R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-23-2010, 02:45 PM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
Default serpent 966 2009 kit

I put my 966 kit together and about the only problem i had was the carburator slide hits the gas tank so i cannot get full throttle. I loosened the connection at the end of the slide and tried to adjust that way i also tried turning the carb left and right but nothing is working. the set screw at the end of the slide is hitting is anyone else having this problem?? Can anyone help me out? ....


thanks Bill Miller
pickle361 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 03:01 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Serpent-Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,850
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Sand the white plastic spacers that go on top of the radio tray down. This lowers the tank and gives u more clearance. Do both the front and rear spacers. You can take off about 3 or 4mm with no problem. And angle ur carb more to the right.
__________________
Inf1nity CM Beat1 Racing
Serpent-Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 03:05 PM   #3
Tech Champion
 
nitrodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oxnard, CA
Posts: 5,845
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

You have to angle the carb so it doesnt hit.
__________________
Steven Muller
AKA El Pibe RUFAST? HAHA!!!
Ronin Speed Parts
nitrodude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2010, 09:25 AM   #4
Tech Elite
 
J.Gonzalez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: connecticut
Posts: 2,409
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

You have to lower tank only way it will work. I lowered tank as much as possible..you can get to sit just about on a nimh pack. You will also need to angle carb and be creative with you linkage if you have to top mount your servos. Best to mount from bottom if they will fit that way depends on the servo.
J.Gonzalez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 08:53 PM   #5
Tech Addict
 
lpdconcepts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 576
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

I am having the same problem with my 966, I lowered the tank from the 5mm spacer to 2.5 mm and its still hitting the tank (also turned the carb).


Has anyone tried raising the carb out of the engine?

I cant believe how tight these parts are
lpdconcepts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 10:13 PM   #6
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 11
Default 2010 same as 2009

No other choice ....lower tank as low as possible and get ideal alignment throttle linkage(including adjust carb knob angle )
nsho0l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 06:30 AM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 421
Default

Not sure what motor your working with but my experience with Nova carbs was that by angling the carb and removing the excess material on the set screw boss I have clearance using a Spektrum servo (also had JR's) mounted upright below the tray.
__________________
Empire Racing - RC Target - Capricorn - K.O. Propo Electronics - IGT8 2017
Time for us all to grow up and sign our real names on posts.
Rick Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 09:33 AM   #8
Tech Master
 
bobbyblaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Georgia
Posts: 1,565
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to bobbyblaze
Default

ok after you lower the tank can you use the spacers to raise the servo alittle ..have anyone tried that option?
__________________
Arrma Nero 6s, Ofna DM-1 Pro
Traxxas Revo 3.3, Traxxas T-Maxx 3.3, Traxxas Jato 3.3
Traxxas Slash Platinum, Traxxas Slash 2WD
Bend The Rules--Rule The Bends
bobbyblaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 11:29 AM   #9
Tech Addict
 
lpdconcepts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 576
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

I have an RB Classico 10 mounted in the chassis. It says Nova on the Carb so I assume its a Nova Rossi?

I removed the spacer completely under the tank mount and the tank literally touches the battery and it still needs a bit more room

When I rotate the carb to move the slide away from the tank it touches the radio tray.

Should I try grinding the stub on the underneath of the slide for more clearance?
lpdconcepts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 11:44 AM   #10
Tech Champion
 
nitrodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oxnard, CA
Posts: 5,845
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lpdconcepts View Post
I have an RB Classico 10 mounted in the chassis. It says Nova on the Carb so I assume its a Nova Rossi?

I removed the spacer completely under the tank mount and the tank literally touches the battery and it still needs a bit more room

When I rotate the carb to move the slide away from the tank it touches the radio tray.

Should I try grinding the stub on the underneath of the slide for more clearance?
Can you post a picture of how you have the carb mounted? I have Piccos and Novas and never had a problem, I switch between motors without changing anything. Im thinking you have the ball on the carb linkage pointing up. Pics please.
__________________
Steven Muller
AKA El Pibe RUFAST? HAHA!!!
Ronin Speed Parts
nitrodude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 11:45 AM   #11
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Moreno Valley, Ca.
Posts: 1,937
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to motojon
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lpdconcepts View Post
I have an RB Classico 10 mounted in the chassis. It says Nova on the Carb so I assume its a Nova Rossi?

I removed the spacer completely under the tank mount and the tank literally touches the battery and it still needs a bit more room

When I rotate the carb to move the slide away from the tank it touches the radio tray.

Should I try grinding the stub on the underneath of the slide for more clearance?
is the motor far enough over? is the mesh o/k.... the pinion/spur should almost be flush with each other. try that and see what happens
__________________
My Gpa(RIP)
motojon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 09:05 PM   #12
Tech Addict
 
lpdconcepts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 576
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Well I managed to just get it in. I had to remove the batt tray and pin the tank then install the batt and tray. Its pushing against the tank by the way the o-ring is being squeezed by the pin as you can see in the 1st photo.

Hows the gear mesh. Will it need adjusting when the chassis is up to full temp?



lpdconcepts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 11:04 PM   #13
Tech Champion
 
nitrodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oxnard, CA
Posts: 5,845
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I cant see where its hitting from the picture, but you need to have the ball parallel with the chassis. And angle the carb a bit more, Ill take a pic from mine later and post it.
__________________
Steven Muller
AKA El Pibe RUFAST? HAHA!!!
Ronin Speed Parts
nitrodude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 09:28 AM   #14
Tech Master
 
Geezatec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,460
Default

Try This. relocate your throttle servo, turn it 180degrees. The relocate the carb a bit so linkage won't hit the tank. Then redo your TX with the EPA, it may be openning too much.

Mesh of gears, put a piece of paper between the gears.

Easy as pie!!!! Good luck!!!
Geezatec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 02:39 PM   #15
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 221
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lpdconcepts View Post
Well I managed to just get it in. I had to remove the batt tray and pin the tank then install the batt and tray. Its pushing against the tank by the way the o-ring is being squeezed by the pin as you can see in the 1st photo.

Hows the gear mesh. Will it need adjusting when the chassis is up to full temp?



Ok, for the carb, turn the ball that the throttle linkage is going to snap onto diagonally downwards. right now it's pointed diagonally upwards. If you have to force the throttle linkage to fit it, put it back to the upwards position.

Also make sure the carb is turned correctly after to ensure it does not hit the tank. This is how I do my engines on my 966 and have no problem, sometimes you just have to play with it on till its perfect.
( You may want to mount that savox servo underneath instead of on top, you should have enough clearance to mount beneath with a savox )

For the gear mesh, it looks fine from the picture. But who can really tell from the picture. Spin the gears and if it feels too course/rough , I would loosen/back it out a bit. It will not need to be adjusted when it gets up to temp ( not that i know of ).

I have never stripped a gear using that method. Just make sure you don't back it off too far, use your own judgement. Your car will also be more free.

I have never used the paper trick to mesh before.
yappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Serpent 966 madbeats Nitro On-Road 2237 10-29-2014 09:08 AM
SERPENT MALAYSIA - News, Support & Discussion Centre xxafiquexx Malaysian R/C Racers 877 01-30-2014 08:36 AM
Serpent's Lair ordinaryzam Malaysian R/C Racers 316 10-30-2009 01:29 AM
Serpent 721 new 1/10 touring choisan Nitro On-Road 221 06-08-2009 08:33 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:32 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net