R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-21-2002, 12:10 PM   #31
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Fond du Lac WI
Posts: 16
Send a message via AIM to rotax14 Send a message via Yahoo to rotax14
Default

Anybody Looking For a yok GT4? i have one for sale that is like new with many hop-ups.


Look:
http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthre...&threadid=6642
rotax14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2002, 04:50 PM   #32
Tech Initiate
 
NuG050's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: US-Magtheridon-H
Posts: 20
Send a message via ICQ to NuG050 Send a message via AIM to NuG050 Send a message via Yahoo to NuG050
Default Trouble starting GT4-RTR

I got one a few days ago and am having trouble starting my GT4...it seems that it wants to start when then engine is warm and won't start when it's cold. I also have an HPI RS4 3 and that starts almost all the time consistently...any hints? Thanks!
NuG050 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2002, 05:28 PM   #33
mo
Tech Master
 
mo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,359
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Try changing the glow plug and checking for air leaks in the fuel tubing and aroud the carb.
__________________
TLR, Spektrum, Tekin, SMC, MO-GRIP, www.factory-rc.com https://www.shapeways.com/shops/MPP
mo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2002, 11:37 PM   #34
Tech Initiate
 
NuG050's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: US-Magtheridon-H
Posts: 20
Send a message via ICQ to NuG050 Send a message via AIM to NuG050 Send a message via Yahoo to NuG050
Default

Heh...I checked that already...one of my friends also suggested I try getting a better glow-plug starter because the one I'm using doesn't allow the plug to get hot enough to start the car consitently...I'm thinking of getting a 1.5v battery and installing a glow-plug starter to it and see how that is...

Anything else I should know about my GT4? I mean, what other things I would need (or want) to do to make it perform better and reach top-speed faster? Thanks!
NuG050 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2002, 12:19 AM   #35
Tech Initiate
 
NuG050's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: US-Magtheridon-H
Posts: 20
Send a message via ICQ to NuG050 Send a message via AIM to NuG050 Send a message via Yahoo to NuG050
Exclamation Still ain't starting when engine is cold...

Well, despite what I've tried, it still doesn't want to start when it's cold...seems that it will start once I pulled the started a few hundred times...and I know the glow-plug is good because I plugged it into the Glow-Ignitor and it glowed to a bright orange almost instantly...any hints? Should I get better glow-plugs?
NuG050 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2002, 02:37 AM   #36
Tech Adept
 
neoracer.ph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Manila
Posts: 173
Send a message via Yahoo to neoracer.ph
Default Neo T-21 parts on the GT4

Is it possible to do the following things on a yokomo gt4w?

> use the centax clutch (center force clutch) of a neo t-21 nitro pro instead of the stock yoko clutch

> use the neo t-21's tuned pipe when paired with a mt-12.... instead of the stock yoko or carlsen tuned pipe...

__________________
Azionamento. L'azionamento giusto digiuna. Qualunque dietro voi non importante!
neoracer.ph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2002, 06:44 PM   #37
Tech Addict
 
pauld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 620
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Still ain't starting when engine is cold...
Few reasons why the engine will not start:

1] The engine might be flooded - Take out the glow plug, discharge the fuel, crank the engine a few times. Put back the glow plug.

2] Throttle valve not adjusted properly - re-adjust the idle and needle valve to 2 1/2 turns out.

3] Servo linkage not adjusted correctly - set the servo to neutral and re-adjust.

make sure you read the instructions carefully before you attempt to start the car.

Hope that helps.
pauld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2002, 12:34 PM   #38
Tech Initiate
 
NuG050's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: US-Magtheridon-H
Posts: 20
Send a message via ICQ to NuG050 Send a message via AIM to NuG050 Send a message via Yahoo to NuG050
Default

Finally got it! As it turns out, I didn't have enough fuel in the engine...I thought I did when I pulled the pull-start (PS) a few times to get the fuel into the engine but when I plugged the exhaust until I got fuel into the engine, then unplugged the exhaust and installed the glow-plug started and pulled the PS, it started instantly...I'm so happy now! Hehe...thanks guys for helping!
NuG050 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2002, 12:37 PM   #39
Tech Initiate
 
NuG050's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: US-Magtheridon-H
Posts: 20
Send a message via ICQ to NuG050 Send a message via AIM to NuG050 Send a message via Yahoo to NuG050
Default Stock GT-4 RTR Wheel size: 24mm or 26mm?

