R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-13-2012, 10:53 AM   #1
Tech Master
 
Monteman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 1,279
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default Replacement wing Kyosho GT2 Corvette C6r

Does anyone know of a suitable replacement for the Kyosho Corvette C6R wing? Been trying to find one, but im not having any luck.

Doesnt have to be the Kyosho wing just need something the same width and approx size. I try finding 1/8 wings and all i get are buggy truggy wings. Nothing of the onroad lexan variety.
__________________
Cameron - Edmonton Canada

** Every time see someone use their first post to necro-bump a 4 year old thread all I can think is "at least they used the search function" **
Monteman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 11:10 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Jspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: America!
Posts: 3,513
Default

Just about any of the IGT wings should work or some have used the one off the PF8. What happened to the original Corvette wing?
Jspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 11:21 AM   #3
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 54
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

You may want to hit up teambluegroove on Ebay. They make a variety of replica shells and there in Canada.

Their Ebay store closes from time to time, but for no more than a week or so.

Or you can just buy a new body set from Kyosho

kyoshoamerica.com/IGB102-Completed-Body-Set-CHEVROLET-_p_8203.html
madgreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 12:08 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
Monteman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 1,279
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

The body is still brand new with paint but we botched the wing hardcore in paint. and screwed it right up trying to correct it. lol.

Would rather not buy a whole new body just for the wing.

Does IGT sell wings separate? I cant get in their website here from work. which is strange becuae i can get on here... shhh dont tell my boss.

I have a couple PF8 wings i can try for fittment, but i dont see anywhere that sells those separate either. At least they are cheaper if they work and i have to buy a whole body.
__________________
Cameron - Edmonton Canada

** Every time see someone use their first post to necro-bump a 4 year old thread all I can think is "at least they used the search function" **
Monteman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 01:13 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
Jspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: America!
Posts: 3,513
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Monteman View Post
The body is still brand new with paint but we botched the wing hardcore in paint. and screwed it right up trying to correct it. lol.
Wipe it down with brake fluid, will wash off the paint and won't hurt the lexan. Good luck!
Jspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 01:20 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
Monteman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 1,279
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

my painter guy said he had it soaking for 2 days, but the paint didnt lift at all, ended up scraping the hell out of it trying to remove the paint.

We will give the brake fluid a shot.
__________________
Cameron - Edmonton Canada

** Every time see someone use their first post to necro-bump a 4 year old thread all I can think is "at least they used the search function" **
Monteman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 03:37 PM   #7
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 600
Default

You can get a OFNA hard plastic wing set. But the break fluid should work for what you need to do. Just make sure that you wash it really well after the paint is gone. If you leave a little of the brake fluid behind NOTHING will stick to the wing.
jneg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 03:52 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
Monteman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 1,279
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Is that the DM-1 wing? Couldnt find anywhere that had it listed available. I thought about that first off.
__________________
Cameron - Edmonton Canada

** Every time see someone use their first post to necro-bump a 4 year old thread all I can think is "at least they used the search function" **
Monteman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 04:39 PM   #9
Tech Regular
 
fastharryDOTcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: http://www.fastharry.com NJ
Posts: 303
Default

Why not sand it and paint the whole wing black and and clear it with Tamiya flat clear?


If your body is a bright color especially, the flat black wing would look bitchin'..
__________________
visit fastharry.com We are always updating the site with new cars and cool rc stuff.
old user name "fastharry"Posts: 2,845 Original join date 2001..HPI Challenge Winner.
fastharryDOTcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 06:49 PM   #10
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 600
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Monteman View Post
Is that the DM-1 wing? Couldnt find anywhere that had it listed available. I thought about that first off.
Yes, have you tried nitrohouse.com?
jneg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 07:33 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
Monteman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 1,279
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

no i always forget about nitrohouse for some reason.

The wing is already black but the holes were a mile off. Go figure. i think he wanted to make sure that the new holes he is placing were where they are supposed to be, and decided to clean and repaint the wing after getting the holes right. I guess he prepped a little too well because the Fascolor is not coming off. He was soaking it for a couple days, and i guess when he went to start working on it to get it off all it ended up doing was scratching the hell out of the wing.

I told him to just punch some holes and flat black the thing. He is trying to do it right.

** just because i like spending money i ordered the DM-1 flat wing and stay kit along with the DM-1 f/r bumper/diffuser kit from Nitrohouse, just in case i decide to try and work it onto my GTP2e

And now i see the DM-1 wing kit is for the 1/7 car .
Anyone with one handy care to measure just how wide that guy is?
__________________
Cameron - Edmonton Canada

** Every time see someone use their first post to necro-bump a 4 year old thread all I can think is "at least they used the search function" **

Last edited by Monteman; 03-13-2012 at 08:16 PM.
Monteman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 08:27 PM   #12
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 600
Default

The 1/7 DM1 has the same width as the 1/8. I have that wing (not using it) but I use the wing mounts. I had it installed on a Protoform body before.
jneg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 08:29 PM   #13
Tech Master
 
Monteman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 1,279
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

phew, good. thank you. leaves me options if we get the stock wing fixed.
__________________
Cameron - Edmonton Canada

** Every time see someone use their first post to necro-bump a 4 year old thread all I can think is "at least they used the search function" **
Monteman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 09:45 PM   #14
Tech Master
 
Monteman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 1,279
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Got the Kyosho wing fixed.



Guess i have options now.
__________________
Cameron - Edmonton Canada

** Every time see someone use their first post to necro-bump a 4 year old thread all I can think is "at least they used the search function" **
Monteman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:26 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net