R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-01-2012, 01:14 AM   #1
Tech Addict
 
Kingclod27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default TC3..first On Road for me

Hey guys Im new to onroad RC and a lil new to Nitro still...Just traded one of my MTs for this Hopped up TC3...Ive known the guy for a while and he has about 10 of these things at his house and enough parts to build 10 more lol...Really good guy and basically gave this thing to me. Not sure what I have as far as parts on this thing but I can tell its been modified. If you guys could help me out I would greatly appreciate it. I plan on doin sum racing in my area and just general driving around. Also got 2 sets of brand new spare tires. 1 foam set and 1 rubber set.

Heres a few pics....






__________________
SPEED.....I AM SPEED

Last edited by Kingclod27; 08-08-2012 at 11:25 AM.
Kingclod27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 09:45 AM   #2
Tech Champion
 
Logi Maker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 5,584
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

What do you need help with?
__________________
Kyle Predmore
FB AE Fanboy/Insta @ae_fanboy
Sticky Kicks RC\MIP\JConcepts\Schelle\ProlevelRC
Logi Maker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 04:49 PM   #3
Tech Addict
 
Kingclod27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Well its my first car Ive only had MTs and I got my first nitro MT and still learning, he said I needed a starter box, not sure which one to get. Just wanted to know wat kinda motor that is and and any other parts that someone might recognize.
__________________
SPEED.....I AM SPEED
Kingclod27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 05:27 AM   #4
Tech Regular
 
fastharryDOTcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: http://www.fastharry.com NJ
Posts: 303
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingclod27 View Post
Well its my first car Ive only had MTs and I got my first nitro MT and still learning, he said I needed a starter box, not sure which one to get. Just wanted to know wat kinda motor that is and and any other parts that someone might recognize.
That emblem on the top of the cylinder head looks familiar...try looking on the side of the case..maybe PICCO?...of course, you can always ask the guy you bought it from..


here's a link to the ofna started box..

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXHUC8&P=7
__________________
visit fastharry.com We are always updating the site with new cars and cool rc stuff.
old user name "fastharry"Posts: 2,845 Original join date 2001..HPI Challenge Winner.

Last edited by fastharryDOTcom; 08-02-2012 at 05:51 AM.
fastharryDOTcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 05:29 AM   #5
Tech Regular
 
meno1103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 420
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Maybe someone with more experience with NTC3s will chime in, but it looks to me like you have factory team shocks and cvds, Sirio .12 engine with tuned pipe and racers edge air filter, and aftermarket disk brake kit. If it were mine, I'd put matching front/rear wheels ASAP as it just comes off as an eye-sore. Clean car though!

I've only had one starter box, a Kyosho dual 550 motor equipped one for my GT2 car, and have used a pair of 5000mah lipos from day one. Fairly simple box but never had issues.
__________________
HPI RS4 Rally/Pro/Nitro 2's, Traxxas Big Block Npede/Slash 4x4/Nitro 4-tec/E-maxx, Ofna JL10e, Kyosho Inferno GT2, Exotek R18II

Umm, what does overkill mean again?
meno1103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 05:45 AM   #6
Tech Addict
 
Farmer_John's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 606
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Because of the layout of that car, there's only a couple of boxes that'll easily work.

One is the associated box (there's only one) and the OFNA box #10243.

Buy lots of spares. Buy even more tires. Drive it a lot.

I'd certainly pick up some pinion and spur gears...
__________________
Join the Pancar nation

https://www.facebook.com/oneeigth2wdpancar/
Farmer_John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 05:50 AM   #7
Tech Regular
 
fastharryDOTcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: http://www.fastharry.com NJ
Posts: 303
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by meno1103 View Post
Maybe someone with more experience with NTC3s will chime in, but it looks to me like you have factory team shocks and cvds, Sirio .12 engine with tuned pipe and racers edge air filter, and aftermarket disk brake kit. If it were mine, I'd put matching front/rear wheels ASAP as it just comes off as an eye-sore. Clean car though!

