R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-28-2011, 01:49 AM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 130
Default has anyone here got a hard h6 starter box

Has anyone here got a hard h6 starter box on here as I'm thinking of getting one.however I would like to connect a 12v to the starterbox.can u fit just a normal 12v banna leads to them.

Cheers
kyoshoevolvam3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 03:08 AM   #2
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kyoshoevolvam3 View Post
Has anyone here got a hard h6 starter box on here as I'm thinking of getting one.however I would like to connect a 12v to the starterbox.can u fit just a normal 12v banna leads to them.

Cheers

i would highly recomend you stay away from hard starter boxes i brought one and had nothing but problems with mine and it got replaced three times in the end i just brought a nother brand its a pity as the build looked the goods
rufazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 03:24 AM   #3
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 130
Default

Thanks for ur help what starterbox do u have I have to get a starterbox that's suits a 1/8 on road car.

Thanks
kyoshoevolvam3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 03:37 AM   #4
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 116
Default

i know use hudy ones for every thing 1\10 and just started using one for my 1\8 not a issue however i dont think you can use jumper leads
rufazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 03:00 PM   #5
Tech Regular
 
ABGDjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: BUMI MERDEKA
Posts: 255
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rufazz View Post
i would highly recomend you stay away from hard starter boxes i brought one and had nothing but problems with mine and it got replaced three times in the end i just brought a nother brand its a pity as the build looked the goods
bullshit!!! I used hard sbox H6 for 2 years is nice Sbox
i thing u are fool racer man
__________________
in used
*MUGEN SEIKI MTX5*SANWA M11x*2xFUTABA S9451(s)S9350(t)*POWERED BY SIRIO NEMESIS TUNED
ABGDjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 03:07 PM   #6
Tech Adept
 
ugglasdav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 166
Default

i had the HARD H5s starter box and it wasnt great. over time everythnig just broke. i mostly had proplems with the switch not working when you needed it to work. im not to sure if the H6 has a similar switch setup but if it does i would stay away from them.
__________________
>Shepherd Velox V8/Team associated TC5R
>>IDM 2011/ Speed passion/Much More
>>>Sanwa m11x
ugglasdav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 03:21 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
blis's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 3,434
Default 2 more cents

Hmmm, I run a h5 and it's a kickass motor in mine and yes it does need some maintenance.
On the h5 there are Banana options. To be true, get a gel cell 12v like on motorbikes if you can afford the weight penalty or Lipo it. It's a simple mod to add 12v.

The key to the H6 is it uses a RELAY... Which in theory is a great idea, I hate the sparks on my H5 of raw contacts.If the build was crap, then that'd be a different story but it's not the norm. TM has a better history in RC accessories than they do their cars..

Personally I'd avoid the dual 540 and get a H5... and better still get a mugen or hudy

Quote:
__________________
RC Cars: E4/G4/TCX/LAB-C02/T4'15/MM Engines
WEB: Beachmums Racing - MYRCM Race Registration
Media: Amain - RCRacingTV - RedRC - LiveRC - blisx264
blis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 03:52 AM   #8
Tech Regular
 
CHRISP76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 329
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

NOT YOU AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
Chris P

MUGEN / NOVAROSSI / MATRIX
CHRISP76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 10:40 AM   #9
Tech Fanatic
 
blanks596's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Los Angeles Dojo
Posts: 813
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

i've had the TM version of this starter box since 2005 and it's still going strong
__________________
Serpent/Desoto Racing
Max S
blanks596 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 11:15 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 4,148
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Scott Fisher
Default

I have a couple of the TM Alpha boxes myself and they are great starter boxes. My Alpha boxes are over 4 years old. I have had to lube the motors once, clean the contacts once and change the rubber wheel once. Almost everytime I have seen somebody burning motors in a starter box it is because of improper alignment. Nobody admits to it, but that is the #1 cause that I have seen. The only reason I switched to the Hudy box is sponsorship reasons. The Hudy box is great as well.

To answer your question, I don't see how a 12volt battery will fit into that box unless you get a 14.4v lipo. I ran my Alpha on a Losi lipo battery for over 18 months before switching to the Hudy box.
__________________
| Capricorn | Ybslow | Proline-Protoform | Johnny Bravo Racing | Desoto Racing | Murnan Modified | Matrix Tires | Powermaster Fuel |
Scott Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 12:42 AM   #11
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Default blue ofna box

Just stop working? Check bother motors both working. Bought a new switch can't figure out the problem ... should I rewire it? Whats the next step
ny187blacksheep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 10:06 PM   #12
Tech Fanatic
 
blanks596's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Los Angeles Dojo
Posts: 813
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

12v gel cells fit in there, you just have to take the starter box apart somewhat to fit it in. In over 5 years, only had to replace the gel cell once
__________________
Serpent/Desoto Racing
Max S
blanks596 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 02:03 AM   #13
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Default

I figured it out.. On the push down trigger there is a circle disc thats hits the two metal tabs to complete the circuit. There was plastic shavings or dirt from the wheel that melted on one of the tabs. Cleaned it up and the box is working perfectly.
I have the gel cell. The only thing I don't like is the charge time... I'm going solder those clips from those nimh battery, sorry don't know the name (newbie) so I can use my rapid charger...
ny187blacksheep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 02:11 AM   #14
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Can i even do that? What setting on the rapid charger. Can I just use two 7.2v battery's
or a lipo anything a rapid charge ...
ny187blacksheep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 07:16 AM   #15
Tech Fanatic
 
blanks596's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Los Angeles Dojo
Posts: 813
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

can't rapid charge a gel cel-also, a gel cell fully charged should last quite a while (like several race days) before needing a charge again
__________________
Serpent/Desoto Racing
Max S
blanks596 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:42 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net