R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-06-2005, 09:10 PM   #46
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Do I need to register to download the free track for practice/playing around
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2005, 09:24 PM   #47
Nitro Tech
 
dino.tw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: I can drive!
Posts: 1,459
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 20 SMOKE
Do I need to register to download the free track for practice/playing around
You don't need to download the free two tracks but you still need to register to activate the game.
dino.tw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2005, 12:29 PM   #48
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,106
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FIRE RIDER
ok i dled it and tryed it and its almost imposible to drive teh car with the keyboard unless ya like to go flying off the track or whip the car around when ya hit the breaks becasue of having no throttle or steering sensetivity controll. but teh grafix arent that bad. could use sumthing so you could paint your own body but other than that ill give it a 7 out of 10.
You must use the VRC and your radio to be 3-4 second faster per laps........well, some ppl can be very good with keyboard, but not me, my lap time between keyboard and using real RC radio is 3-4 sec faster per laps....my OSLO fastest lap with 3Pk (710 with TC body) is still 14.5.............still, 0.8-1 sec slower then the fastest ppl on the world, and I don't think I can do any better, just not as good a driver then those guy....
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2005, 11:50 AM   #49
Tech Regular
 
New_Toasted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: The Milkyway/Planet Earth/Europe/Sweden/Skåne/Malmö
Posts: 349
Default

With my Hitech Lynx my best lap on oslo is 14.2 with S710/TC
New_Toasted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2005, 01:03 PM   #50
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

what do i click on to run the tracks for practice i registered and nothing works
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2005, 01:12 PM   #51
Tech Elite
 
Sow&Steady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Va Va Voom!
Posts: 4,104
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 20 SMOKE
what do i click on to run the tracks for practice i registered and nothing works
Once you've installed the program on your PC, open up your browser and log on to the VRC website AND THEN start your VRC program. Remember your username and password and enter that into the VRC program when it asks for it.

The program will activate itself as well as the two free tracks.
__________________
http://3hobby.net REVISITED V2 - Its on steroids!
https://www.facebook.com/ssteady
Sow&Steady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2005, 03:23 AM   #52
vrc
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AMGRacer
Actually it is quite easy to get around the latency issues in most games which are operating on a more macro level. The trick with this game is the playing field is very small so any of the techniques to get around slower package speeds are more noticable.

The only practical solution right now is to keep servers at a more local level and not play continent to continent. I consistently get < 30ms on local servers with my broadband connections which should be more than fast enough for the purposes of this game.
the smaller the latency, the smaller the problem, and the other way around. We can't control this.

look out for the game update, we have drifter tires included. Curious to know how you find these to work, as you seem to be into drifting with your HPI.
vrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2005, 04:22 AM   #53
Tech Elite
 
AMGRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3,939
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by vrc
the smaller the latency, the smaller the problem, and the other way around. We can't control this.

look out for the game update, we have drifter tires included. Curious to know how you find these to work, as you seem to be into drifting with your HPI.
What I have done in the past to control latency is to have localised servers for a given geography. For instance I could have a vrc server running in my state which drivers from my state could race together on. Also you kick people from the server when their latency exceeds a certain amount, 200 or 300ms say. This reduces latency considerably assuming we all use cable/broadband connections. The problem for you is that this approach will prevent racers from all around the world competing in the finals together, but would be a good way to have "practice" meets against other racers. Might be a good approach to test your initial network code however. Use some decent "estimation" algorythms to patch holes due to excess latency from some drivers and it should be fairly robust. You could set up a heirarchial replication from the local servers back to the main vrc server for the purposes of collating the international results. BTW I get around 50ms on US servers from Australia when playing Battlefields 1942 so some players should be able to play across continents.

Yep I cant wait for the drift tires they should be a blast!! Drifting a nitro car is something that everybody needs to try at least once
AMGRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 09:17 AM   #54
Moderator
 
Clegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Outside doing things in places... Denver, CO
Posts: 4,609
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

i am confused how a game such as ... ohh lets say EA's F1 Challenge where you can have 30 F1 cars on a tight twisty track and play with 100ms pings and still run smooth via the web, but this game cant handle 2 cars at the same time.


I do appreciate how complex, and intense netcode can be to write. But most racing games have gone through the work to write netcode that will let them do multiplayer. to hear that "ohh no latency we cant work with that" comes off to me as BS. Location prediction, and error correction code, can be used to make games VERY seamless.

yes you cant expect to play on a dialup. but most broad band wiht 60ms pings should be very good.

The comment earlier about them going so fast that its very hard to do that kind of speeds over the web. Well F1 cars go 200 Mph, corner at 90mph in a course thats just more narrow to scale than what R/C cars have to use. Yet games seem to have been able to get that working pretty damn good with 30 people racing at once!.

