R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Old 07-27-2004, 08:16 PM   #1
Tech Rookie

Default HPI R40 Build

Hey Guys and Gals,

I am just beginning my build on the R40 and I have a few questions.

I am working on the rear end of the car. And the Supplied drive belt for the Diff, doesn't appear to be the right size. The belt that came with the car was a 63 tooth Belt. Has anybody else had this problem? And what belt did you use?

Also for the same belt. The forward gear seems to be a bit to far to the left. As the belt sits cock eyed.

I took the car to the local Hobby shop to see if they could help me out, but they were baffeled. I wanted verification that I was assembling correctly and that I was missing anyhing or an adjustment somewhere. But they couldn't find anything either. And since none of them have the car or have even built it. They really weren't much help.

Please help. Esspecially if you are in the KC area I could really use somebody to correspond with. Or just somebody that is pretty knowledgeable about the car.

Thanks in advance and I am sure this is only the first of many posts I am going to post. As this is the first ever Nitro car I have owned much less tried to build.

Beowulf1877
beowulf1877 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2004, 09:34 PM   #2
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jscamry Send a message via MSN to jscamry Send a message via Yahoo to jscamry Send a message via Skype™ to jscamry
Default belt problem

the rear belt part number is A727(its the same for the front and rear belt), have you guys tried to adjust the tension by notches in the rear diff housing? its on page 17 in the manual?

hope this helps jason
jscamry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2004, 10:18 PM   #3
Tech Rookie

Yes, I moved the adjustment full front to full rear...Has something changed in the R40?