Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road
NOVAROSSI Turbo Glow Plugs - BAD BATCH >

NOVAROSSI Turbo Glow Plugs - BAD BATCH

NOVAROSSI Turbo Glow Plugs - BAD BATCH

Reply

Old 04-19-2004, 12:21 PM
  #1  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Ron C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Anaheim, California
Posts: 2,367
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default NOVAROSSI Turbo Glow Plugs - BAD BATCH

Hi guys,

We have been finding that there are some BAD Batches of
Novarossi Turbo Glow Plugs in the market today.

It's been on a few events where the plugs have just given up
after only a tank of fuel and some even less. When we check
the filament, its not distorted and is actually still shiny and in
perfect spiral form. But it just doesn't illuminate... Very strange.

A couple of weekends ago, one friend went thru 16 glow plugs
during the entire weekend. And I know of a person who actually
went thru 46 glow plugs during the Winternats.

Very rediculous and also EXPENSIVE.
Does anybody else been having the same experience?
Ron C. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 12:51 PM
  #2  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Richmond, Va
Posts: 679
Default

Well that explains yesterday

I went through 3 brand new #6 plugs in 3 heats. For the life of me I couldn't figure out why they were giving up. The engine was in tune, with good temps, and the plugs looked beautiful. They just wouldn't glow
tekrsq is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 01:13 PM
  #3  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: California
Posts: 1,571
Default That figures

Yes, i've also been experiencing that. Not only turbo plugs but standard plugs too. No. 7 to be exact. I had 4 plugs last Saturday's practice which i picked up at me local track. And to make things matter worst, i only had 6 tanks full of practice runs. And if you look at the plugs, it looks fine but when you fire it up again, then it's gone.. WTF is going on!!
manokgt4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 01:20 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
Francis M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Posts: 4,719
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

i hope this is temporary just because it is starting to cost a
lot.
Francis M. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 11:28 PM
  #5  
Tech Initiate
 
Cat Skinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 21
Just got back from Vegas (Speedline 2004) and was wondering what was going on with those plugs, two of us went through about 16 plugs. All would work fine until engine was shut down then some went bad. A few lasted several tanks but would still go bad. We tried lots of stuff before we put the blame on the plugs. Changed the tank, new exhaust line, motor, carb, ect. ------ Finally got different plugs and problem was gone.

Others out there?
Cat Skinner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2004, 12:42 AM
  #6  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 783
Default

Same here in Indonesia.
Mostly no.6 turbo.
Seems like they having problem with their new plug body material.
GoldFinger is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2004, 04:06 AM
  #7  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
jfc_tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: www.JonehRC.com
Posts: 7,000
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by GoldFinger
Same here in Indonesia.
Mostly no.6 turbo.
Seems like they having problem with their new plug body material.
no wonder....i thought my engine tuning problem. damn man
yes that no.6 specifically.
jfc_tech is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2004, 08:20 AM
  #8  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Ron C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Anaheim, California
Posts: 2,367
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Cat Skinner
Just got back from Vegas (Speedline 2004) and was wondering what was going on with those plugs, two of us went through about 16 plugs. All would work fine until engine was shut down then some went bad. A few lasted several tanks but would still go bad. We tried lots of stuff before we put the blame on the plugs. Changed the tank, new exhaust line, motor, carb, ect. ------ Finally got different plugs and problem was gone.

Others out there?
Cat,

That's exactly what happened to us.

We started to put two and two together when we had gone
thru about 11 plugs then ran out of #7s and #8s Turbo Plugs.
So I had no choice but to put on one of my old plugs. Well what
do you know, it lasted 2 entire qualifiers (with warm ups) and
also a few tanks of practice runs after.

Novarossi should fix this problem.
Ron C. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2004, 08:44 AM
  #9  
Tech Elite
 
stefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Bavaria, Germany
Posts: 3,274
Default

Sounds like a problem with the lower welding spot of the coil.
stefan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2004, 08:46 AM
  #10  
NCC
Tech Adept
 
NCC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Md.
Posts: 104
Default

I too was experiencing the same thing. I was actually blowing a plug for every tank of fuel I ran and had never experienced that this kind of crap before. I switched the brand and it went away. We should atleast get something back. This is getting way too expensive.
NCC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2004, 08:49 AM
  #11  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Ron C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Anaheim, California
Posts: 2,367
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by stefan
Sounds like a problem with the lower welding spot of the coil.
I agree Stephan that that is whats happening...
Since the coil seems perfect and shiny from the outside, it
should be the inside connection that is giving up on these
things. (Something we can't see when looking from the outside).
Ron C. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2004, 12:58 PM
  #12  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
Roger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,312
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Man, that's why. I went through some NovaRossi plugs for my P5 motor for my buggy at the U.S. Gas Champs. I looked at the filament to see the condition, it looked ok. I ended buying some RB plugs I went through a few of those as well.
Roger is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2004, 01:22 PM
  #13  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
Francis M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Posts: 4,719
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I hope this is sorted out soon because i can't afford to
go through 5 to 10 plugs per weekend.
Francis M. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2004, 01:42 PM
  #14  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
C Verano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cali
Posts: 3,846
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by jwf_frani
I hope this is sorted out soon because i can't afford to
go through 5 to 10 plugs per weekend.
I should be getting some plugs soon...I'll let you guys know if the problem goes away.
C Verano is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2004, 04:26 PM
  #15  
Tech Fanatic
 
PSI Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Fontana, CA
Posts: 881
Default

I just got 6 new plugs a couple of weeks ago.
I hope none of them are from that bad batch.
My brother sent them down from Washington state.
Is Novarossi reimbursing us for any bad plugs?
PSI Racing is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service