R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-30-2002, 06:38 PM   #811
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 140
Default

I was trying to tune my friend's V1S. The problem that I noticed was there was sometimes a sudden loss of power during top speed. How can this happen?

darthkir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2002, 07:14 PM   #812
Tech Master
 
chippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NSW OZ
Posts: 1,492
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by darthkir
I was trying to tune my friend's V1S. The problem that I noticed was there was sometimes a sudden loss of power during top speed. How can this happen?

TO LEAN RITCHEN IT UP
OR OUCH ......
chippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2002, 07:24 PM   #813
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 140
Default

Really? Humm...I better check that out, last time the temp was still ok.

My GS15R engine now is using OS8 plug with 16% nitro content. Will this be too cold? Or should i try a warmer plug?

darthkir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2002, 08:31 PM   #814
Tech Master
 
squizzytaylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Toronto NSW Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Plug

Quote:
Originally posted by darthkir
Really? Humm...I better check that out, last time the temp was still ok.

My GS15R engine now is using OS8 plug with 16% nitro content. Will this be too cold? Or should i try a warmer plug?

That plug is good on the gs15r

gt

squizzytaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2002, 08:54 PM   #815
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: JB, Malaysia
Posts: 259
Default

That's usually a sign that the engine is choking. Its getting too much fuel that it can't burn out. Conversely, it can also mean that its getting too little air (remember, for proper combustion, you need the proper mixture of fuel AND air), so check your filter as well and see if its clogged.

You can try to rev. the engine (short WOT of 1-2secs only please) and see of you get the familiar zing of a screaming engine at top RPM. Then monitor idle and see if it dies off in 10-15secs without blipping the throttle. If it tends to rev higher and higher then die of, you're running too lean. If its sputtering, you're too rich. Try to get a steady idle (its not easy with the GS-15R).

remember we had this debate on whether its a single needle or 2-needle carb? Thats why its not easy to tune the GS-15R.

I use OS#8 too, and it last longer than the OS#A3 I was using in my Dodge Ram QRC.

Oh, another thing, if its losing power only once in awhile, then you might have an overheating engine. Check whether you're running too lean and check your air filter.

ok

Quote:
Originally posted by darthkir
I was trying to tune my friend's V1S. The problem that I noticed was there was sometimes a sudden loss of power during top speed. How can this happen?

Morpheus2be is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2002, 09:14 PM   #816
Tech Master
 
squizzytaylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Toronto NSW Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default OS glow plugs

Quote:
Originally posted by Morpheus2be
That's usually a sign that the engine is choking. Its getting too much fuel that it can't burn out. Conversely, it can also mean that its getting too little air (remember, for proper combustion, you need the proper mixture of fuel AND air), so check your filter as well and see if its clogged.

You can try to rev. the engine (short WOT of 1-2secs only please) and see of you get the familiar zing of a screaming engine at top RPM. Then monitor idle and see if it dies off in 10-15secs without blipping the throttle. If it tends to rev higher and higher then die of, you're running too lean. If its sputtering, you're too rich. Try to get a steady idle (its not easy with the GS-15R).

remember we had this debate on whether its a single needle or 2-needle carb? Thats why its not easy to tune the GS-15R.

I use OS#8 too, and it last longer than the OS#A3 I was using in my Dodge Ram QRC.

Oh, another thing, if its losing power only once in awhile, then you might have an overheating engine. Check whether you're running too lean and check your air filter.

ok

The reason the OS#8 lasts longer than the A3 is that the 8 has a platinum filament and the A3 is only platinum coated.
On the gs15r,to the best of my knowledge there is only a 2 needle version, There is however a GX15R as fitted to the Ultima rb buggy which in its current form is a single needle, however I have seen these also fitted with 2needle carbs in thier early days.
The easiest way to tell the difference is the gs15r has a screw-on carby and the GX15 has collar-lock type carby.

gt

squizzytaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2002, 09:37 PM   #817
Tech Master
 
Sp Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,624
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

darthkir

Sounds to me like your top end is too lean, richen it up 1/2 a turn...also check for air bubbles in the fuel supply line when you give it a good rev, very common problem on a VoneS with a standard tank
Sp Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2002, 02:43 AM   #818
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 585
Default

He could use your 'extra-special top-secret' trick on his fuel tank.

