R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Old 03-01-2010, 07:24 PM   #1
Tech Rookie

Default NEWBIE NEEDS HELP ASAP WITH PURCHASE

im new to this rc car hobby and im going to be pickin up my first rc car this week. i wanna buy the new hpi rs4 drift car, but im being told that its better i buy the rs4 nitro car with 2 speed transmission and just put drift tires on it. but im also told that it wont drift the same, but i will have extra speed.

to me it seems boring just doin straight aways so im wondering if anyone has done this swap and if it was as good as the drift hpi car. any help would be appreciated thank you
jarena81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 07:27 PM   #2
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jarena81 View Post
im new to this rc car hobby and im going to be pickin up my first rc car this week. i wanna buy the new hpi rs4 drift car, but im being told that its better i buy the rs4 nitro car with 2 speed transmission and just put drift tires on it. but im also told that it wont drift the same, but i will have extra speed.

to me it seems boring just doin straight aways so im wondering if anyone has done this swap and if it was as good as the drift hpi car. any help would be appreciated thank you
I have read that its best to stick with the drift car if u want to do drifiting. The way the engine is positioned it helps. Also a two speed transmition will not work good for drifting. Hope this helps
Speedychris22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 09:05 PM   #3
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Kodak Hodak Send a message via Yahoo to Kodak Hodak Send a message via Skype™ to Kodak Hodak

Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedychris22 View Post
I have read that its best to stick with the drift car if u want to do drifiting. The way the engine is positioned it helps. Also a two speed transmition will not work good for drifting. Hope this helps