R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-06-2005, 06:32 PM   #4021
Tech Elite
 
jeffreylin's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Traction Roll!
Posts: 2,564
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrgsr
yeh i do set the ride height first

a q. about the setup station, is it possible to set the ride height with it ?
one problem i find is is et the ride height with the tyres im about to use before the next race. then i put the car on the setup station and the ride height is different ?

is that normal

thanks for all this help guys
Ride height really has nothing to do with set up stations. You should set your ride height with the tires you want to use, and not set it while on the set up station.
jeffreylin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2005, 06:36 PM   #4022
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pole Position
Posts: 3,173
Trader Rating: 13 (93%+)
Default

cool
so its right to set the ride height with the tyres, then put the car on the setup station, with a ride height underneath push down on the car and then set camber ?

or just put it on the station and set the camber ?
mrgsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2005, 07:02 PM   #4023
Tech Elite
 
jeffreylin's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Traction Roll!
Posts: 2,564
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrgsr
cool
so its right to set the ride height with the tyres, then put the car on the setup station, with a ride height underneath push down on the car and then set camber ?

or just put it on the station and set the camber ?
Once you set the ride height with the tires, you put the car one the set up station. The reading off the set up station WITHOUT pushing the chassis down is your camber.
jeffreylin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2005, 07:18 PM   #4024
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pole Position
Posts: 3,173
Trader Rating: 13 (93%+)
Default

thanks for that

why does it give a diff reading to when using the rpm camber gauge ?>
mrgsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2005, 07:22 PM   #4025
Tech Elite
 
jeffreylin's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Traction Roll!
Posts: 2,564
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrgsr
thanks for that

why does it give a diff reading to when using the rpm camber gauge ?>
It shouldn't

I think you had a different reading because you pushed the chassis down while on the set up station, and that reading is incorrect.
jeffreylin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2005, 07:50 PM   #4026
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pole Position
Posts: 3,173
Trader Rating: 13 (93%+)
Default

ill experiement and let you know
mrgsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2005, 07:52 PM   #4027
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pole Position
Posts: 3,173
Trader Rating: 13 (93%+)
Default craqcked upper deck

the camber was a small problem compared to this one

last weekend was an expensive race weekend haha
blew a few plugs with incorrect engine settings
bent manifold that i fixed ..

in my first heat i had an amateur full throttle in the pit lane and smack straight into my pipe forcing it to crack the upper deck where i have it mounted to using a skyline exhautsd mount.

the upper deck split from the edge near the pipe to the front left of the tank. i pushed the split back in and now you cant tell of any damage. i guess u know what i mean by this...

now im wondering if this will affect anything before i buy a new upper deck ?
mrgsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2005, 01:11 AM   #4028
Tech Adept
 
uaerc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UAE
Posts: 236
Default

Hi guys...

Was working on my RRR last week and put in 3k oil in the rear and set it up all again to find out that it really handles well in low tractions track.

Today i was just looking at the car and found out that the whole rear oil has leaked n it was sitting only on the table...... I remember puting a new o-ring and everything...... but these new o-rings are so thin and fragilee they are a pain to put in may be it slipped when i tightened or something.... any one has used any silicone ? to seal this diff joint. ? or somethign else ?

Coz its a pain opeining up the RRR's rear all again....... for nothing but a O-ring....
uaerc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2005, 09:46 AM   #4029
Tech Elite
 
dameetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Sky
Posts: 2,542
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Racing4Evo
TRY:
-raising the front shocks all the way
-stiffening the front swaybar
-thinner diff oil
-less front droop
Which diff oil do you reckon? 10K? At the moment I m using the stock 30K at rear and 50k at front (when using front diff). I m also using 0 droop at front as per stock set up.
__________________
Dudududududuuuuuu.....
dameetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2005, 10:26 AM   #4030
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Owensboro KY
Posts: 1,175
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jeff whiting
Default

I use pure clear GE Silicone to seal the diff. Your right that little seal is pain. What I do is test fit everything, then fill the diff and then put a bead of silicone the thinkness of the seal on the gear side of the diff, then put it together without the seal, tighten the screws down and let it sit over night with out even spinning it. That way none of the silicone will get mixed up in the diff before it dries. No leaks from the seal.....ever.

