R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-24-2009, 07:29 AM   #1
Tech Addict
 
NitroWD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 622
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default droop and height

hi guys,
just wana confirm a couple of issues regarding droop and ride height:

1. ride height is independent of droop settings. ride height shouldn't change with different droop settings right?

2. when yr car is sitting on its tires, the droop screws shouldn't be touching the chassis right?

thanks.
__________________
* Earth's fate depends on what we do TODAY... *
+ Earth got all the time in the world; but we DON'T... +
NitroWD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 07:39 AM   #2
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Correct.

Many noobs make the mistake of setting ride height with the droop screws. Big mistake.

Also, if you make a big ride height change, you may need to change your droop settings as well to compensate.

#2 is generally correct but there are rare instances when you might want almost no droop. Then the screws might be touching but have no real tension on them.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 07:47 AM   #3
Tech Addict
 
NitroWD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 622
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

great! thanks...
so i've been doing the 'right' things.
__________________
* Earth's fate depends on what we do TODAY... *
+ Earth got all the time in the world; but we DON'T... +
NitroWD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 08:08 AM   #4
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 6,280
Send a message via ICQ to Roelof
Default

In realscale racing there is a setup called pre-tension where the spring gets a pre-tension on the droop setting. While driving the downforce will move the suspension from the droopsetting.

But indeed the rideheight is always set with the springnut and the droopsetting is normally set without any shocks connected.
Setting a rideheigt to the size of a tire would think you have to change the droopsetting as well, I only change the upstops to it.
And if you ar a setup nerd you know you have to change/correct the camber as well when changing the rideheight.
__________________
The quality of an answer comes with the quality of the question.
Roelof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 08:11 AM   #5
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roelof View Post
In realscale racing there is a setup called pre-tension where the spring gets a pre-tension on the droop setting. While driving the downforce will move the suspension from the droopsetting.
This is sometimes done with pan car front ends too.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 08:50 AM   #6
Tech Champion
 
nitrodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oxnard, CA
Posts: 5,845
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Dont forget to remove the sway bar before setting droop.
__________________
Steven Muller
AKA El Pibe RUFAST? HAHA!!!
Ronin Speed Parts
nitrodude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 09:19 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Pattojnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Perth Australia
Posts: 4,594
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

many people do it all different to each other. i personally use droop blocks.
but it can be done with the tires on and sway bars on. droop over ride hieght.
but it all changes one the tires wear thats where electric drivers on rubbers have a hard time with nitro. another thing to worry about.... tire wear
__________________
Serpent - Walter RC
Serpent E Power ..... Serpent 747 Reds M3T
Serpent 966-TE Reds M7T .... S411ERYX Speedpassion 3.5T, T-Shox
Serpent 811-TE REDs R5T
Pattojnr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 10:49 AM   #8
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NitroWD View Post
hi guys,
just wana confirm a couple of issues regarding droop and ride height:

1. ride height is independent of droop settings. ride height shouldn't change with different droop settings right?

2. when yr car is sitting on its tires, the droop screws shouldn't be touching the chassis right?

thanks.
also go to the nt1 setup book and it will help you under stand what everything is. http://www.teamxray.com/teamxray/pro...ria=0&catName=
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 03:08 PM   #9
Tech Adept
 
batto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 100
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pattojnr View Post
many people do it all different to each other. i personally use droop blocks.
but it can be done with the tires on and sway bars on. droop over ride hieght.
but it all changes one the tires wear thats where electric drivers on rubbers have a hard time with nitro. another thing to worry about.... tire wear
Hey Patto droop does not change as the tyres wear and ride height lowers due to this wear. It will only change if the ride height is changed by adjusting shock collars, As this changes the arm angle. Sorry if I have misunderstood you.
__________________
Shepherd Velox V 10 (Very Very Soon) - Novarossi powered
Futaba 4pk
Matrix tyres
Liquid Speed Fuels
www.tracksiderc.com.au
batto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2009, 02:02 AM   #10
Tech Addict
 
keavze's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 590
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pattojnr View Post
many people do it all different to each other. i personally use droop blocks.
but it can be done with the tires on and sway bars on. droop over ride hieght.
but it all changes one the tires wear thats where electric drivers on rubbers have a hard time with nitro. another thing to worry about.... tire wear
2mm on the droop blocks: will it be same as follows:-?

place car without tires on the setup board, adjust droop screws till lowest point of the wheel hubs are 2mm above the setup board...
__________________
>>> the "SNAKE" doesn't bite; it STINGS! <<<
keavze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2009, 08:52 AM   #11
Tech Addict
 
