R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-21-2012, 12:14 AM   #1
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 6,277
Send a message via ICQ to Roelof
Default How much G can we produce?

For a project I am looking for some sensors and one of them is a G-force sensor. I have found a cheap 3-axis model which can messure up to 3G maximum and with some basic calculating on acceleration I think it wil be in this range although I think with cornering and braking it will exceed the 3G.

Does someone know or think what can be produced?
__________________
The quality of an answer comes with the quality of the question.
Roelof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 12:24 AM   #2
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 31
Default

I know there are accelerometers that measure higher than 3g's but they may be to big or heavy of units for your application. What are you testing?
PlatinumJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 12:25 AM   #3
KMW
Tech Regular
 
KMW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 363
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roelof View Post
For a project I am looking for some sensors and one of them is a G-force sensor. I have found a cheap 3-axis model which can messure up to 3G maximum and with some basic calculating on acceleration I think it wil be in this range although I think with cornering and braking it will exceed the 3G.

Does someone know or think what can be produced?
This is designed for RC cars and measures up to +/- 38 G's:

http://www.eagletreesystems.com/Accessories/3.htm
KMW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 01:59 AM   #4
Tech Addict
 
JamesHealey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 556
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I'd guess somewhere around 2-3 g ong tight sweepers with an 8th scale.
3 under heavy braking.. i think if we had four wheel braking this would be much higher.

Let me know your results.
__________________
Serpent 977 Evo | Novarossi Engines | Racing Experience Fuel | Xpert-RC Servos | Xtreme Tyres | Bitty Design Body Shells |
http://answer-rc.com/en/ - Answer RC supported driver.
JamesHealey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 02:05 AM   #5
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 6,277
Send a message via ICQ to Roelof
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PlatinumJoe View Post
I know there are accelerometers that measure higher than 3g's but they may be to big or heavy of units for your application. What are you testing?
We want to get the real engine/car performance messured in numbers and diagrams realtime on the track but also all stuff arround it. I have a telemetry module which can connect up to 17 sensors. At this moment I can messure:
- temperature engine
- temperature air at the intake
- humidity at the air intake
- rpm
- speed

All will be transfered by a 433mhz radio system from Radiometrix and received and realtime messured and recorded on a laptop.

An example of a simple interface to show what is possible:



The interface is modulair so you can setup what ever you want, also the input can get a calculation before it will be displayed.

From what I have seen a F1 car accelerates with 1.7G, brakes with almost 3G and takes corners up to 5G. Only the acceleration is the most important thing to get some data from the engine although the speed (and with that the G-force) in a corner can tell a lot of how powerfull an engine is with that kind of load.
__________________
The quality of an answer comes with the quality of the question.
Roelof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 02:15 AM   #6
Tech Addict
 
JamesHealey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 556
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I think you'll find the highest g corner is 150r at suzuka Japan and it's about 4.8g sustained. And 5+ peak.

Braking is 5g+
__________________
Serpent 977 Evo | Novarossi Engines | Racing Experience Fuel | Xpert-RC Servos | Xtreme Tyres | Bitty Design Body Shells |
http://answer-rc.com/en/ - Answer RC supported driver.

Last edited by JamesHealey; 02-21-2012 at 02:30 AM.
JamesHealey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 02:19 AM   #7
Tech Addict
 
JamesHealey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 556
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

The heaviest braking is at either Monza or spa I'd have to check but it's 5g
__________________
Serpent 977 Evo | Novarossi Engines | Racing Experience Fuel | Xpert-RC Servos | Xtreme Tyres | Bitty Design Body Shells |
http://answer-rc.com/en/ - Answer RC supported driver.
JamesHealey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 04:09 AM   #8
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 506
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roelof View Post
We want to get the real engine/car performance messured in numbers and diagrams realtime on the track but also all stuff arround it. I have a telemetry module which can connect up to 17 sensors. At this moment I can messure:
- temperature engine
- temperature air at the intake
- humidity at the air intake
- rpm
- speed

All will be transfered by a 433mhz radio system from Radiometrix and received and realtime messured and recorded on a laptop.

An example of a simple interface to show what is possible:



The interface is modulair so you can setup what ever you want, also the input can get a calculation before it will be displayed.

