R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-16-2010, 11:41 PM   #16
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 727
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

http://www.rc-toro.com/product_info....1d5b479a0194bf

ARe you talking about this?
silverM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 04:58 AM   #17
Tech Addict
 
cheROK1212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Noneyadammy
Posts: 571
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by silverM3 View Post
__________________
...hold my 'stones.
cheROK1212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 10:06 AM   #18
Tech Addict
 
StewartFan20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Grrrrr!!!!
Posts: 693
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ccrcraceway View Post
you can just charge using a normal lipo charger no need to upgrade , i get over one hour of use without any problem . good thing is life doesnt not have a memory so u can top it up any time to be on safe side. but dont charge it at higher mah setting than what the life is rated at .
regards
Alex
Won't charging a LiFe (6.6v) battery with a LiPo (7.4v) charger over charge the LiFe battery and possibly damage it?
__________________
Devil Dog Racing | HobbyTown USA (Kansas City,North) | Fastlane Raceway | Matrix Tires

Someday, I hope to be the man my dog thinks I am.
StewartFan20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 11:53 AM   #19
Tech Fanatic
 
Alex Siddique's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central Coast , NSW Australia
Posts: 872
Trader Rating: 30 (97%+)
Send a message via MSN to Alex Siddique
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StewartFan20 View Post
Won't charging a LiFe (6.6v) battery with a LiPo (7.4v) charger over charge the LiFe battery and possibly damage it?
i have had the life rx pack for about 5 months now , that's how i charge it . no sign of any damage or shortening of its life . That is what was recommended to me by the seller. i really dont know much about them i just went with what the seller said to me . Rcmushroom.com
__________________
No Fucker's Taking my money O/s OR local :) :)
Alex Siddique is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 04:59 PM   #20
Tech Initiate
 
canduran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Istanbul
Posts: 42
Send a message via MSN to canduran
Default

Hi,
I have a LRP Pulsar 3..
So no need to buy a new charger ?
canduran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 06:13 PM   #21
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 727
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

yes, you can use Lipo charger to charge them. Not much difference
silverM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 12:57 AM   #22
Tech Champion
 
asw7576's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,792
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by silverM3 View Post
yes, you can use Lipo charger to charge them. Not much difference
Isn't that dangerous ? one, it is LiFe, second, lrp pulsar 3 and team orion advantage, they don't have balancer monitoring plug.
__________________
On Road : Xray NT1 , RX8 , T4 || Mugen Seiki MRX4-R , MTX4 , MTX3 prospec || Tamiya M03 , M04 || Top Racing Sabre FD2
Off Road : Xray XT8 || Hobao Hyper 8
Radio : Futaba 3PKS || KO propo EX-10 eurus
asw7576 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 06:49 AM   #23
Tech Elite
 
MAD916's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: La Center Seca
Posts: 3,117
Default

We have been charging sucsessfully using our hyperion and in the A123 mode.... it is 6.6v and you adjust to 1C charge rate
__________________
Timezone Raceway Park " on-road outdoor european style road course.
Timezone II 60'x100' indoor carpet track. Host of the ROAR 2011 Carpet Nat's.
Timezonehobbies.com your new source for online RC products.
MAD916 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 09:34 AM   #24
Tech Champion
 
asw7576's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,792
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MAD916 View Post
We have been charging sucsessfully using our hyperion and in the A123 mode.... it is 6.6v and you adjust to 1C charge rate
Yes, I know...... I also use hyperion 0606i charger to charge LiFe. It is do able with A123 charging mode.


What I'm asking in previous question : the human safety when charging LiFe battery with Pulsar 3 or Team Orion Advantage charger. Both chargers don't have balancer.
__________________
On Road : Xray NT1 , RX8 , T4 || Mugen Seiki MRX4-R , MTX4 , MTX3 prospec || Tamiya M03 , M04 || Top Racing Sabre FD2
Off Road : Xray XT8 || Hobao Hyper 8
Radio : Futaba 3PKS || KO propo EX-10 eurus
asw7576 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 11:09 AM   #25
Tech Elite
 
stefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Bavaria, Germany
Posts: 3,273
Send a message via AIM to stefan
Default

Just get one of those and get it over with.

