R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-29-2004, 10:46 AM   #1
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 70
How to connect an AMB transponder?

Hi guys,

a friend of mine gave me a little red AMB transponder, but the connector are not on it (he had to cut and I have just 2 wires hanging out now). I wonder where I can hook it up?

Thanks in advance!
Frag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2004, 01:32 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
Aggdaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 364
Default

You may have to do a little soldering.

Your best bet is to splice into the throttle servo wire.
You know, red to red and black to black.

Your friend should have told you this too.
Aggdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2004, 01:55 PM   #3
Tech Addict
 
j240z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Everybody to the limit!
Posts: 651
Default

Otherwise you can use a servo connector and plug it into a spare channel on your receiver. This is they way it would come brand new - with the servo connector. I still have the instruction sheet for mine. I will try to post it here.
j240z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2004, 01:57 PM   #4
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 70
Default

Do you know if I can buy a Y connector that would split a unique connection in 2 connectors?

That would do a cleaner job.

If not, I will go in soldering. I have no problem with that. I was just wondering where to connect it to not affect any servos.

I already have a fail safe on the throttle link. Do you think that it will affect it?
Frag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2004, 01:59 PM   #5
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 70
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by j240z
Otherwise you can use a servo connector and plug it into a spare channel on your receiver. This is they way it would come brand new - with the servo connector. I still have the instruction sheet for mine. I will try to post it here.
Ho!!!

That make sense! Do you know if there is always juice on the third channel plug!?
Frag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2004, 02:16 PM   #6
Tech Regular
 
Aggdaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 364
Default

Oh, I didn't know you had a third channel.

That would be better than putting three devices on one channel.

Just solder on another plug and plug it in. Third channel should be "hot".

I only have two channels on my receiver and I have a fail safe on the throttle. but I spliced into the steering servo for the transponder. Everything works great though.
Aggdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2004, 02:21 PM   #7
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 70
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Aggdaddy
Oh, I didn't know you had a third channel.

That would be better than putting three devices on one channel.

Just solder on another plug and plug it in. Third channel should be "hot".

I only have two channels on my receiver and I have a fail safe on the throttle. but I spliced into the steering servo for the transponder. Everything works great though.
My transmitter has only 2 channels ...but my receiver on the car is 3 channels ready. It's why I wonder if the 3rd channel plug will be turned on....
Frag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2004, 02:26 PM   #8
Tech Regular
 
Aggdaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 364
Default

Well the transponder just needs power, and there's no way to turn off a particular channel on the receiver. So I'm pretty sure that it'll be on.

When you apply power to the receiver, everything is on. Your transmitter just sends a signal.
Aggdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2004, 02:43 PM   #9
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 70
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Aggdaddy
Well the transponder just needs power, and there's no way to turn off a particular channel on the receiver. So I'm pretty sure that it'll be on.

When you apply power to the receiver, everything is on. Your transmitter just sends a signal.
Thanks Aggdaddy!!!

I'll try it for sure (wonder how I will know if the transponder in on a home though) and confirm later.

Thanks again guys!
Frag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2004, 02:53 PM   #10
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: texas
Posts: 236
Default

If it is the small amb red transponder, it will have a small led yellowish light on top when the power is supplied to it properly.
sook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2004, 03:59 PM   #11
Tech Addict
 
j240z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Everybody to the limit!
Posts: 651
Default

YES! if your receiver has power it will power all the channels! And as sook said the yellow led on the transponder will be on!
j240z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2004, 05:53 PM   #12
Tech Regular
 
Rob Hochberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: West Chester, PA
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to Rob Hochberg
Default

Or it will light up green if it's the older version.
Rob Hochberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2004, 07:09 PM   #13
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 70
Default

A little solder and it works in the 3rd plug guys!

Thanks a lot...
Frag is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Output Batt Connect Error?? Duster_360 Radio and Electronics 1 08-08-2008 05:15 AM
Transponder mff30b R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 01-02-2008 07:34 PM
Blue aluminum transponder mount and transponder fat500 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 08-12-2006 07:13 PM
AMB Transponder e420x R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 01-01-2005 11:41 AM
My Starter Box Cant Connect With My Np Flywheel! eBoi31 Nitro On-Road 4 04-21-2002 07:35 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:22 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net