R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-28-2009, 01:44 AM   #16
Tech Fanatic
 
Alex Siddique's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central Coast , NSW Australia
Posts: 872
Trader Rating: 30 (97%+)
Send a message via MSN to Alex Siddique
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NitroWD View Post
hi guys,
just wana confirm a couple of issues regarding droop and ride height:

1. ride height is independent of droop settings. ride height shouldn't change with different droop settings right?
[COLOR="Red"]if you go past a certain point screwing your droop screw in , it can reduce your ride height. in that case no matter how tight you go on your shock spring nut u will not increase ride height , you have to undo the droop to go higher in ride height. ride height , droop , roll center , camber and camber rise , static droop they all are related in some way or other . /COLOR]

2. when yr car is sitting on its tires, the droop screws shouldn't be touching the chassis right?
it should only touch if you are running no droop at all . and that all depend on the track set up.
thanks.
answer in red droop and down stop are related yet so different.
Droop refers to the amount that the chassis travels downward after the car is dropped
and the wheels touch the ground; it is also the amount that the chassis travels upward
before the wheels lift from the ground.
__________________
No Fucker's Taking my money O/s OR local :) :)

Last edited by Alex Siddique; 08-28-2009 at 04:48 AM.
Alex Siddique is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 03:13 AM   #17
Tech Adept
 
batto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 100
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by QuiXoTic_NL View Post
Correct, but this method gets very difficult when using 0mm drop or less.



Droop is how far the suspension can travel downwards relative to the chassis. This is typically measured with the chassis on blocks, without tyres on. Please explain how droop would change with tyre wear.
I agree with you Quixotic, Droop cant change with tyre wear as the lower arm angle stays the same as the tyres wear. The chassis lowers as one with the arms hence keeping the droop the same. How ever if you then adjust the shock collars to regain your ride height you have now changed the droop. As you screw down the collar the chassis raises and the lower arm angle starts to change moving the droop screw closer to the chassis this is the same in reverse. I do see a number of people on club days check their ride height after their heats and make adjustments to the shock collars to bring the car back up to their starting ride height they then neglect to re do the droop and by the 3rd heat or so the car starts to loop as they slowly run out of droop. When they then put the same size tyres back on the car that they started the day with and readjust the collars to give them the original ride height hey presto they have the droop back that they started the day with and in turn their handling.
__________________
Shepherd Velox V 10 (Very Very Soon) - Novarossi powered
Futaba 4pk
Matrix tyres
Liquid Speed Fuels
www.tracksiderc.com.au

Last edited by batto; 08-28-2009 at 03:28 AM.
batto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 04:36 AM   #18
Tech Elite
 
Pattojnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Perth Australia
Posts: 4,594
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by batto View Post
I agree with you Quixotic, Droop cant change with tyre wear as the lower arm angle stays the same as the tyres wear. The chassis lowers as one with the arms hence keeping the droop the same. How ever if you then adjust the shock collars to regain your ride height you have now changed the droop. As you screw down the collar the chassis raises and the lower arm angle starts to change moving the droop screw closer to the chassis this is the same in reverse. I do see a number of people on club days check their ride height after their heats and make adjustments to the shock collars to bring the car back up to their starting ride height they then neglect to re do the droop and by the 3rd heat or so the car starts to loop as they slowly run out of droop. When they then put the same size tyres back on the car that they started the day with and readjust the collars to give them the original ride height hey presto they have the droop back that they started the day with and in turn their handling.
yes that is right. you cannot adjust the collars as droop will change. but what does droop effect ? you run 40 fronts and 38 rears.... rear tyre wear will be more than the front. so initial setting of droop must allow for the tire wear in a longer main. this is what i was mentioning about before. when tyres wear things change. while your droop may not, tires do. and if the ride hieght changes from front to rear, so to does the transfer of weight. this is what i was suggesting, not so much a value change of droop.
__________________
Serpent - Walter RC
Serpent E Power ..... Serpent 747 Reds M3T
Serpent 966-TE Reds M7T .... S411ERYX Speedpassion 3.5T, T-Shox
Serpent 811-TE REDs R5T
Pattojnr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 04:45 AM   #19
Tech Elite
 
Pattojnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Perth Australia
Posts: 4,594
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by QuiXoTic_NL View Post
Correct, but this method gets very difficult when using 0mm drop or less.
its quite easy. place 2mm shims on the setup board, then put the chassis on them. now make the hubs touch the board. you now have -2 droop.
__________________
Serpent - Walter RC
Serpent E Power ..... Serpent 747 Reds M3T
Serpent 966-TE Reds M7T .... S411ERYX Speedpassion 3.5T, T-Shox
Serpent 811-TE REDs R5T
Pattojnr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 11:49 AM   #20
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 937
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

So with what everyone is saying, that for every mm of ride height, you bascially have to add 1 mm of droop?
VA_Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 03:32 PM   #21
Tech Initiate
 
QuiXoTic_NL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pattojnr View Post
its quite easy. place 2mm shims on the setup board, then put the chassis on them. now make the hubs touch the board. you now have -2 droop.
You're absolutely right. Although it feels like cheeting, because now you are still placing the car on 'blocks'

