R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-26-2005, 08:17 AM   #976
Tech Fanatic
 
Tommy Bergfeldt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 979
Send a message via ICQ to Tommy Bergfeldt
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MartynD
Anyone running a spool in the rear?

Hate messing with gear oils....
I've tried it, it was a bit faster but the car went so hard to drive, the rear end was VERY hard to control out of the corners.
The times to use spool is most likely when it's super-grip and using a GTP-style body
__________________
JMI Motorsport / Red Bull Racing
HB Cyclone TC - Schumacher CAT SX & Cougar SV
Advanced Electronics - Autopartner.se - Sav÷x - NorthTQ
Tommy Bergfeldt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 08:24 AM   #977
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oshawa, Ontario
Posts: 444
Default

Was there a lot higher tire wear running the spool as well?


I am a newb to foam tires, this past Saturday was my first real day of track time with the car (which is my first nitro). By the end of the day... likely 8-10 tanks if not more, I had ruined 2 pairs of front tires (hitting stuff) and the left rear was alot smaller than the right rear.

Lessons learned: Stop hitting stuff... switch the tires left to right between runs if you can..

Complete novice with nitro and foam tires, quite a few knowledgeable people helped me out, but in some cases they don't realize the small things us newbs need to know. Wasn't anyone else's fault but my own, but still a fairly costly practice day.

About hitting stuff... The ballcup that attaches to the steering rack popped off quite often (hitting stuff again)
I was thinking about converting to Xray style ball links, but before I do... by using stronger ball links do I risk damaging the steering servo? Are there better solutions?


Thanks
MartynD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 09:33 AM   #978
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys, I took a look at the RDlogics site after I asked about finding spare parts, and had a question.

They have optional parts for the car listed there, but what if you need a kit replacement part? Do you just drop them an email with a part number from the manual to order that kind of stuff?

Or did I just miss the regular spare parts listing somewhere on the site?
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 09:38 AM   #979
Tech Fanatic
 
Tommy Bergfeldt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 979
Send a message via ICQ to Tommy Bergfeldt
Default

Yes Darkseid, you didn't search enough
This link takes you to spares (i hope)

MartynD. Yes, the rear tire wore alot more with the track conditions and setup i tried the solid axle.
__________________
JMI Motorsport / Red Bull Racing
HB Cyclone TC - Schumacher CAT SX & Cougar SV
Advanced Electronics - Autopartner.se - Sav÷x - NorthTQ
Tommy Bergfeldt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 09:52 AM   #980
Tech Elite
 
Tabushi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chile - Southamerica
Posts: 3,029
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Tabushi Send a message via Yahoo to Tabushi
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparx
The Serpent seals i use looks like they're discontinued, i got them from my LHS who had some laying around.
The seals that's from the V-One RR is the exact same thoguh but i can't find any part numbers. I'll go see if i still have the bag around somewhere.


Thanks, i will wait for news about you ...


.
__________________
Patricio "PATO" Concha

E-Mail : [email protected]
Facebook : http://www.facebook.com/patoconcha
Whatsapp : +56 9 66165085
Tabushi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 10:42 AM   #981
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparx
Yes Darkseid, you didn't search enough
This link takes you to spares (i hope)
Your right! If I missed that, I certainly didn't search enough.

I feel like the idiot at the supermarket who ask where to find something and the store clerk points and says 'you mean that thing behind you'!

Thanks Sparx
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 12:21 PM   #982
Tech Fanatic
 
Tommy Bergfeldt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 979
Send a message via ICQ to Tommy Bergfeldt
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tabushi
Thanks, i will wait for news about you ...


