R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-20-2006, 06:32 PM   #8041
Tech Elite
 
litespeed-dom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Beaverton, Oregon
Posts: 3,990
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

You already have one of the torque'st .12 motor out there. Stick with your TZ.

Dom
__________________
Team Kyosho America - Team Br00d Racing - Team R/C Plus - GQ Racing Tyres - Slapmaster Tools - FSX Racing
litespeed-dom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2006, 06:32 PM   #8042
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 137
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boner
Yes, it's able to support your RX and servo but the question is how is it going to fit on your RRR (assuming that is the car the battery is going on).
Thought of using the fabric velko for different sides to attach secure the battery plate n the batteries?
Black_Widow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2006, 06:49 PM   #8043
Tech Adept
 
spyspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 142
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by markp27
What tyres are you using? Make sure you're using at least a 2mm split front-to-rear.

If you're car is suffering from turn-in understeer either change the spool to a diff with 30,000 or 50,000 oil or even a one-way, as long as you don't have to brake too much.

Set the rear anti-roll bar harder or go to the harder version.

How do you have your front anti-roll bar set?
40Shore up front and 37 rear.. and 2mm split front-to-rear..
front roll bar fully horizontal

that's why i go for spool..
spyspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2006, 07:10 PM   #8044
Tech Adept
 
spyspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 142
Default

Why my pinion gear wear faster? i think i set gear mesh correctly..
may i use steel pinion gear? unfortunelly my LHS out of stock the steel ones.
Can i use Mugen MTX4 1st and 2nd pinion gear? is that work with V1RRR standart clutch bell? Thanks
spyspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2006, 09:01 PM   #8045
Tech Adept
 
rayjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Townsville, Queensland
Posts: 209
Smile re-motor

Cheers mate. On the Novarossi...How does it compare to the TZ then? Im looking at getting it fairly cheap..Maybe to have as a second motor or backup motor. However... if its not as good as the TZ, i wont worry about getting it..
rayjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2006, 09:51 PM   #8046
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 61
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rmdhawaii
THANKS!!!
oderem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2006, 07:03 AM   #8047
Tech Fanatic
 
robert maestrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Miramar
Posts: 906
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rayjay
I have a question...I currently have a rrr with a .12 OS TZ. Our track is tight and twisty and i was looking at getting a motor with a bit more punch in it. Im looking at getting an Novarossi Rex RER12. Any thoughts if this will be much of an improvement. Also... what motor do you guys recomend.

I have also used the Tz in the past with great results......but the motor I would recommend if you want awesome grunt and so far has been a workhorse is the new Evo3 STI made by Sirio...just loook at what it did at the worlds.... This motor has taken very good care of me at very big races and i have no complaints... Hope this helps
__________________
Sippin Coladas and Chillin
robert maestrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2006, 07:09 AM   #8048
Tech Elite
 
wallyedmonds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Brampton ont canada
Posts: 3,662
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by robert maestrey
I have also used the Tz in the past with great results......but the motor I would recommend if you want awesome grunt and so far has been a workhorse is the new Evo3 STI made by Sirio...just loook at what it did at the worlds.... This motor has taken very good care of me at very big races and i have no complaints... Hope this helps
but novarossis wont break like a sirio and many have broken the sti
wallyedmonds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2006, 07:10 AM   #8049
Tech Elite
 
wallyedmonds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Brampton ont canada
Posts: 3,662
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spyspeed
Why my pinion gear wear faster? i think i set gear mesh correctly..
may i use steel pinion gear? unfortunelly my LHS out of stock the steel ones.
Can i use Mugen MTX4 1st and 2nd pinion gear? is that work with V1RRR standart clutch bell? Thanks
no
wallyedmonds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2006, 07:12 AM   #8050
Tech Elite
 
wallyedmonds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Brampton ont canada
Posts: 3,662
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by litespeed-dom
You already have one of the torque'st .12 motor out there. Stick with your TZ.

