will eliminate many problems.

A failsafe is still a good thing but only works under specific circumstances...

John
jrabbito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2005, 01:15 PM   #18
Tech Regular
 
dct147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Singapore
Posts: 350
Default

where do we apply the rubber band and/springs for a subsistute fail safe?
dct147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2005, 03:11 PM   #19
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks John! We'll both probably make a trip over to Hobby People where he bought the buggy and see if they have a better spring and a different fail safe switch and I'll do some shopping of my own. Out of the box, this fail safe switch appears buggy (no pun intended!).

He has a much better transmitter (higher quality, not sure which type, an FM band I think) that he might be able to use with it from his other RC car he bought 6 or 7 years ago that was not top of the line but close to it.

Sunny
JaguarXJ6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2005, 12:00 AM   #20
Tech Addict
 
GReddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: san francisco, CA
Posts: 531
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to GReddy
Default

dont get the ofna one get the venom one much better
GReddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2005, 01:26 PM   #21
Tech Addict
 
Neil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: me..me..me
Posts: 583
Send a message via MSN to Neil
Default

Another thing that a return spring or a failsafe won't protect against is a radio hit where the the guy on your channel is closer to your car than you. Your car will almost always take his signal. But hopefully you don't race with idiots and that won't happen to you.

Last edited by Neil; 05-08-2005 at 01:37 PM.
Neil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2005, 02:08 PM   #22
Tech Master
 
Rob Phillips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Indianapolis / VA
Posts: 1,722
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I have a Dynomite one if anyones interested, $20 shipped. Made by Venom I believe, never been used. I bought it off season and now have PCM so I don't need it. Rob
__________________
Team Durango | TrakPower | DE Racing | Futaba | Restricted Paint Worx

Velocity R/C Magazine - vrcmag.com
Rob Phillips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2005, 04:02 PM   #23
Tech Elite
 
stevenmichael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: fresno,ca
Posts: 2,142
Trader Rating: 34 (95%+)
Default

my failsafe had no problem kicking in when someone turned their radio on as soon as it glitched the failsafe turned on and i believe the dynamite operates at a lower voltage(usage?) so when the battery dies the failsafe automatically kicks in meaning theres enough to run the failsafe but not the servos.one person at our track thought he was having problems with is failsafe engaging when it shouldnt said he had just charged the battery earlier in the day when he removed it everything worked fine so he raced it in the first heat about4-5 laps in it took off wide open jumped the track into the feild next door and hit a wall about 500 ft away as soon as it hit we knew it was toast a 3 week old savage with 200.00 in repairs all he had to do was recharge the batt. it turns out he never turned the charger on hooked it up but never turned it on.yes they really do work but there are other things that need to be done also(throttle return spring,inspecting your vehicle) that will prevent runaways.
stevenmichael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2005, 04:44 PM   #24
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 111
Send a message via ICQ to AJC13B
Default

Ive got a Duratrax FS (I think) and while I have had no problems bashing my NCT3 about my street, when I went to the track I had massive problems. Seems my FS was picking up someone elses signal and glitching like a mofo. Took the FS off and had no more problems...
AJC13B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2005, 05:02 PM   #25
Tech Addict
 
GReddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: san francisco, CA
Posts: 531
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to GReddy
Default

the duratrax ones are gay they brake when u hold full throttle for a few seconds

or at least thats how my friends is
GReddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2005, 04:29 AM   #26
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Staten Island ny
Posts: 711
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bbntc3
I've always used PCM on my radio with built in failsafe, now I use the new Spektrum system with failsafe built in. I never thought the add on was worth the weight and trouble mounting. I guess with the lesser radio systems it could be of some help. Just remember no failsafe works if you loose batt voltage.
I think I have bad news for people. I was just told yesterday that the failsafe on the specktrm will not work for low voltage. It will work for range and interference only. I was told this through my ljs by the company.. This really s..ks as I already bot one and I do not want to add another failsafe to the car.
CHUCKMANDO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BEST FAIL SAFE TO FIT G4S? aussies1129 Nitro On-Road 13 06-19-2007 06:55 AM
WTB fail safe rammstein88 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 06-07-2006 07:01 PM
FS: Fail safe Boarder_man720 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 01-25-2006 11:08 PM
HPI mt2 Fail safe mcfly276 Monster Trucks 7 02-08-2005 09:11 PM
this is what happens if you don't have a FAIL SAFE cybertoolzz Nitro On-Road 12 04-08-2003 11:41 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:15 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net