.
Can't find the bags so i don't have any idea about the part numbers, sad thing it isn't stated in the RR manual too..
__________________
JMI Motorsport / Red Bull Racing
HB Cyclone TC - Schumacher CAT SX & Cougar SV
Advanced Electronics - Autopartner.se - Sav÷x - NorthTQ
Tommy Bergfeldt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 02:28 PM   #983
Tech Elite
 
Tabushi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chile - Southamerica
Posts: 3,029
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Tabushi Send a message via Yahoo to Tabushi
Default

Hi guys,

Somebody knows if this Wheel Axle fit on the G4 front and rear hubs ? ... as i see the measures for the inner bearing (10x15) and outer one (6x13) are identical ... this is from Mugen MTX3 ... :






Thanks for any info ...

.
__________________
Patricio "PATO" Concha

E-Mail : [email protected]
Facebook : http://www.facebook.com/patoconcha
Whatsapp : +56 9 66165085
Tabushi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 08:27 PM   #984
Moderator
 
Uneke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germantown, MD
Posts: 437
Send a message via AIM to Uneke Send a message via Yahoo to Uneke
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tabushi
Hi guys,

Somebody knows if this Wheel Axle fit on the G4 front and rear hubs ? ... as i see the measures for the inner bearing (10x15) and outer one (6x13) are identical ... this is from Mugen MTX3 ... :

Thanks for any info ...

.
I know that Mugen MTX3 universals fit so the axles should fit also.
Uneke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 08:38 PM   #985
Tech Regular
 
fordman500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 277
Default

I was replacing some of the pullies and I accidentally bought a 18 tooth brake pulley instead of a 19.Is this a problem or can I use it with the stock belt??
fordman500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 08:44 PM   #986
Moderator
 
Uneke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germantown, MD
Posts: 437
Send a message via AIM to Uneke Send a message via Yahoo to Uneke
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fordman500
I was replacing some of the pullies and I accidentally bought a 18 tooth brake pulley instead of a 19.Is this a problem or can I use it with the stock belt??
You can use it, but you will need the rear belt tensioner.
That pulley will over drive your rear end a bit. This will cause the car to push. the only way to counter act this would be to run a slightly larger front tire.

Kinda think of it, you would probably be better off ordering the correct pulley unless you are ready to experiment.
Uneke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 09:01 PM   #987
Tech Fanatic
 
Ffejdat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 904
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I believe putting an 18 tooth pulley in the rear will make the rear tires spin slower, not faster, you would need a slightly Smaller front tire than rear to compensate. The main reason you would want to get the proper pulley for the rear belt would be for belt tension, without a rear tensioner the belt will be pretty loose.
Ffejdat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 10:09 PM   #988
wad
Tech Elite
 
wad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Tustin, CA
Posts: 2,283
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wad Send a message via MSN to wad
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fordman500
I was replacing some of the pullies and I accidentally bought a 18 tooth brake pulley instead of a 19.Is this a problem or can I use it with the stock belt??
I recommend you to order the correct brake pulley (19T), if not the car will not work propertly
__________________
Walter Diaz
wad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 10:27 PM   #989
Tech Master
 
Z00M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 1,173
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Uneke is right, the rear will be overdriven with the 18T pulley and the front tyre would need to be big enough to compensate if you wanted to get even drive.
__________________
My blog: http://mikesrc.wordpress.com
XRAY XB4
## NOSRAM ## XRAY ## KO ##
www.nbhc.com.au - www.teamxray.com
Z00M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2005, 08:53 AM   #990
Tech Regular
 
fordman500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 277
Default

I will get the right one,but what would be the reason you would put in a smaller gear.I also noticed there is a 20 tooth gear as well.
fordman500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RS4 RTR 3, Rdlogics mongoose, tc4 parts car stanislow R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 22 05-02-2008 08:50 PM
RDLogics G4 Mongoose 4 Sale rhazzed R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 03-21-2006 08:39 PM
rdlogics mongoose for sale FRP R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 10-10-2005 02:46 PM
wtt: rdlogics mongoose for 1/12 car chrisw R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 5 08-26-2005 01:22 AM
NIB RDLogics Mongoose G4 i_like_f150s R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 16 02-24-2005 01:57 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:30 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net