Unfortunately the solution is actually doing the work to build netcode to handle latency. Which anyone who plays internet games, knows is more an art than a science. But just blaming Latency and taking an easy "timed" way out I guess works if you just didnt ever want to race against anyone else real time.
__________________
Joe Kelly - JK720.net
5280 Raceway |5280raceway.com | 5280 Raceway Facebook
Clegg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 11:51 PM   #55
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Melbourne, OZ
Posts: 1,059
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to JordanC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Clegg
i am confused how a game such as ... ohh lets say EA's F1 Challenge where you can have 30 F1 cars on a tight twisty track and play with 100ms pings and still run smooth via the web, but this game cant handle 2 cars at the same time.


I do appreciate how complex, and intense netcode can be to write. But most racing games have gone through the work to write netcode that will let them do multiplayer. to hear that "ohh no latency we cant work with that" comes off to me as BS. Location prediction, and error correction code, can be used to make games VERY seamless.

yes you cant expect to play on a dialup. but most broad band wiht 60ms pings should be very good.

The comment earlier about them going so fast that its very hard to do that kind of speeds over the web. Well F1 cars go 200 Mph, corner at 90mph in a course thats just more narrow to scale than what R/C cars have to use. Yet games seem to have been able to get that working pretty damn good with 30 people racing at once!.

Unfortunately the solution is actually doing the work to build netcode to handle latency. Which anyone who plays internet games, knows is more an art than a science. But just blaming Latency and taking an easy "timed" way out I guess works if you just didnt ever want to race against anyone else real time.

Jeeeeeeeeezzzz..... It's a new sim, give them a chance!
JordanC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 11:57 PM   #56
Moderator
 
Clegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Outside doing things in places... Denver, CO
Posts: 4,609
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Why release something half baked? Isnt that bad business logic, wont it chase folks away and ruin your reason to spend the time actually writing the net code? or adding features?

I know atleast 4 people now who downloaded saw it was all against the clock and uninstalled it.

Its a cool sim, just a immature implementation still.
__________________
Joe Kelly - JK720.net
5280 Raceway |5280raceway.com | 5280 Raceway Facebook
Clegg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2005, 08:39 PM   #57
Tech Regular
 
FIRE RIDER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mt Pleasant, Michigan
Posts: 379
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Clegg
EA's F1 Challenge where you can have 30 F1 cars on a tight twisty track and play with 100ms pings and still run smooth via the web, but this game cant handle 2 cars at the same time.
Where can i get that gam???
__________________
Owner and original purchaser of LST2#000689. RPM Arms,Sway Bar Kit, TiNi Gears,HD center skid plate, FOC and Gear swap, 420Kingpins, wing kit, body. Stuff still to do/get for 2016 season: Replace engine.
TLR22 SCT2.0 ZTW 6.5 120A SSPro ESC and Motor
Tamiya LunchBox (Project Racebox) More later
FIRE RIDER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2005, 10:30 PM   #58
Moderator
 
Clegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Outside doing things in places... Denver, CO
Posts: 4,609
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

The store. thats where I got it from.
__________________
Joe Kelly - JK720.net
5280 Raceway |5280raceway.com | 5280 Raceway Facebook
Clegg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2005, 05:30 AM   #59
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Au
Posts: 58
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by vrc
To put things in perspective, these cars travel 20-30 meters per second, so 0.2 latence is already 4-6 meters! And all this with just 0.4-0.5m cars... Multiplay for high speed r/c cars is like trying to do multiplay ping pong match... it is VERY challanging and difficult, but working on it! Doing multiplay for 1:1 scale is a lot less critical.
how about some sort of AI competitor cars. cheers
KyoshoKev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2005, 11:12 AM   #60
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,106
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KyoshoKev
how about some sort of AI competitor cars. cheers
That option will be release later........if you look at the OPTION menu, there is a option for you to CHECK, with how many cars in the track, and the level of your competitions.....but you cannot CHECK that option yet cause VRC is still working of that option.
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VirtualRC Sim Raydee Nitro On-Road 37 04-14-2007 08:26 PM
virtualrc Matthew.H Nitro On-Road 1 11-02-2005 09:26 AM
VirtualRC is out :) Spooky Chat Lounge 75 06-26-2005 11:37 AM
Virtualrc.com...you have got to check this out!! SCUBA STEVE Nitro On-Road 1 03-27-2005 08:40 PM
Anyone checked out the Virtualrc Sim Yet??? rc_alan Nitro On-Road 4 01-10-2005 04:17 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:01 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net