Anyone know what the stock wheel size for the GT-4 RTR is? Is it 24mm or 26mm? And what's the offset? I read somewhere that the GT-4 RTR is the same as the GT-4W, so that means that the wheels are 24mm with 0mm offset...anyone know? Thanks!
NuG050 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2002, 07:44 PM   #40
Dan
Tech Elite
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,401
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

26mm with 0 offset
Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2002, 01:15 PM   #41
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 530
Default

Hey guys. I just finished putting the Z Speed chassis on my GT-4. Anyone have any tips on getting the front layshaft to mount right and the engine with the Low CG engine mounts?
BallPy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2002, 10:31 PM   #42
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: west
Posts: 958
Default rear tire size

my friend just bought a gt4 -pro and he would like to use those 30mm rear foams . what is required to be done to fit it in?

when we fit the 30mm wheels inthe rear it rubs the hub carrier and if we ran 26mm foams, i noticed it nearly touches the carrier..

my question is:
1) can the gt4 pro fit 30mm rear foams
2) what other parts is required?


thanks
fuse01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2002, 04:12 AM   #43
acs
Tech Adept
 
acs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: 06 Worlds Track ^
Posts: 204
Default

All of the GRP brand of 30mm tyres (fast, best, ellegi and so on) will rub on the hub carriers. Unfortunatly you cannot modify the hub carriers were the tyres rub because of the pivot ball placement.

I would like to see someone, Yokomo or another company, make some axles with a longer thread and also a wider aluminium hex hub so that these brands of 30mm tyre can be used.

But remember using the 30mm rear tyre will make your car push a little in the corners. Some miner set up change will be nessecary.

The 26mm tyre fits with no problems at all.
acs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2002, 11:58 AM   #44
Tech Master
 
rod_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Covina CA
Posts: 1,033
Send a message via AIM to rod_b
Default

Jaco Nitro Shoes now has a 30mm rear foam with 2mm of offset. That may or may not be enough. SpeedTech sells Kawahara wide hex hubs. However the axles may not be long enough to get a wheel nut on. Todd "Smitty" Smith on the Yokomo forum makes wide hexes that are one piece with the drive cup. Then you use a screw to hold the tire down. I have some but havent tried them yet.
rod_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2002, 01:44 AM   #45
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: west
Posts: 958
Default 32mm yokomo wheels

ok we have tried all sorts of foams except yoks 32mm foams and we only mangae to fit in the 26mm foam in the rear.

i noticed that the gt4 lola version comes with the 32mm foams wheels and yokomousa sells 32mm foams.. whats the deal when the pro canteven fit 30mm foams? or is it true that only yok 32mm are able to fit the gt4 pro?


please advise.

i have also check to see both the lola yok and pro yok ahve the same part number for rear axle. i still dont understand.

my friend and i have ran out of ideas maybe a serpent rear axle might work.

the gt4 is brand new but its lack of a 30mm wheels!!!

everyone runs 30mm why not yok..
fuse01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yokomo MR-4 TC Thread Speedo Electric On-Road 2868 05-05-2015 03:38 PM
Yokomo MR4 BX thread..... cantona Australian Racing 110 10-04-2006 02:39 PM
HK for sale thread/wanted to buy thread....finally Got Xray? Hong Kong Racing 1 04-06-2006 09:37 PM
Yokomo new belt thread ttso Electric On-Road 1 02-23-2005 12:12 PM
Yokomo MR-4TC Thread v.2 The Black Kat Electric On-Road 1 04-18-2004 10:12 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:52 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net