Last edited by V-One S Racer; 12-31-2002 at 04:01 PM.
V-One S Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2002, 02:26 PM   #819
Tech Adept
 
NitroJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Madison, Dairy Land
Posts: 121
Default HPI 12R SS

After I broke in the V-1S ( I love the Car). I decided to swap the Kyosho out and put the 12R SS ( I own a Type SS also ), since the Kyosho has .56hp and the SS has 1+ (HPI said). I am not sure do I need any mod to install the SS on the V-1S. I am already order the engine mount (thks to Squizz). The flywheel on the SS is 40mm vs 38mm on the V-1S. Any suggestion guys. thanks. HAPPY NEW EVERYBODY

Squizz, thanks for all your help and everybody.
NitroJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2002, 02:51 PM   #820
Tech Master
 
squizzytaylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Toronto NSW Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: HPI 12R SS

Quote:
Originally posted by NitroJoe
After I broke in the V-1S ( I love the Car). I decided to swap the Kyosho out and put the 12R SS ( I own a Type SS also ), since the Kyosho has .56hp and the SS has 1+ (HPI said). I am not sure do I need any mod to install the SS on the V-1S. I am already order the engine mount (thks to Squizz). The flywheel on the SS is 40mm vs 38mm on the V-1S. Any suggestion guys. thanks. HAPPY NEW EVERYBODY

Squizz, thanks for all your help and everybody.
Joe, Im not that sure about the HPI engine, Just pull the Kyosho and the HPI out and start playing. A bit of trial and error as it were.

gt

squizzytaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2002, 05:43 PM   #821
Tech Master
 
squizzytaylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Toronto NSW Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Engine Swaps

Just found this on-line, good for you guys looking at or swapping engines.

http://www.rccaraction.com/articles/ht_replacertr.asp

gt

squizzytaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2002, 10:07 PM   #822
Tech Regular
 
Brett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Shellharbour NSW Australia
Posts: 348
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Morpheus2be

I use OS#8 too, and it last longer than the OS#A3 I was using in my Dodge Ram QRC.

ok
the OS#A3 is known as a run in plug

u fellas should try an os #A5
Brett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2002, 10:14 PM   #823
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 585
Default

I'm using an A5..... what makes you recommend it?
V-One S Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2002, 11:08 PM   #824
Tech Master
 
Sp Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,624
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

IMHO the OS A5 is too cold a plug!.....read the Kyosho manual, they even recommend the OS #8
Sp Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2003, 03:14 AM   #825
Tech Regular
 
Brett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Shellharbour NSW Australia
Posts: 348
Default

V-One S Racer i was recomened the A5 buy my team manager to see how it went... and prior to using this plug i have used a whole range of rossi, quick fire, os, tipan and i have found best results with this plug i run them in all my eninges and dont have a problem

Sp Racer firstly what does IMHO mean

and how can the a5 be too colder plug for especially fo u fellas with the GS-15R wich likes to run on a higer nitro content and a higer nitro content wants a colder plug

i have raced with this plug for a long time now and have had great results

and if u still dont belive me

on the back of the pack it says\

A5 glow plug models to suite
with higer nitro fule, to reduce overheating
1/10 GP touring racing
eninge types 21,15,12

relevant to us


go try one and tell me what u think
Brett is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
All my FS in this thread Vincent_666 Australia For Sale/Trade 11 06-30-2007 03:13 AM
HK for sale thread/wanted to buy thread....finally Got Xray? Hong Kong Racing 1 04-06-2006 09:37 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:37 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net