NitroWD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 622
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by keavze View Post
2mm on the droop blocks: will it be same as follows:-?

place car without tires on the setup board, adjust droop screws till lowest point of the wheel hubs are 2mm above the setup board...
yes, it's the same.
__________________
* Earth's fate depends on what we do TODAY... *
+ Earth got all the time in the world; but we DON'T... +
NitroWD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 11:48 PM   #12
Tech Adept
 
sukh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Guelph Ont Canada
Posts: 108
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by batto View Post
Hey Patto droop does not change as the tyres wear and ride height lowers due to this wear. It will only change if the ride height is changed by adjusting shock collars, As this changes the arm angle. Sorry if I have misunderstood you.
This is not true, your droop value changes as the tires wear down, thats why you have to re-adjust your droop after every run. you will loose droop and and ride hight as your tire's wear down unless your running rubber tires than it will not change much.
__________________
Can West RC
Xray canada
Fastcats
Bawdy Shop
Express Motorsports
sukh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 12:31 AM   #13
Tech Initiate
 
QuiXoTic_NL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by keavze View Post
2mm on the droop blocks: will it be same as follows:-?

place car without tires on the setup board, adjust droop screws till lowest point of the wheel hubs are 2mm above the setup board...
Correct, but this method gets very difficult when using 0mm drop or less.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sukh View Post
your droop value changes as the tires wear down, thats why you have to re-adjust your droop after every run. you will loose droop and and ride hight as your tire's wear down
Droop is how far the suspension can travel downwards relative to the chassis. This is typically measured with the chassis on blocks, without tyres on. Please explain how droop would change with tyre wear.
QuiXoTic_NL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 01:02 AM   #14
Tech Adept
 
sukh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Guelph Ont Canada
Posts: 108
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by QuiXoTic_NL View Post
Correct, but this method gets very difficult when using 0mm drop or less.



Droop is how far the suspension can travel downwards relative to the chassis. This is typically measured with the chassis on blocks, without tyres on. Please explain how droop would change with tyre wear.
If you shooting for say 2mm droop or 2mm uptravel, after 1 run if you loose 1 mm on your tires how much up travel will you have before your tire lift off the ground? 1mm, so you lost 1mm of droop.

Yes you are right, droop is how far your suspention can travel downwards relative to the chassis but to maintain your value you will have to re-adjust after every run due to tire wear
__________________
Can West RC
Xray canada
Fastcats
Bawdy Shop
Express Motorsports
sukh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 01:33 AM   #15
Tech Fanatic
 
Alex Siddique's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central Coast , NSW Australia
Posts: 872
Trader Rating: 30 (97%+)
Send a message via MSN to Alex Siddique
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sukh View Post
If you shooting for say 2mm droop or 2mm uptravel, after 1 run if you loose 1 mm on your tires how much up travel will you have before your tire lift off the ground? 1mm, so you lost 1mm of droop.

Yes you are right, droop is how far your suspention can travel downwards relative to the chassis but to maintain your value you will have to re-adjust after every run due to tire wear
This is very right in a way , the droop value you set with your droop block never changes ,be it what every size of tire you run. How ever you static droop values changes as your tires wear .This value is related to how much wear the tires have gone trough and where you camber linkage are mounted and what roll center block you are using. an example of maximum static droop value changing is when you run the lowest rear or front roll center . you will notice a lot of what you guys are referring to as droop changing. when you use a higher roll center you see less static droop changing . My terms/wording might not be same as books or as other guys use but i believe the concept is right . Feel free to correct me . knowledge is never a waste in rc .
cheers
alex
p.s ur static droop increase as your tire wears feel free to pm me if i am making sense
__________________
No Fucker's Taking my money O/s OR local :) :)

Last edited by Alex Siddique; 08-28-2009 at 03:22 AM.
Alex Siddique is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone Frank McKinney Electric On-Road 19762 07-26-2017 11:42 PM
5280 Raceway - Colorado On Road RC Club (CORRC) SlamMan Colorado Racing 21404 05-01-2017 08:55 PM
Tamiya TRF415 JDM_DOHC_SiR Electric On-Road 21094 03-10-2016 12:02 PM
New ACADEMY 1/10 scale 2WD BUGGY rcforum Electric Off-Road 3794 09-30-2013 08:57 AM
Setting rebound on Jammin X1-CR WeatherB Nitro Off-Road 15 07-18-2009 12:24 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:19 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net