V-ONE S Thread

Reply

Old 01-01-2003, 02:27 AM
  #826  
Tech Master
iTrader: (10)
 
Sp Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,629
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

IMHO

in my honest opinion


I've run nothing but 30% nitro in my V one S since day one, never had a single OS#8 plug fail...I've also tried the A5, I found the #8 gives better throttle response...

Probably 90% of the guys that raced at the Kyosho World Cup were using OS#8......
Attached Thumbnails V-ONE S Thread-image1.jpg  
Sp Racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2003, 02:33 AM
  #827  
Tech Regular
 
Brett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Shellharbour NSW Australia
Posts: 348
Default

your runing 30 % and u think the a5 is too cold ??????

u have to retune your engine once u change your plug

do the kyosho drivers have to use kyosho engines ?????
Brett is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2003, 02:40 AM
  #828  
Tech Master
iTrader: (10)
 
Sp Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,629
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Kyosho Cup you have to use everything Kyosho...except glow plugs!

If you're happy with the A5 that's cool, I do agree with you in regards to the A3 being too hot though..
Sp Racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2003, 02:44 AM
  #829  
Tech Regular
 
Brett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Shellharbour NSW Australia
Posts: 348
Default

man what kyosho engines did they use
Brett is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2003, 02:46 AM
  #830  
Tech Master
iTrader: (10)
 
Sp Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,629
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

GS15R
Sp Racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2003, 02:51 AM
  #831  
Tech Regular
 
Brett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Shellharbour NSW Australia
Posts: 348
Default

dont kyosho make anything better than a gs15r
Brett is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2003, 04:00 AM
  #832  
Tech Master
 
squizzytaylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Toronto NSW Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Hello there!

I think the point here is that the gs15r is a relatively low compression engine compared to others,(super high compression engines are particularly fussy with heat ranges on glow plugs)another major point is the timing of the induction/exhaust .Its not fair to compare the GS15r to other "premium" engines that are sold aftermarket.
This engine (gs15r) I would consider to be one of the more reliable offerings in kit engines. And personally my only reason for changing is the lack of .15 classes at my local club. The OS#8 I have found to be THE plug to use in this engine.
My Zac project os12tr however runs immaculately on the A5 when running 20% and upwards.

gt

squizzytaylor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2003, 04:04 AM
  #833  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 585
Default

Sp Racer - He he..... Simon's pants are snazzy . Speaking of fuels, what brand is it that you use again and where do you get it? I'm looking around for a fuel to use since there's no more 'New Wave Performance Fuel' these days.

If I do go for 30% Nitro content, what oil % do you recommend and will I have to add shims underneath the head to run it? I'll be using the blue heatsink and seeing you say that it's shim is half the thickness of the gold head's one, should I run less nitro than 30%? Then again, I could just as easily use the thicker shim with the blue head. Then, thinking about it, using the thinner shim with the blue head would save me money because I should be using fuel with less nitro.... and less nitro means less $$$ . I suppose I'll use the O.S#8 glowplug that you so loyally stand by .

What class would your car fit under in the VORTEC specs? I'm tipping Sport.

Last edited by V-One S Racer; 01-01-2003 at 04:19 AM.
V-One S Racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2003, 06:18 AM
  #834  
Tech Regular
 
nova racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ypsilanti MI
Posts: 292
Default

back in 1996 or 95 cant remember but we use to run 40% and a cold plug on race day with my old kyosho in the kyosho cup

Dammmmmm i am getting old
nova racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2003, 02:00 PM
  #835  
Tech Master
iTrader: (10)
 
Sp Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,629
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

V-One S Racer

Fuel?..Cool Power 30 % mix (18% Lubricant)

I use the same shim that comes with the blue head, if you are worried about it use the shim that comes standard..
You're right about the class, sport touring although I think they've just changed the name to super stock?

As for performance of this GS15R engine, at the recent Vortec nats, the two fastest cars in sport touring(rubber tyres, pullstart engines) would have qualified 2 & 3 on the grid of Nitro touring(open engines, foam tyres)....and there were guys in that class running JP novas & Rossi Pixis...

They are pretty quick for a stock motor!
Sp Racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2003, 06:01 PM
  #836  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 140
Default

Great help guys!

It' true Morph, I'm having a hard time to adjust the low speed needle to my liking. Need to spend more time on this one.

And what about the 'extra-special top-secret' trick?

darthkir is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2003, 06:05 PM
  #837  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 585
Default

'Extra-special top-secret' tip eh ?

Here's Sp Racer's site. You'll find lotsa hints and tips. I think you'll find he knows more about the V-One S than anyone on this forum .
V-One S Racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2003, 06:44 PM
  #838  
Tech Master
iTrader: (10)
 
Sp Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,629
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Sp Racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2003, 12:44 AM
  #839  
Tech Master
 
sausage_link's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melb, Australia
Posts: 1,025
Default

i didnt no that the v1s had a blade type front swaybar

anyway i think that q power header is the same as the one off the yokohomo gt4

it looks alot like it
sausage_link is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2003, 01:22 AM
  #840  
Tech Master
 
squizzytaylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Toronto NSW Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default sl

Originally posted by sausage_link
i didnt no that the v1s had a blade type front swaybar

anyway i think that q power header is the same as the one off the yokohomo gt4

it looks alot like it
your right in that they didnt come standard with one but they didnt come with a wire one standard either These are just a heap easier to mess with as you only need 1 not 3 and they take like 5 seconds to adjust! Your probably right on the header I'd say there is one manufacturer in Taiwan who supplies the entire industry, but I dont like ya chances of getting any brand names for $30.00.

gt

squizzytaylor is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service