V-ONE S Thread

Reply

Old 03-03-2003, 03:04 AM
  #1576  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 585
Default

Originally posted by xGSiR
So many scratches on the chassis now.
Unfortunately I know what that's like !
V-One S Racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2003, 01:26 PM
  #1577  
Tech Master
 
squizzytaylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Toronto NSW Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default

Originally posted by xGSiR
Well, several times it stops if i could remember:

- Car accelerates then stalls
- I do a donut with the car, then after it stalls
- Car runs around, then i hit the brakes, stops, and it stalls.

ALSO, when i pull my pullstart, it doesn't feel its holding onto anything anymore. Its like pulling on a string, without that pulling back feeling it use to have. It only goes back to normal when after the car runs around, it has that feeling again.

So its hard at first starting my car, then after that its fine because the recoil starter starts to give that thugging back feeling when u pull the string.
I am gonna take a wild guess and say I think you need to adjust your idle up a bit. If you tell me where your top end and low end adjustments are set I can probably help you further, also have you changed the glow-plug since run-in?
The starter thingy is pretty common, they all do it!

gt

squizzytaylor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2003, 06:35 PM
  #1578  
Tech Adept
 
xGSiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 230
Default

Yeah the night before i this started to happen i did adjust my idle so it has low speed.

Im readjusting it now and going to test again at my park to see if it still stalls.

I guess i won't worry about the starter since its common as you guys say.

Anyway, i been thinking of getting a O.S 12 CV-RX.

If i want to fit this into the V-One S, all i have to do is buy the engine mount, anything else?
So tempting to get an OS12TR instead but the starter box usage is a turn off for me.
xGSiR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2003, 08:10 PM
  #1579  
Tech Master
 
squizzytaylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Toronto NSW Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default

Originally posted by xGSiR
Yeah the night before i this started to happen i did adjust my idle so it has low speed.

Im readjusting it now and going to test again at my park to see if it still stalls.

I guess i won't worry about the starter since its common as you guys say.

Anyway, i been thinking of getting a O.S 12 CV-RX.

If i want to fit this into the V-One S, all i have to do is buy the engine mount, anything else?
So tempting to get an OS12TR instead but the starter box usage is a turn off for me.
why buy the OS? The gs15r has got enough power to get you going with (in fact after your stories of the weekend possibly too much power!)
Get used to the car, get used to your own driving and then if you still crave more power and speed....get a 2 speed!
Then if you still want more buy the OS. If tuning is an issue you can either take it to where you bought it or turn up at a race track and ask someone, youll find 90% of people are more than happy to help.
P.S. Why is the car for sale and what does it come with for $360.00?

gt

squizzytaylor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2003, 08:41 PM
  #1580  
Tech Master
 
squizzytaylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Toronto NSW Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default

This might help

gt

Attached Thumbnails V-ONE S Thread-carb-settings.jpg  
squizzytaylor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2003, 08:42 PM
  #1581  
Tech Master
 
sausage_link's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melb, Australia
Posts: 1,025
Default

i helped him with the tuning squizzy, it sounds right
he hasnt changed the low end and with the stock pipe he has the high end at ruffly 1.5 turns

i think we sused the problem out, the idle was to low, bout a .5mm gap when he hits the brakes, he opened it up. but GSIR if that doesnt fix your problem change your glow plug, get a OS #8
sausage_link is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2003, 09:09 PM
  #1582  
Tech Adept
 
xGSiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 230
Default

Heh thanks for the diagram.

Yeah once break in was completed, i bought an OS #8 glow plug.

Yeah the GS15R no doubt has good power, not that im going to buy the O.S CV-R yet. Later on when competition between my friends heat up. Im going to get two speed soon, that would add more speed to my car since i am craving for power.

Still need to adjust my engine and get it perfect again. Heh i only owned this car for 8 days now >.<

Why my car is for sale? Well at that price im willing to sell it.
Just to see if anyone would buy it.
Not that im no satisfied with the V-One S, i love i.
It mine does sell, i will get one soon after. Since im in a bit of money crisis argh.

