R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Old 12-06-2009, 07:50 AM   #1
Tech Initiate

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Picco offset

Hello everyone. I am new to 1/8 onroad, I bought a couple of Picco Integra's on E-bay and am working on outfitting them for next season. I will be running them primarily on a HUGE paved Oval at the Marion County Fairgrounds, In Indianapolis, IN. : http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x.../track-now.jpg

Anywho, I was shopping E-bay, and came across some tires for 1/8 onroad. The ad said the wheels were "Picco offset" Can someone explain what this is exactly? Also are Serpent wheels different than Picco? What wheels are interchangable from brand to brand?( like Picco, Mugen, Motonica, Kyosho, Etc....)Thanks for the help, Mark
basketcase45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2009, 10:46 AM   #2
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)

Picco used a unique offset, nothing else is the same. If I remember right, either the old Serpent fronts or Mugen fronts fit fine though. Rears were different.
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2009, 11:12 AM   #3
Tech Initiate

Ok that helps some. Exactly what is this offset? Which way is it offset? WHY is it offset? Will other brand wheels work on my car? And Are picco different from Serpent wheels? What is the difference? Sorry so many Q's, I am doing the learning curve on these cars.

Any insight to making one of these cars OVAL specific?
basketcase45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2009, 11:22 AM   #4
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)

Offset is the distance between the rear mounting surface of the wheel and the inside edge of the wheel.