R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Old 04-22-2006, 02:53 AM   #6106
Tech Master

Quote:
Originally Posted by OldNSlow2
What? That makes it longer!

Ok, just so you all know I am not looking for a fight here, it's Friday night, I'm home watching hockey and reading the "net". Plus I am Old and Slow so I tend to study these things, plus it is what I do for a living.

I will say this one last time. If you lower the upper arm on the inside you will raise the roll center, and increase camber gain. A shorter upper link will cause a more rapid change in camber gain. Please go back and look at the Cauley picture and imagine the upper link on a steep angle down then connect all the lines to this new instant center. The roll center will be higher. I just did it again myself to make sure.

Ain't this fun?
Hi

Your correct. Increasing the angle of the upper camber link at the back RAISES the roll centre. As the roll centre is closer now to the CofG the roll MOMENT (More rotation for the same laterall movement) will be greater and give you more roll and more grip. This is why people see the opposite in practice. They are expecting less grip with increased camber angle

So....

Raising the angle or the camber link raises the roll centre closer to the C of G and gives you more roll MOMENT and therefore more roll and more rear grip.

Also if rolling = more grip why run an ANTI roll bar? I never run a rear roll bar

Cheers

http://www.fast-rc.co.uk/forum/index.php

Sponsored by:
Norfolk and Chance
ziggy12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2006, 07:02 AM   #6107
Tech Apprentice

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ziggy12345
Hi