From what I have seen a F1 car accelerates with 1.7G, brakes with almost 3G and takes corners up to 5G. Only the acceleration is the most important thing to get some data from the engine although the speed (and with that the G-force) in a corner can tell a lot of how powerfull an engine is with that kind of load.
Is there any G sensor avaliable for telemetry system? Apexi used to launched a G sensor for car, but not welcome by user coz g force is meaningless for street car. Don't know is it any miniature g sensor, it helps to find out the lateral that the sponge tires suffer, in order to give more adjusment for the track.
__________________
GP: Capricorn C03 1/10 touring, Capricorn C803 1/8 onroad
Engine: Tesla .12 WC, Tesla .21 7 port on-road, Rody VS02, OS 2101
beebone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 06:09 AM   #9
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 6,277
Send a message via ICQ to Roelof
Default

This is the one: http://www.sparkfun.com/products/9269

Because the many analog inputs I have this is the one which can be connected directly but does need a small calculation to get the right numbers on the display. Most sensors I have found use a digital out as also the Eagle Tree sensors.
__________________
The quality of an answer comes with the quality of the question.
Roelof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 07:19 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
stefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Bavaria, Germany
Posts: 3,273
Send a message via AIM to stefan
Default

This is what you are looking for:

http://www.celero.it/



stefan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 07:45 AM   #11
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 6,277
Send a message via ICQ to Roelof
Default

I know, but it is no fun to buy a compleete system which you can not setup in any way you want en does need an iPhone or iPad to read out the data.

And beside that, most parts I have already.

And about GPS, take a look at this: http://www.mytach.co.uk/
Very interesting software for track and section analyse.
__________________
The quality of an answer comes with the quality of the question.
Roelof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 08:03 AM   #12
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 506
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roelof View Post
This is the one: http://www.sparkfun.com/products/9269

Because the many analog inputs I have this is the one which can be connected directly but does need a small calculation to get the right numbers on the display. Most sensors I have found use a digital out as also the Eagle Tree sensors.
Thx! I'm thinking the output voltage whether can be decoded by any telemetry system?!?!?
__________________
GP: Capricorn C03 1/10 touring, Capricorn C803 1/8 onroad
Engine: Tesla .12 WC, Tesla .21 7 port on-road, Rody VS02, OS 2101
beebone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 08:21 AM   #13
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 6,277
Send a message via ICQ to Roelof
Default

If the system can handle an analoge input it can. Look arround on that site, a lot of interesting stuff (also other G-meters), mostly used with an Arduino computer.

This chip is simple. zero-G is half the voltage (1.5 volt) and 1G is 1/10th the voltage (0.3V).

So running on 3 volt the formula will be output=(input -1.5)/0.3

Youtube is full with some experiments:
www.youtube.com/watch?v=wOOJxIWZxP8
(most of them are based on only gravity)

The funny thing is that the Z-axis can be used as a tilt sensor messuring how well the shocks are working)
__________________
The quality of an answer comes with the quality of the question.
Roelof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 08:32 AM   #14
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 506
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roelof View Post
If the system can handle an analoge input it can. Look arround on that site, a lot of interesting stuff (also other G-meters), mostly used with an Arduino computer.

This chip is simple. zero-G is half the voltage (1.5 volt) and 1G is 1/10th the voltage (0.3V).

So running on 3 volt the formula will be output=(input -1.5)/0.3

Youtube is full with some experiments:
www.youtube.com/watch?v=wOOJxIWZxP8
(most of them are based on only gravity)

The funny thing is that the Z-axis can be used as a tilt sensor messuring how well the shocks are working)
Ineresting, thanks anyway! BTW, do u know abou Sanwa 461 RX? It also a telemetry system, it comes with temp sensor too, but mine was broken.
Do you think the temp sensor is a glass sealed thermistor or something else?


__________________
GP: Capricorn C03 1/10 touring, Capricorn C803 1/8 onroad
Engine: Tesla .12 WC, Tesla .21 7 port on-road, Rody VS02, OS 2101
beebone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 10:15 AM   #15
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 6,277
Send a message via ICQ to Roelof
Default

I do not know, it is 2 wired so it is not an active component. It must be someting like a resistor or a diode.
__________________
The quality of an answer comes with the quality of the question.
Roelof is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Durango DNX408 - Fast enough to win the World Title. TeamDurango Nitro Off-Road 10039 01-28-2017 02:01 AM
Tekin RS ESC sensored Jeff Cuffs Electric On-Road 23359 10-02-2016 06:57 AM
1/8 E-buggy: 1 lipo VS 2 lipos cofiguration Pulse_ Electric Off-Road 92 02-01-2015 11:28 AM
NEW CLUB OPENNED IN SOUTH AUSTRALIA - NORTH EAST MODEL CAR CLUB VintageFrog1 Australian Racing 2226 08-17-2009 05:47 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:02 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net