R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-15-2011, 01:02 PM   #16
Tech Champion
 
YR4Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 5,625
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

I'm surprised that RD Logics is still in business.

How would this compare with the Team Magic G4JS that has all the current improvements except for a graphite top plate at a lower price?
YR4Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 03:10 PM   #17
Tech Elite
 
Bundy_Bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Brisbane, Qld
Posts: 2,682
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blis View Post
Bundy.. dont drop those diffs on your foot ok.. Dont want to see you limping for the rest of the year.

And man, why not get the evo instead? Why'd you go for the mongoose, and I will have plenty of parts for you if you need them, trying to get youngest son to post used spares on the website, but his interest levels are about the same as TM are atm

Does it use the ED transmission? The shocks look like old ones with a latter top support.

PS: I might just have the carbon fibre long side support for that model; You need to come over my way and grab some of this stuff!
Harry you really hate those diffs..... I already limp around as I am getting old. Are you talking about the G4+ Evo?
__________________
MissMooRC Racing
Find us on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/missmoorc
Bundy_Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 04:37 PM   #18
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bundy_Bear View Post
Rufazz: Xray is a very nice car, i thought you had sold the Xray due to changes with your job?
na still got it and waiting for the new detention centre to open before i move
rufazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 10:44 PM   #19
Tech Elite
 
Bundy_Bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Brisbane, Qld
Posts: 2,682
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YR4Dude View Post
I'm surprised that RD Logics is still in business.

How would this compare with the Team Magic G4JS that has all the current improvements except for a graphite top plate at a lower price?
YR4Dude:

RDLogics is owned by Horizon Hobby's which also owns Spektrum & Losi!

The G4JR, JS & RS 2008 editions all have a bellcrank steering system and different chassis which is more narrow in the rear end then the Mongoose. Also these three later cars all come with the Flying Wing top and lower suspension arms which i believe are more fragile then the Mongoose.

And then you have the difference in the radio tray layouts on these three later cars also, they require a custom receiver battery out next to the exhaust and the receiver sits down under the fuel tank in front of the engine.

I personally like the Mongoose layout as the receiver is away from the heat from the engine and I don't like the custom battery pack as Team Magics batterys are just rubbish!
__________________
MissMooRC Racing
Find us on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/missmoorc
Bundy_Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 10:58 PM   #20
Tech Elite
 
Bundy_Bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Brisbane, Qld
Posts: 2,682
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default Clarification!

This is my project and not something RDLogics have produced, all these upgrades have been added to the standard RDLogics Mongoose kit!

__________________
MissMooRC Racing
Find us on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/missmoorc
Bundy_Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 02:34 AM   #21
Tech Elite
 
Bundy_Bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Brisbane, Qld
Posts: 2,682
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

All finished, just needs a wheel alignment and then to the track we go!








Thanks for reading!
__________________
MissMooRC Racing
Find us on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/missmoorc
Bundy_Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 11:36 AM   #22
Tech Champion
 
YR4Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 5,625
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bundy_Bear View Post
This is my project and not something RDLogics have produced, all these upgrades have been added to the standard RDLogics Mongoose kit!

So this is just an old school Mongoose with a bunch of new K-Factory upgrades? Must have been awfully pricey. Was it worth it?
YR4Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 12:04 PM   #23
Tech Adept
 
roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: the nearest track
Posts: 141
Send a message via Yahoo to roach
Default mongoose

a buddy of mine runs a mongoose and that car can and dose run with anything out there!. it just depends who wheeling it!.
__________________
Team Magic/ hy-brid composites/black project racing.
roach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 04:59 AM   #24
Tech Elite
 
Bundy_Bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Brisbane, Qld
Posts: 2,682
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YR4Dude View Post
So this is just an old school Mongoose with a bunch of new K-Factory upgrades? Must have been awfully pricey. Was it worth it?
YR4Dude:

Sorry can't answer that yet.... maybe this weekend I can hit the track! I already owned all the bits i added to the car and only cost was purchasing the Mongoose kit.

Thanks
__________________
MissMooRC Racing
Find us on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/missmoorc
Bundy_Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 04:30 AM   #25
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 116
Default

Have you run the car yet man if so how did it go
rufazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 08:56 PM   #26
Tech Elite
 
Bundy_Bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Brisbane, Qld
Posts: 2,682
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rufazz View Post
Have you run the car yet man if so how did it go
Rufazz:

Not as yet, working on another project at the moment. Maybe this weekend if everything goes to plan!
__________________
MissMooRC Racing
Find us on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/missmoorc
Bundy_Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 01:49 AM   #27
Tech Master
 
DHooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 1,733
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

i also have just completed the rdlogics kit and im finishing up breaking in the engine, just need a receiver pack before the first race of the season ( this sunday).... what are you using for a reciever pack
__________________
Daniel Hooten

SEE YA IN THE FIRST TURN!
DHooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 03:23 AM   #28
Tech Elite
 
Bundy_Bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Brisbane, Qld
Posts: 2,682
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DHooter View Post
i also have just completed the rdlogics kit and im finishing up breaking in the engine, just need a receiver pack before the first race of the season ( this sunday).... what are you using for a reciever pack
I have a KM Racing 800Ma AAA Cell hump pack, I believe RDLogics have an option available on there website. Otherwise if you are handy with a soldering iron you could make up a pack yourself using 5 x AAA NMH cells. Three cells on the bottom and two above sitting in the gaps.

Hope this helps and glad to see another Mongoose user

Andrew
__________________
MissMooRC Racing
Find us on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/missmoorc
Bundy_Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 04:36 AM   #29
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 116
Default

mugen use to have similar cells
rufazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 02:16 AM   #30
Tech Master
 
DHooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 1,733
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

so i picked up some rechargeable AAA batteries and made my own pack, i think its going to be a temporary pack until i can find a LiFe pack that will fit..... my new problem is my first gear pinion keeps working itself loose even while using locktite.... i put more on and tightened it as much as i could and i will try again 2moro but if it comes off again that will make it my 5th try failed... any advice?
__________________
Daniel Hooten

SEE YA IN THE FIRST TURN!
DHooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:57 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net