Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road
I Messed Up My Engine Bolt Screws! Plz Help! >

I Messed Up My Engine Bolt Screws! Plz Help!

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

I Messed Up My Engine Bolt Screws! Plz Help!

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-2004, 05:28 PM
Tech Initiate

Exclamation I Messed Up My Engine Bolt Screws! Plz Help!

...i cant believe this is happening...i am so ticked off. When i tried to unscrew my engine bolt screws, i messed up one of the screws. The grove is completely gone, and i cant take it out, especially with the red thread lock.

WHAT CAN I DO?! IS MY CAR DESTROYED?!

sigh..this is my first time and ive solved whole bunch of problems before this, but this one has really pissed me off bad...and the track opens tommorow!! ..ive been waiting for this day for ages and now i totally ruined my car....

the pics are here:http://ca.f2.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/...&.dnm=484b.jpg

http://ca.f2.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/...9a.jpg&.view=t

sorry about the unclear pics..i couldnt egt a good shot with my camera, it was too close...

PLEASE HELP ME ASAP!
Old 03-19-2004, 05:36 PM
Tech Addict

Easy!! Just get a Dremel too ith a cutoff wheel and make one big slot using one of the existing two slots for the Phillips screw. Then get a big flat blade screwdriver that fits the slot well and unscrew it. Here's the important part many people don't do... Take that screw and throw it as far into the bushes as you can! It was bad luck and you don't want any part of it, just get a new screw

NOTE: If that fails you can always drill with a drill bit the size of the threads until the head comes off of the screw. Once the chassis separates you can grab the remainder with a pair of vice grips and unscrew it.
Old 03-19-2004, 05:58 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default bolt