Excellent charger, which covers all nitro racer's needs and much more

http://cgi.ebay.com/Imax-b6-Lipo-bat...item2eab865d2b
stefan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 12:27 PM   #26
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 611
Trader Rating: 20 (95%+)
Default

How do the Life batteries handle heat? Last season I was using lipo receiver packs in addition to a brass lipo tray and kept puffing the packs in my NT1 which I came to the conclusion that it due to the heat. I'm very familiar with lipo's so I always made sure they didn't go below 6v and always charged them at 1C. BTW, they were IP 2200 packs.
Stlfc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 07:44 AM   #27
Tech Elite
 
Rick Vessell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Mars
Posts: 2,302
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stlfc View Post
How do the Life batteries handle heat? Last season I was using lipo receiver packs in addition to a brass lipo tray and kept puffing the packs in my NT1 which I came to the conclusion that it due to the heat. I'm very familiar with lipo's so I always made sure they didn't go below 6v and always charged them at 1C. BTW, they were IP 2200 packs.
They don't seem to be affected by heat. I ran one in my 1/8 car most of last season with no issues.
Rick Vessell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2010, 09:51 PM   #28
BRC
Tech Adept
 
BRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Miri, Sarawak, Malaysia
Posts: 231
Default

In the IMAX B6 kinda chargers...
I think you can go to settings and change to Life 3.3V per cell...

Then your main menu on Lipo will change to 6.6V not 7.4V
__________________
EP Touring: Xray T4'14 / DualSky 870 combo
GP Offroad: Agama A8 / RB WS7
EP Drift: Xray T2'007 / Mamba Max
Mini: M05 Xevo conversion
Mini Z: Atomic BZ
BRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2010, 11:06 PM   #29
avs
Tech Master
 
avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,175
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick Vessell View Post
They don't seem to be affected by heat. I ran one in my 1/8 car most of last season with no issues.
is your 1/8 car a velox? if so, which battery did you find to fit the velox? the protek (from amain) or something else?

oops, just saw the date of your post. well if you catch this great. thanks in advance for info, tony
__________________
Tony Shimko
avs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 04:55 AM   #30
M7H
Tech Elite
 
M7H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,196
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BRC View Post
In the IMAX B6 kinda chargers...
I think you can go to settings and change to Life 3.3V per cell...

Then your main menu on Lipo will change to 6.6V not 7.4V
And the menu will change to "LiFe" charge, instead of "LiPo" charge.
In the main set-up menu you need to choose if you are going for:
Li-Fe 3,3V
Li-Ion, 3,6V or
Li-Po, 3,7V

I don't think people in this thread who said to charge LiFe on LiPo settings where telling the thruth, or they don't have the LiFe battery still working....

LiFe also, although it is a Lithium type battery, behave more like NiMh instead of LiPo.
A fully charged (2s) LiPo will be 8.4V, and will stay there.
A Fully charged (2s) LiFe will be charged to 7.2V but after disconnecting from the charger will drop to 6.8 or so....

I also did a check what voltage does under load of 1 Amp and compared it to a 1600 NiMh intellect pack.
I fully charged the 1600 NiMh and 1450 LiFe and the put them under load of 1A.

After about 10 minutes, the NiMh voltage dropped to 6.48V and LiFe was 6.38V
After about 20 minutes, NiMh was 6.25V, LiFe 6.38V
30 Minutes: NiMh 6.10V, Life 6.38V.....

So NiMh goes slowly down to 6V but LiFe stays on 6.4V....
I recalled these figures from what I can remember, but in big lines this is what happened....
The NiMh pack is 6 months old, so not "worn"...
__________________
Serpent

Last edited by M7H; 07-09-2010 at 05:12 AM.
M7H is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LIFE RX BATTERIES??? matrixmike28 Nitro Off-Road 65 03-09-2013 09:05 PM
lipo rx pack versus nimh rx pack zixxer Nitro Off-Road 6 11-03-2008 06:23 PM
Losi Lipo Rx Pack xrayrc Nitro Off-Road 15 03-10-2008 12:24 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:28 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net