Dom
if you think it has torque than theres somthing wrong with your other motors.
wallyedmonds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2006, 04:14 PM   #8051
Tech Adept
 
rayjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Townsville, Queensland
Posts: 209
Smile re- motor

Thanks......
rayjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2006, 04:37 PM   #8052
Tech Elite
 
litespeed-dom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Beaverton, Oregon
Posts: 3,990
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wallyedmonds
if you think it has torque than theres somthing wrong with your other motors.
Sorry man, judging from your posts on different threads, you really have no clue what you are talking about. That "many" have broken STI is actually just you.

Dom
__________________
Team Kyosho America - Team Br00d Racing - Team R/C Plus - GQ Racing Tyres - Slapmaster Tools - FSX Racing
litespeed-dom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2006, 07:50 PM   #8053
Tech Champion
 
GMartinez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Sunshine State
Posts: 8,161
Trader Rating: 85 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wallyedmonds
but novarossis wont break like a sirio and many have broken the sti
Wally I know a lot of guys that the cranks in a Novarossi snapped. to make out such a loud opinion that novarossi does not break as easy as a sirio is completly false. Just cause you had a problem & Kyosho took care of you so promptly better than a lot more people can appreciate. I seen numerous times & complaints about Novarossi @ the LHS. Novarossi would comment not our problem you did something wrong to the motor. Just make's it seem that you are being inconsiderate for what they did for you. as for torque it's all in the gearing & clutch setup which you probally don't have a clue on how to set up your motor for certain tracks. The Sirio has more torque over certain motors. What motor are you using in comparision that you are basing this info.
Be more specific & give more details than just bashing the sirio motor.
I guess all the motors that made it to the top ten in the worlds were just an average motor with no torque
__________________
www.fullthrottlercraceway.com
Home of The U.S. World Nitro Cup 2013,2014,2015,2016
2014 Roar Electric Nationals, IFMAR ISTC Worlds, 2015 Roar Fuel Nationals
2017 U.S.World Nitro Cup Nov 29th - Dec 3rd
U.S.Open Fuel Championship Returning soon
GMartinez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2006, 06:54 AM   #8054
Tech Elite
 
markp27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Posts: 4,069
Send a message via ICQ to markp27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spyspeed
40Shore up front and 37 rear.. and 2mm split front-to-rear..
front roll bar fully horizontal

that's why i go for spool..
The understeer you're suffering from will be due to you runing the front tyres harder than the rears. Run 40 front and rear and if you still don't have enough steering, then 40 rear and 37 front.

What do you mean about the spool?
markp27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2006, 06:57 AM   #8055
Tech Elite
 
markp27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Posts: 4,069
Send a message via ICQ to markp27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by litespeed-dom
You already have one of the torque'st .12 motor out there. Stick with your TZ.

Dom
I run both the OS MAX TZ and the Sirio STI. I find that the OS MAX has more torque than my STI, but the STI will rev higher and is better for more open, flowing circuits. For smaller circuits where low down power if required, the TZ is very hard to beat.

Cheers, Mark.
markp27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FOR SALE - Mugen MBX5T ProSpec and Kyosho STR with chassis conversion and Kyosho big MattWells R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 04-28-2017 10:25 AM
1986 1/12 Kyosho Plazma MKIII With Kyosho LeMan 600E Motor Funkymojo R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 05-17-2012 11:11 AM
Custom painted Kyosho SP2 and Kyosho STRR bodies.... RC3 Graphics SWEET W/ PICS CRFXXXT R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 01-07-2008 07:38 PM
MACH. 28/NEW PS, KYOSHO MINI INFERNO ST/W/3NEW IB1400 8 CELL PACKS, KYOSHO 1./8 BUGGY newbie2 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 11-18-2007 06:07 PM
Convert Kyosho Quick Start system on Kyosho QRC to Pullstart Morpheus2be Monster Trucks 0 02-16-2005 11:26 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:59 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net