JEFF
__________________
Thanks to our sponsors: Desoto Racing, Serpent, Ielasi Tuned, HobbyWing, Byron's Fuel, Matrix Tires, Protoform, Futaba, www.LEFComplex.com
jeff whiting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2005, 05:30 PM   #4031
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pole Position
Posts: 3,173
Trader Rating: 13 (93%+)
Default 3-racing rrr top deck

hi guys
just wanted to know what you think of the 3-racing rrr top deck?
the carbon fibre model

does anyone have a kyosho rrr top deck they would like to sell ?

thanks
JOhn
mrgsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2005, 05:36 PM   #4032
Tech Elite
 
jeffreylin's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Traction Roll!
Posts: 2,564
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrgsr
hi guys
just wanted to know what you think of the 3-racing rrr top deck?
the carbon fibre model

does anyone have a kyosho rrr top deck they would like to sell ?

thanks
JOhn
I have one if you are interested. But it's the original version and not the newer ones with elongated fuel tank holes. PM me if you want it.
jeffreylin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2005, 11:00 PM   #4033
Tech Fanatic
 
AndyT 's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 862
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrgsr
yeh i do set the ride height first

a q. about the setup station, is it possible to set the ride height with it ?
one problem i find is is et the ride height with the tyres im about to use before the next race. then i put the car on the setup station and the ride height is different ?

is that normal

thanks for all this help guys
Setup stations such as the Hudy will have a ride height gauge included but theres no inbuilt feature that will check ride height besides this.
Make sure the surface you`re using to check ride height is as flat as possible....this will help ensure a more accurate setting.....glass cutting/chopping boards can be good for this (cheap too )...but for a few bucks extra its worthwhile to go for something like the Hudy and be able to use it to measure trackwidth as well.
The one problem I`ve found when using camber gauges ala the Duratrax, RPM etc, is that theyre dependent on the wheel being in proper shape to get anywhere near a accurate reading.....even a wheel slightly out of shape will throw camber measurements out by a few degrees......thats why I always try and use the setup station for camber.
Cheers
AndyT  is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2005, 11:07 PM   #4034
Tech Fanatic
 
AndyT 's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 862
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by uaerc
Hi guys...

Was working on my RRR last week and put in 3k oil in the rear and set it up all again to find out that it really handles well in low tractions track.

Today i was just looking at the car and found out that the whole rear oil has leaked n it was sitting only on the table...... I remember puting a new o-ring and everything...... but these new o-rings are so thin and fragilee they are a pain to put in may be it slipped when i tightened or something.... any one has used any silicone ? to seal this diff joint. ? or somethign else ?

Coz its a pain opeining up the RRR's rear all again....... for nothing but a O-ring....
How tight were the diff screws?.....I had a prob with the diff oil leaking out when i built the car earlier this year, but now i just make sure the diff screws are reasonably tight and havent had any hassles since.
AndyT  is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2005, 01:03 AM   #4035
Tech Addict
 
Dynamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 614
Send a message via MSN to Dynamite
Default

i built a couple of spare diffs with different rate oils to use as drop in's for when i go away racing. they also leaked through the screw heads whilst sitting in my pit box container...

what i did notice about the diff screws was the flat head screws that came with the kit (the std one with 30k oil in it) are slightly larger then the ones which came with the diffs i bought to make up as spares.

i will top up the lost oil soon in them and try some silicone behind the screw heads and see how i go, it could be overtightness of these slightlu smaller flat head screws which causes this problem
__________________
www.racingfactory.org
Kyosho RRR Evo | Sirio Evo III STI | Ko Radio
Dynamite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FOR SALE - Mugen MBX5T ProSpec and Kyosho STR with chassis conversion and Kyosho big MattWells R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 04-28-2017 10:25 AM
1986 1/12 Kyosho Plazma MKIII With Kyosho LeMan 600E Motor Funkymojo R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 05-17-2012 11:11 AM
Custom painted Kyosho SP2 and Kyosho STRR bodies.... RC3 Graphics SWEET W/ PICS CRFXXXT R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 01-07-2008 07:38 PM
MACH. 28/NEW PS, KYOSHO MINI INFERNO ST/W/3NEW IB1400 8 CELL PACKS, KYOSHO 1./8 BUGGY newbie2 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 11-18-2007 06:07 PM
Convert Kyosho Quick Start system on Kyosho QRC to Pullstart Morpheus2be Monster Trucks 0 02-16-2005 11:26 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:24 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net