I've only had one starter box, a Kyosho dual 550 motor equipped one for my GT2 car, and have used a pair of 5000mah lipos from day one. Fairly simple box but never had issues.
yeah, thats it..SIRIO..I knew I had seen that emblem..
__________________
visit fastharry.com We are always updating the site with new cars and cool rc stuff.
old user name "fastharry"Posts: 2,845 Original join date 2001..HPI Challenge Winner.
fastharryDOTcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 08:02 PM   #8
Tech Addict
 
Kingclod27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Sweet thanks for all the info guys...I have 2 other sets of matching wheels and tires I will put on it. got a set of foams and rubber..So does anyone know how good of a motor that is? Just trying to figure out everything I have. We put a different pip on it before I took it home.




@Farmer... thanks i wasnt sure which starter box i should get. ill look into the associated box.

Im gonna pick up another body and hold onto the other one. its too nice to mess up and I dont know how well I will be able to drive this. Here are a few pics with the other sets of wheels/tires I got.



__________________
SPEED.....I AM SPEED
Kingclod27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 10:56 AM   #9
Tech Addict
 
Kingclod27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I want to change the pipe and possibly the motor at sum point...What are sum good motors and pipes to look at?

Like I said all new to me lol...Im gonna sell the body, and get a new car body that I can paint up myself. I was thinking maybe one of these..
http://www.hpiracing.com/products/en/17513/
http://www.hpiracing.com/products/en/17545/

...or even this one lol
http://www.hpiracing.com/products/en/17513/
__________________
SPEED.....I AM SPEED
Kingclod27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 06:41 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
valk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,025
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to valk Send a message via AIM to valk Send a message via MSN to valk
Default

id leave the power alone as you already have enough power to destroy your balldifs if that is a sirio system. the ae dual chambered pipe you have there is also the most optimal pipe for the car for most conditions, so leave it be.

get a nice body for it for sure, play with it and enjoy it, take it apart, learn how to put it back together "there will be a lot of that if you race it" dont spend money on it.
valk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 10:04 PM   #11
Tech Fanatic
 
Hyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 945
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

If I'm not mistaking, this ntc3 is on eBay for $150
__________________
MyForum> www.uncovertruth.forumotion.com
Hyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 03:56 AM   #12
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 405
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

As far as stater boxes I would get this Integy one
http://www.integy.com/st_prod.html?p...994&p_catid=30
used one myself and liked it.
__________________
VORRA; www.RVAHobbies.com; www.ashfordhobby.com; www.tqwire.com
bgrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 01:56 AM   #13
Tech Addict
 
Kingclod27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyde View Post
If I'm not mistaking, this ntc3 is on eBay for $150
Yep, I put it up forsale, I just dont really have time for it..got too many projects and I need a starter box, receiver pack and tx/rx to get this going. Figured I would let someone else enjoy it and ill look at getting a car in the future.
__________________
SPEED.....I AM SPEED
Kingclod27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 08:10 PM   #14
Tech Fanatic
 
Hyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 945
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingclod27 View Post
Yep, I put it up forsale, I just dont really have time for it..got too many projects and I need a starter box, receiver pack and tx/rx to get this going. Figured I would let someone else enjoy it and ill look at getting a car in the future.
I know what you mean about too many projects, it can be a handful. BTW, your TC3 auction just ended, you made a nice chunk of money, congrats on the sell!
__________________
MyForum> www.uncovertruth.forumotion.com
Hyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 08:16 PM   #15
Tech Addict
 
Kingclod27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyde View Post
I know what you mean about too many projects, it can be a handful. BTW, your TC3 auction just ended, you made a nice chunk of money, congrats on the sell!
Yea it sucks I kinda spread myself thin so I had to get rid of sum of my RCs, but now Im down to 5 RCs much more manageable lol

the eBay buyer backed out so I listed it in the For Sale section..Hopefully someone wants it
__________________
SPEED.....I AM SPEED
Kingclod27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help w NTC3 Pulling Right and Trans. Jake C6R Nitro On-Road 11 02-16-2011 08:30 PM
need help with TC3 gearing daniel_TC3 Electric On-Road 7 07-03-2005 02:01 AM
TC3 transmission help Patriiick Electric On-Road 32 02-12-2004 09:21 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:13 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net