Wiki Posts
Search

HELP!! HPI RS4 3Evo question

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-2009, 06:20 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default HELP!! HPI RS4 3Evo question

I recently purchased a rs4 3 evo that has had approx 10 tanks thru it. Stk engine. There is no hesitation and I believe I have it tuned correctly, new to nitro though but old to the hobby. I am having trouble flaming out. Mostly in wot in a hairpin turn or under full braking. I have since taken a piece of fuel tubing and mounted the tank so it was like mounted in rubber to help stop foaming....maybe it will help, havent gotten to try it yet it got dark on me.
Second problem is I cant detect any shifting into second. the adjuster was very tight. I backed it off almost 3 turns and still nothing. Like I said I'm new to nitro so I am just hoping for a helping hand so I dont mess something up
Old 10-10-2009, 06:33 PM
Tech Regular

Originally Posted by Soundstream
I recently purchased a rs4 3 evo that has had approx 10 tanks thru it. Stk engine. There is no hesitation and I believe I have it tuned correctly, new to nitro though but old to the hobby. I am having trouble flaming out. Mostly in wot in a hairpin turn or under full braking. I have since taken a piece of fuel tubing and mounted the tank so it was like mounted in rubber to help stop foaming....maybe it will help, havent gotten to try it yet it got dark on me.
Second problem is I cant detect any shifting into second. the adjuster was very tight. I backed it off almost 3 turns and still nothing. Like I said I'm new to nitro so I am just hoping for a helping hand so I dont mess something up

When it flames out, how hot is it?
Old 10-10-2009, 06:46 PM
Tech Adept

about 195 according to my duratrax temp gun
Old 10-13-2009, 09:06 PM
Tech Adept

Think I figured it out, changed glow plug to med since its cooler out and found my header nuts backed off slightly, probably changing mixture some as it moved on those hard turns.
Old 10-14-2009, 06:46 AM