R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Old 04-23-2006, 06:35 PM   #6136
Tech Fanatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by OldNSlow2
What? That makes it longer!

Ok, just so you all know I am not looking for a fight here, it's Friday night, I'm home watching hockey and reading the "net". Plus I am Old and Slow so I tend to study these things, plus it is what I do for a living.

I will say this one last time. If you lower the upper arm on the inside you will raise the roll center, and increase camber gain. A shorter upper link will cause a more rapid change in camber gain. Please go back and look at the Cauley picture and imagine the upper link on a steep angle down then connect all the lines to this new instant center. The roll center will be higher. I just did it again myself to make sure.

Ain't this fun?
I have to apologise and admit I was wrong. I dont have any excuses other than the few I had to drink. Just moving to the inside hole does raise the roll center but moving to the inside and increasing the length of the arm to keep the same camber lowers it.
teammpp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2006, 08:43 PM   #6137
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

Wow, everyone has their own opinions. I wish I had the knowledge to know myself. Honestly, I have never raced on the track, but I visited their races today. Similar to the gearing opinions, the people there have mixed opinions on traction. A main guy says kind of low/medium two others say "such a high bite".

Anyway, RDHawaii, I couldn't tell you. They DO have two nitro classes. Tomorrow I will be ordering the WCE and was hoping box stock would work on this track. (slightly bumpy - just a tad, medium traction, small track) Some guys run 40/37 and 37/35 to me that sounds like a medium traction track to me if this can be judged by tires and current temp. I have about 40 hours track time, 15 hours with an R40, and 25 hours with an MTX3. Still learning.