Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road
I want my RS4 running :'( help >

I want my RS4 running :'( help

I want my RS4 running :'( help

Old 09-10-2010, 10:36 AM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
SuperNova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 16
Default I want my RS4 running :'( help

I have a problem with the front suspension . The ball of the dog bone wont fit Im really new at this please Help Im following this manual . theres pics below I really want to run this car already please help
Attached Thumbnails I want my RS4 running :'( help-kn3_16.jpg   I want my RS4 running :'( help-snapshot-8-.jpg   I want my RS4 running :'( help-snapshot-9-.jpg  
SuperNova is offline  
Old 09-10-2010, 10:44 AM
  #2  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 66
Default

It's been awhile since I remember mine, but are you possibly mixing up the dogbone that connects front and rear gearboxes with the one that's supposed to drive the wheels?
bad andy is offline  
Old 09-10-2010, 10:45 AM
  #3  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (11)
 
quietstorm76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 2,271
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

.
quietstorm76 is offline  
Old 09-10-2010, 10:48 AM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (11)
 
quietstorm76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 2,271
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by SuperNova View Post
I have a problem with the front suspension . The ball of the dog bone wont fit Im really new at this please Help Im following this manual . theres pics below I really want to run this car already please help
Do you have the right parts?

Are you trying to connect the center drive shaft to the gear housing?

is the bone too long or too short?

Is it the right part?
quietstorm76 is offline  
Old 09-10-2010, 11:02 AM
  #5  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
SuperNova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 16
Default

Originally Posted by quietstorm76 View Post
Do you have the right parts?

Are you trying to connect the center drive shaft to the gear housing?

is the bone too long or too short?

Is it the right part?
I think its the right part . its the right length it fits the rear it just wont fit the front
SuperNova is offline  
Old 09-10-2010, 11:10 AM
  #6  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 480
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by SuperNova View Post
I have a problem with the front suspension . The ball of the dog bone wont fit Im really new at this please Help Im following this manual . theres pics below I really want to run this car already please help
If I'm not mistaken the picture is a 1:1 relationship with with the part. Lay it on top of the picture and see if it is the same lenghth. Like someone said, you may be using confussing the transmission dogbone with the wheel dogbone.
Kyo83 is offline  
Old 09-10-2010, 11:37 AM
  #7  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
SuperNova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 16
Default

Originally Posted by Kyo83 View Post
If I'm not mistaken the picture is a 1:1 relationship with with the part. Lay it on top of the picture and see if it is the same lenghth. Like someone said, you may be using confussing the transmission dogbone with the wheel dogbone.
I checked , the ones from the wheels are smaller
SuperNova is offline  
Old 09-10-2010, 12:31 PM
  #8  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 405
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Can you give the length of the dog bone in mm? for that one it should be 60mm and the one in the rear will be 52 mm. All the dog bones to the wheels will be 52 mm as well.
bgrick is offline  
Old 09-10-2010, 12:34 PM
  #9  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
SuperNova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 16
Default

Originally Posted by bgrick View Post
Can you give the length of the dog bone in mm? for that one it should be 60mm and the one in the rear will be 52 mm. All the dog bones to the wheels will be 52 mm as well.
how do I find out the exact length ?
SuperNova is offline  
Old 09-10-2010, 03:08 PM
  #10  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
SuperNova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 16
Default

Can the car run with out it ?
SuperNova is offline  
Old 09-10-2010, 03:59 PM
  #11  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (24)
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13,157
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

From what I can tell looking at the parts list, the rear drive shaft and all four half shafts (going out to the wheels) are the same. But the front one is longer. If the one you are trying to use is the same length as all the others, it's the wrong part.
wingracer is offline  
Old 09-10-2010, 04:11 PM
  #12  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
SuperNova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 16
Default

Originally Posted by wingracer View Post
From what I can tell looking at the parts list, the rear drive shaft and all four half shafts (going out to the wheels) are the same. But the front one is longer. If the one you are trying to use is the same length as all the others, it's the wrong part.
Its Actually Longer . It Just wont fit . I was wondering if the car can run without it because thats the only part I need to put in . Everything else is done
SuperNova is offline  
Old 09-10-2010, 04:19 PM
  #13  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (24)
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13,157
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by SuperNova View Post
Its Actually Longer . It Just wont fit . I was wondering if the car can run without it because thats the only part I need to put in . Everything else is done
Yeah it will just only be 2wd so it wont drive very well. Something is definitely wrong. It sounds like you have the right driveshaft so maybe the drive cup in the front diff is wrong.
wingracer is offline  
Old 09-10-2010, 04:22 PM
  #14  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
SuperNova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 16
Default

Originally Posted by wingracer View Post
Yeah it will just only be 2wd so it wont drive very well. Something is definitely wrong. It sounds like you have the right driveshaft so maybe the drive cup in the front diff is wrong.
Can it Be changed?
SuperNova is offline  
Old 09-10-2010, 05:17 PM
  #15  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 405
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

you may want to take the rear diff assembly out and see if that dog bone fits in then just swap the diff assemblys
bgrick is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.