R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Old 04-10-2006, 08:30 PM   #4246
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)

hello everyone, i am new to this onroad but went with the best. this is my first car, and i read alot of the threads but just too many, so here is my question. what is meant by say like a shore 37, 40 and so forth. also what is the prefered type of tire rubber or foam. i am in the breakin process right now a RBMods LR3 with a RB pipe and header, a ballistic powerplant. i am going to start with the kit setup for starters, but like always any tips are appreciated. thanks
r1harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2006, 08:34 PM   #4247
Tech Regular

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgar Millenium
Hi Guys!!!

I will be traveling soon, and will take my cars with me..... I am cleaning my MTX4 and found that if I remove the upper tray the chassis bend a little, about 1/8 in difference from the front end and the rear end, but with the upper plate, is looks straight if I use setting blocks.

Do you think that I should chage it or no?? What about a 4mm Chassis instead the stock one?

Thanks
Edgar
Edgar:

You can remove the parts from the chassis in sections and then try to flatten out the chassis again by applying backward pressure at the point of the bend. Maybe not as good as new but handling should not be greatly affected. Typically the Mugen chassis will bend about 3/4 from the front, toward the rear just in front of the first engine mount (i.e. the mount closest to the font) so look there if the bend is present. If the bend is right at the front, trickier to flatten and I'd watch for cracks. If the chassis cracks, I wouldn't use it.

additionally

if the chassis is twisted, I would toss it. Certain bends are easy to fix but a twist is very difficult. A twist will also have a greater negative effect on the car's handling too.