Getting my Driving P soon, cost about $120 all together just to take the test. Then i owe some friends money. So if i sell, it would ease it at least then when im stable, getting the V-One S straight away ^^

What does it come with?
Well, like its out of the kit, thats all except no radio. Im keeping my Futuba 2PHKA, awesome control.

Has Vauxhall Astra body. Still have spare parts.
xGSiR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2003, 10:07 PM
  #1583  
Tech Adept
 
xGSiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 230
Default

Alrite i think i tuned the engine well.

Adjust the low end so when it accelerate, its clean. Because before it would spit out fuel and sound if it was choking and if i idle for about 5-10 seconds.

Adjust the idle screw to leave a 1mm gap.

Though, should i try to tune the part where when my car runs out of fuel, the RPM doesnt REV up at the last second?

Im tyring to perfect that but im not sure how i could do that.
xGSiR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2003, 11:54 PM
  #1584  
Tech Master
 
sausage_link's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melb, Australia
Posts: 1,025
Default

Though, should i try to tune the part where when my car runs out of fuel, the RPM doesnt REV up at the last second?
i dont quite understand wat your saying

and are u selling your S already?
sausage_link is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2003, 12:00 AM
  #1585  
Tech Master
 
squizzytaylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Toronto NSW Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default

Originally posted by xGSiR
Alrite i think i tuned the engine well.

Adjust the low end so when it accelerate, its clean. Because before it would spit out fuel and sound if it was choking and if i idle for about 5-10 seconds.

Adjust the idle screw to leave a 1mm gap.

Though, should i try to tune the part where when my car runs out of fuel, the RPM doesnt REV up at the last second?

Im tyring to perfect that but im not sure how i could do that.
the only reason the engine picks up revs is cos its leaning out, If as I suspect your running rich that is why it doesnt pick up noticeably.

gt

squizzytaylor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2003, 12:28 AM
  #1586  
Tech Adept
 
xGSiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 230
Default

Nope nevermind about tuning anymore. I got it all settled.

Engine runs fine, does not stall anymore. Im learning.
The car has good acceleration i tell you. Can't wait until i get 2 speed to see what further speed it could achieve!
xGSiR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2003, 12:46 AM
  #1587  
Tech Master
 
sausage_link's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melb, Australia
Posts: 1,025
Default

now that thats sorted, i got a question
what suspension oil is everyone running in there shocks?

ive got 50wt in the rear, which i think i will change to 30 or 40 because its so damn hard, and i got a bit of understeer in the front, im running kit oil in the front

i can get hte car to slide everywhere, and i figured the suspension is to hard, espically the back
sausage_link is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2003, 01:10 AM
  #1588  
Tech Master
 
squizzytaylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Toronto NSW Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default

Originally posted by sausage_link
now that thats sorted, i got a question
what suspension oil is everyone running in there shocks?

ive got 50wt in the rear, which i think i will change to 30 or 40 because its so damn hard, and i got a bit of understeer in the front, im running kit oil in the front

i can get hte car to slide everywhere, and i figured the suspension is to hard, espically the back
50front w/black spring 5mm ride height
45 rear w/black spring 5 mm ride height
no roll bars
0deg toe front
2.5deg toe rear (this will stop the bastard sliding)
2deg camber front
1.5deg camber rear w/floating mount 2deg without

NOTE. Play with your droop and rebound settings this is the key on this car more than anything else to get it steering and handling right.
Note2 Use a 5mm hex key to set your ride height if you dont have a set-up.

gt

squizzytaylor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2003, 01:18 AM
  #1589  
Tech Adept
 
xGSiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 230
Default

If i change the shocks oils, it wouldn't help much with oversteering aye?

I guess i would try to get 50wt since i would like a smooooth ride.
For both and front. Still running kit oil at the moment heh.
xGSiR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2003, 03:30 AM
  #1590  
Tech Master
 
sausage_link's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melb, Australia
Posts: 1,025
Default

squizzy how do i set the droop and rebound settings?
is that the grub screws on the arms? and how much do i set it at?
sausage_link is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service