Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road
Kyosho Inferno GT, GT2 Race Spec >

Kyosho Inferno GT, GT2 Race Spec

Like Tree7Likes

Kyosho Inferno GT, GT2 Race Spec

Reply

Old 06-10-2012, 12:29 PM
  #61  
Tech Rookie
 
jeffrey863's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 15
Default

I should have elaborated on the story, which im embarassed to even tell honestly.

The car wasn't ran for about 2.5 years so me and my buddy grabbed them off the shelf and completly went though his GT and my GT2. Well the car wouldn't crank (come to find out the glow plug ignitor wasn't charged)

So we charged the glow plug and I messed with the throttle trim to allow a higher idle just upon initial start up it wouldn't stall. So once it finally fired, it had an extremly high idle and as Im sure you know the brake wouldn't engage so I could stall the car because the servo was adjusted to far on the throttle side. So in a state of panic my friends lifted the car in the aie to try and adjust the idle and keep it running.

This all happened in about 10 seconds, the initial fire up to over revving the motor.

Ive been in and out of Rc my whole life and I was so upset yesterday because I knew what to do, I just simply paniced and watched my motor blow up haha
jeffrey863 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 01:17 PM
  #62  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
C-Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Utah
Posts: 320
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jeffrey863 View Post
I should have elaborated on the story, which im embarassed to even tell honestly.

The car wasn't ran for about 2.5 years so me and my buddy grabbed them off the shelf and completly went though his GT and my GT2. Well the car wouldn't crank (come to find out the glow plug ignitor wasn't charged)

So we charged the glow plug and I messed with the throttle trim to allow a higher idle just upon initial start up it wouldn't stall. So once it finally fired, it had an extremly high idle and as Im sure you know the brake wouldn't engage so I could stall the car because the servo was adjusted to far on the throttle side. So in a state of panic my friends lifted the car in the aie to try and adjust the idle and keep it running.

This all happened in about 10 seconds, the initial fire up to over revving the motor.

Ive been in and out of Rc my whole life and I was so upset yesterday because I knew what to do, I just simply paniced and watched my motor blow up haha
Well, chit happens. Even to the best of us. But I still think that means its time to motor up!!
C-Trickle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 01:59 PM
  #63  
Tech Rookie
 
jeffrey863's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 15
Default

^I do also agree sir haha
jeffrey863 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 08:07 PM
  #64  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
 
SteveP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: So Cal
Posts: 919
Default

Vex has some pretty good advice - get a new conrod and fix your engine for $20 before going to the trouble and expense of a new engine. There's plenty of time for an aftermarket engine.
SteveP is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 03:24 PM
  #65  
Tech Regular
 
VexVegaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brooklyn / Staten Island
Posts: 347
Default

Steve my order got hung up and have to replace my order which is good since I wanna add to it. do have he part nmber for the rear center universal drive shaft that fits a gt2 with updated tranny

thanks
VexVegaz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 06:04 PM
  #66  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
 
SteveP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: So Cal
Posts: 919
Default

Vex, there is no part number that fits properly. The new tranny requires a slightly shorter driveshaft and the IFW160 is just a tad too long. I've fit one in my car by taking a little off the back of part that attaches to the pinion. If you want something that will just bolt in place, we're working on it, but there's nothing available right now.

Last edited by SteveP; 06-11-2012 at 09:46 PM.
SteveP is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 06:12 PM
  #67  
Tech Regular
 
VexVegaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brooklyn / Staten Island
Posts: 347
Default

thanks Steve ill pick-up the ifw160. ii don't mind doing a lil modifying.
VexVegaz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 07:25 PM
  #68  
Tech Rookie
 
jeffrey863's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 15
Default

well, just ordered the new conn rod from infernosonly.com and Im going to attempt to replace it. You guys talked me out of the race motor, this was a much cheaper route haha
jeffrey863 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 09:46 PM
  #69  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
 
SteveP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: So Cal
Posts: 919
Default

Let us know if you need help. We can walk you through it.
SteveP is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 10:35 PM
  #70  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 174
Default

Originally Posted by SteveP View Post
Vex, there is no part number that fits properly. The new tranny requires a slightly shorter driveshaft and the IFW160 is just a tad too long. I've fit one in my car by taking a little off the back of part that attaches to the pinion. If you want something that will just bolt in place, we're working on it, but there's nothing available right now.
Guys-

front = ifw45 (perfect fit)
rear = ifw160 (take a little off the ball or back part of the shaft)
1FastVW is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 11:52 PM
  #71  
Tech Master
iTrader: (41)
 
Vision's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 1,150
Trader Rating: 41 (98%+)
Default

SteveP, any advice on how to deal with chassis flex ?. On my brushless GT2 I'm on my 2nd set of ifw160/161 cvds!. That's with the rs chassis brace/dragon chassis. I am gonna be switching over to the RS Chassis. Hope that is more rigid.
Vision is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 09:16 AM
  #72  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
C-Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Utah
Posts: 320
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Vision View Post
SteveP, any advice on how to deal with chassis flex ?. On my brushless GT2 I'm on my 2nd set of ifw160/161 cvds!. That's with the rs chassis brace/dragon chassis. I am gonna be switching over to the RS Chassis. Hope that is more rigid.
Get rid of the Dragon Chassis, they are sssoooo weak. Get either the RT246 chassis or the STR chassis. Also get the SP Aluminum radio posts, IFW401B, and torque them on with some good stainless hardware. This will tie the radio tray to lower chassis and make it more like a dual deck chassis design. After I did that it was noticeable that the suspension was doing all the movement, not the chassis. I went through 1 stock chassis and 2 Dragon chassis' in a year. Went to the hard anodized 777 short chassis, did the SP radio posts. Try all you want, you can't get that combo to flex!
C-Trickle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 09:17 AM
  #73  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
C-Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Utah
Posts: 320
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

What's the total caster angle on the IGT? The stock hub carriers are 17 degrees correct? So how many degrees is the chassis kickup?
C-Trickle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 09:23 AM
  #74  
Tech Regular
 
VexVegaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brooklyn / Staten Island
Posts: 347
Default

Thanks for that post C, I was also looking for ways to remove the flex which i though was taken care of by the torq rod.

BTW whats the difference between the IFW401B and IFW401 or even the KYOIFW113 ?
VexVegaz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 09:34 AM
  #75  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
C-Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Utah
Posts: 320
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by VexVegaz View Post
Thanks for that post C, I was also looking for ways to remove the flex which i though was taken care of by the torq rod.

BTW whats the difference between the IFW401B and IFW401 or even the KYOIFW113 ?
The torque rods are more so there to stop the chassis from taco'ing. So they really only handle loads from the front or rear, so flex while braking/accelerating and forces from impacts. By doing the aluminum radio post's it takes out a TON of torsional flex from the chassis. Where that if you do a 7075 hard anodized chassis (777, STR, RT246) with those radio post's, you have pretty much no flex.

But as far as I'm aware the IFW113 are the blue ones, then the IFW401B and IFW401 are the gun metal ones to match the MP9 chassis. However, I do believe that any of the 3 will work with GT.
C-Trickle is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service