Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road
speed is the key >

speed is the key

speed is the key

Old 10-21-2010, 07:54 PM
  #1  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
gt fast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 58
Default speed is the key

i know im going to get a lot of crap for this question but look. noob to the onroad thing, how can i make my hpi rs4 faster. i want topend faster, with out changin my motor. i have the stock .15 and would like more speed on the top. i know it will sacrifice some bottom but thats fine. once again i want to keep my motor, but can modify it jsut dont want to change it.
gt fast is offline  
Old 10-21-2010, 08:44 PM
  #2  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (24)
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13,160
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by gt fast View Post
i know im going to get a lot of crap for this question but look. noob to the onroad thing, how can i make my hpi rs4 faster. i want topend faster, with out changin my motor. i have the stock .15 and would like more speed on the top. i know it will sacrifice some bottom but thats fine. once again i want to keep my motor, but can modify it jsut dont want to change it.
Go up a tooth on the pinion gears (clutch bell).
wingracer is offline  
Old 10-22-2010, 07:19 AM
  #3  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (85)
 
lil-bump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Cold Great Lakes
Posts: 3,015
Trader Rating: 85 (100%+)
Default

Go up a tooth on the pinion
go down a tooth on the spurs
use the largest tires you can find.

shorter pipe.

Pass you soon...
lil-bump is offline  
Old 10-22-2010, 12:24 PM
  #4  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 480
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by gt fast View Post
i know im going to get a lot of crap for this question but look. noob to the onroad thing, how can i make my hpi rs4 faster. i want topend faster, with out changin my motor. i have the stock .15 and would like more speed on the top. i know it will sacrifice some bottom but thats fine. once again i want to keep my motor, but can modify it jsut dont want to change it.
If you have still have stock pipe too, you could/should upgrade it to a tuned pipe as well.
Kyo83 is offline  
Old 10-22-2010, 04:36 PM
  #5  
Tech Elite
 
blis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 3,478
Default Combustion

If you want an engine to produce more power, you can increase the amount of oxygen in the combustion and increase the compression. Ensure your carby is opening fully and that it's inlet manifold isnt choked. If specs permit you may increase (dremel/grind) the size of the inlet manifold to allow more air into the system though this not where Id recommend you start.



Besides the modding of the engine, you can check a few things. Ensure you are getting enough fuel pressure in the fuel delivery systems. Tank nipples, fuel hosing and no exhaust air leaks that will lower fuel pressure.

Then you could toy around with simple timing by trying a colder plug to adjust the ignition timing and also ensure that you are getting a clean burn by checking the condition of the cylinder.

You could increase compression by removing shims but this depends on the amount of oxygen in the air. Things to take into consideration are the temperature of the air, the altitude and humidity. And like the previous response improve the back pressure effect by using a tuned pipe.

The obvious best method if these minor changes arent working is to accept that the engine isnt hi performance and buy a more powerful engine.

You could also try different fuel.
blis is offline  
Old 10-22-2010, 09:09 PM
  #6  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
gt fast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 58
Default

ok do with the gearing. does anyone know what the stock gearing is. i believe i have the rs4 3, if your looking at the car from the front, the engine is on your left rear. it came with a plastic pipe, even platic turnbuckles for some reason. now, i do not know what number of teeth are on my spurs, reason being is my motor came loose one day and completely stripped the teeth off one off the gears. so i need to know the stock teeth size so i can go up or down from there. also, would a .15 off my rc10gt rtr be faster or stronger then the .15 that came with my rs4?.
gt fast is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.