R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Nitro On-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-road-3/)
-   -   <<( Battery Help )>> EP guys were no help (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-road/48594-battery-help-ep-guys-were-no-help.html)

kidDynomite 08-25-2004 01:34 PM

<<( Battery Help )>> EP guys were no help

I started a thread in the Electric Forum and that was a mistake ... I don't think they read the posts:
http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthre...threadid=48505

Maybe they don't like nitro guys, whatever ...

Anyways, I wanted to try and use my flat 7.4V lithium battery pack from my Xray m18, and use it as a reciever pack in my nitro car. It's super light and lasts 4x longer than my AAA pack. It might even last longer at a lower voltage.

Is there a way to regulate it down to 6V?

I'm no electrical engineer, and I was really hoping to run into one in the other forum. So any help and/or answers would be greatly appriciated.

Thanks!

Solara 08-25-2004 01:43 PM

You probably need a TRANSFORMER (that is the only THING that it can convert from 7.4v to 6.0v) or some kind of voltage resistence device to trim down to 6.0 V output.........that extra trasnformer will weight a TON.

For your information, those ppl from ELECT are far more intellegent then any college graduate in EE (in my opinion) They can play their 7.2V 3300 like a NASA engineer...............they can't give you a definite answer because you were asking something that is not a very good idea in NITRO or ELECT RC race car...probably not worth to even try.

Use (5)AAA, it will last you a whole day of racing including a 45 minutes or 30 minutes main....my R40 does.

Beside, lithium battery probably not the safest battery to play with....

And on my NTC3....I don't even bother to use AAA......car is way under legal weight already.

kidDynomite 08-25-2004 01:52 PM