R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-08-2004, 10:38 AM   #76
Tech Fanatic
 
HELLION's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 802
Default Hmmmmmmmmm!

Don't know what EP is but pretty much any motor that drives a electric car will do or even a electric screwdriver motor . If you where to take a elec. motor and hook it up to a volt meter then spin it with a drill the motor will produce voltage just like a generator . Anyway Ill throw one together tonight and post the pictures so you can see it
HELLION is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2004, 09:16 PM   #77
Tech Fanatic
 
HELLION's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 802
Default pics!!!

Ok guys I threw this together in a hour because I wanted to test it before dark! That said you should really take your time and build a nice one . I normally put a airplane prop on the gas engine to cool it down. If you use lets say a 9x6 prop then you can lock your throttle wide open it can't over rev with that kind of a load (great for breaking in new engines) If you choose not to use a prop then make the tests quick and atleast use a fan to cool it down. If something goes wrong and its over reving then just block the exhaust and shut it off DO NOT RUN YOUR ENGINE WITH OUT SOME KIND OF LOAD!!!! In one pic the engine is not running but it is turnning over with the starter motor and you can see the voltage this is a good test to see if its working
Attached Images
File Type: jpg imga3668.jpg (43.1 KB, 267 views)
HELLION is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2004, 09:16 PM   #78
Tech Fanatic
 
HELLION's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 802
Default 2 of three

a nother one
Attached Images
File Type: jpg imga3669.psd.jpg (67.1 KB, 223 views)
HELLION is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2004, 09:17 PM   #79
Tech Fanatic
 
HELLION's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 802
Default one more

last one
Attached Images
File Type: jpg imga3665.jpg (66.9 KB, 209 views)
HELLION is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2004, 09:44 PM   #80
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,208
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default Re: one more

Quote:
Originally posted by HELLION
last one
how do you rate the hp ?
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2004, 09:50 PM   #81
Tech Fanatic
 
revzalot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Nor * Cal
Posts: 958
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Hellion,

Please look at the diagram I've uploaded. So all you do is connect the nitro motor to the slave motor via belt?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg edyno.jpg (48.3 KB, 217 views)
__________________
www.revzalotmotorsports.com
revzalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2004, 10:27 PM   #82
Tech Fanatic
 
HELLION's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 802
Default Horse power????

To answer your question Marcos: This is a very crude dyno It wont tell you horse power its just a way of testing your engine with a load on it. The more voltage it produces the more power it has. As far as horse power rating I truely don't believe any .12 engine can produce 1 full horse power! They just dont have the torque to pull that much power I have done a lot of testing on this and have come up with this conclusion !!! I also have seen the high buck dynos and if the test was accurate they had the same results as I and engine companies started saying there engines where producing more then one HP are getting away with it do to the fact that there is not a way of proving them wrong even thowe they can't prove they do produce that much power! I hope that someone reads this and can prove me wrong but I dought it
HELLION is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2004, 10:29 PM   #83
Tech Fanatic
 
HELLION's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 802
Default revs!!!

Yes revs that looks like the same thing only it tests electric motors
HELLION is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2004, 11:48 PM   #84
Tech Fanatic
 
revzalot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Nor * Cal
Posts: 958
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

But if you hooked up a nitro engine to the slave motor then we got a Nitro Dyno right?
__________________
www.revzalotmotorsports.com
revzalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2004, 12:37 AM   #85
Tech Fanatic
 
HELLION's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 802
Default yep!!!

You got it Rev
HELLION is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2004, 01:02 AM   #86
Tech Fanatic
 
revzalot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Nor * Cal
Posts: 958
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Here's the web site I got the picture from. engine dyno
__________________
www.revzalotmotorsports.com
revzalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2004, 03:59 AM   #87
Tech Master
 
mop_iko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: JOHOR BAHRU, MALAYSIA but now working in SHANGHAI
Posts: 1,797
Default thanks guys!

after viewing all the pictures from HELLION and the link provided by REV... i think i got a better picture and idea on how to make a DYNO for myself.... and i dont know how HELLION can do a DYNO within an hour!!!! whoaaaa!!!

thanks guys!

and now i know the DYNO that we are making is not displaying any HP reading. Its just displaying voltage on the volt meter and before we do the MODs on our engine we need to do some PRE-MOD reading on the DYNO so that we know how much POWER GAIN we acquire.

am i right?

mop
mop_iko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2004, 06:35 AM   #88
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,208
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default Re: Horse power????

Quote:
Originally posted by HELLION
To answer your question Marcos: This is a very crude dyno It wont tell you horse power its just a way of testing your engine with a load on it. The more voltage it produces the more power it has. As far as horse power rating I truely don't believe any .12 engine can produce 1 full horse power! They just dont have the torque to pull that much power I have done a lot of testing on this and have come up with this conclusion !!! I also have seen the high buck dynos and if the test was accurate they had the same results as I and engine companies started saying there engines where producing more then one HP are getting away with it do to the fact that there is not a way of proving them wrong even thowe they can't prove they do produce that much power! I hope that someone reads this and can prove me wrong but I dought it
thanks HELLION
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2004, 07:27 AM   #89
Tech Master
 
mop_iko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: JOHOR BAHRU, MALAYSIA but now working in SHANGHAI
Posts: 1,797
Default what is load actually?

i look back in HELLION PICTURE and also i donwloaded a DYNO SHEET in the web link provided by REV... in the DYNO SHEET also it mentioned about LOAD.


what is the LOAD mentioned?


in HELLION's picture what is that LOAD actually?





thanks!


mop
Attached Images
File Type: jpg what is load.jpg (103.4 KB, 157 views)
mop_iko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2004, 07:31 AM   #90
Tech Master
 
mop_iko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: JOHOR BAHRU, MALAYSIA but now working in SHANGHAI
Posts: 1,797
Default load part 2

here is a pic from hellion.

in this pic hellion marked the VOLT METER as LOAD.... but why the volt meter as load? is the volt meter as a POWER READER?



mop
Attached Images
File Type: jpg what is load2.jpg (51.3 KB, 144 views)
mop_iko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
modifying motors compcast Rookie Zone 3 07-08-2006 08:25 AM
Modifying a 19 turn? 4ou Electric On-Road 2 06-19-2005 11:24 PM
Modifying Thread mafiaracers Electric On-Road 9 08-21-2004 04:10 PM
Engine Modifying Services eddiethefish Nitro On-Road 49 09-01-2003 11:28 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:59 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net