Quote:
Originally Posted by VA_Racer View Post
So with what everyone is saying, that for every mm of ride height, you bascially have to add 1 mm of droop?
Yes, if you want your setup to stay more or less the same. Although, as mentioned before, changing your ride height also affects rollcenter and camber.
QuiXoTic_NL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 04:51 PM   #22
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 937
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Also the higher number on the gauge means less droop?
VA_Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 07:32 PM   #23
Tech Addict
 
NitroWD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 622
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VA_Racer View Post
Also the higher number on the gauge means less droop?
__________________
* Earth's fate depends on what we do TODAY... *
+ Earth got all the time in the world; but we DON'T... +
NitroWD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 09:46 PM   #24
Tech Regular
 
jameslow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Somewhere?????
Posts: 381
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

GD info here!...Learn something again! haha!
__________________
Waiting!
jameslow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2009, 12:01 AM   #25
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Pasir Ris
Posts: 81
Default

So can someone tell me how to change ride height and droop settings? Its a little confusing here..
AdrianOngs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2009, 12:14 AM   #26
Tech Addict
 
keavze's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 590
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdrianOngs View Post
So can someone tell me how to change ride height and droop settings? Its a little confusing here..
Refer to #8 on the setup book.
__________________
>>> the "SNAKE" doesn't bite; it STINGS! <<<
keavze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2009, 12:55 AM   #27
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Pasir Ris
Posts: 81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by keavze View Post
Refer to #8 on the setup book.
Set-up book from?
AdrianOngs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2009, 01:08 AM   #28
Tech Elite
 
Pattojnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Perth Australia
Posts: 4,594
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdrianOngs View Post
So can someone tell me how to change ride height and droop settings? Its a little confusing here..
if you use a setup system, then you will need to have a starting set of tyres.
so if you run them out of the box, and true for a front split, then put them on the car. now set your ride hieghts (by shock Collars) . remove your tyres. remove the bottoms of the shocks of the arms and disconnect sway bars.
if you use droop blocks, then place them under the chassis. say you want to run 1 front and 3 rear, then there are small grub screws in the lower rear arms, or at the front on the sway bar or front of bulkhead. adjust the screws so left to right values are even. then do the same for the rear. reconnect your swaybars, recheck the values, if it has changed, then one of the bars are holdign up a hub, adjust the sway bar till back on droop values. refit the shocks, again recheck , as one shock may have a different length and can hold up a hub. now fit your setup system and set your cambers, and toe.

one suggestion, if your racing on a budget, try to get 5 sets of tyres,
set your car up for the full size tyres. run them down to about 60mm, roughly 4mm of tyre wear. then remove those tyresand fit new set.

now keep all those tyres you pulled off. true them up so they are even left to right , and again the split front to back. so now say 60 rears and 59 or 58 fronts. go through the above setup process again, but fit the smaller tyres first. then the car should feel the same on the smaller tyres as when you started on full tyres. but when running them small you might have to go a smaller spur gear or you will loose top end.
__________________
Serpent - Walter RC
Serpent E Power ..... Serpent 747 Reds M3T
Serpent 966-TE Reds M7T .... S411ERYX Speedpassion 3.5T, T-Shox
Serpent 811-TE REDs R5T
Pattojnr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 08:45 PM   #29
Tech Master
 
grub's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,021
Default

This is the correct way, because by changing the tyre diameter you do not change the angles of the arms, therefore the travel distance is the same. The downstop setting needs to be adjusted only when you change the ride height by changing the tension of the springs, because then the arms get more or less angled and their travel distance changes.
hope this helps
__________________
This is my xray nt1!
There are many other xray nt1's like it, but this one is mine!
Without my xray nt1,I am nothing!
Without me, my xray nt1 is nothing!
pop corn anyone or maybe some fairy floss

Last edited by grub; 09-03-2009 at 10:06 PM.
grub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 12:22 AM   #30
Tech Adept
 
batto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 100
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grub View Post
This is the correct way, because by changing the tyre diameter you do not change the angles of the arms, therefore the travel distance is the same. The downstop setting needs to be adjusted only when you change the ride height by changing the tension of the springs, because then the arms get more or less angled and their travel distance changes.
hope this helps
Exactly Grub. As Pattojnr states is correct. Just make sure you do it in the right order ie: Ride height first then the droop setting after the ride height is set.
__________________
Shepherd Velox V 10 (Very Very Soon) - Novarossi powered
Futaba 4pk
Matrix tyres
Liquid Speed Fuels
www.tracksiderc.com.au
batto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone Frank McKinney Electric On-Road 19762 07-26-2017 11:42 PM
5280 Raceway - Colorado On Road RC Club (CORRC) SlamMan Colorado Racing 21404 05-01-2017 08:55 PM
Tamiya TRF415 JDM_DOHC_SiR Electric On-Road 21094 03-10-2016 12:02 PM
New ACADEMY 1/10 scale 2WD BUGGY rcforum Electric Off-Road 3794 09-30-2013 08:57 AM
Setting rebound on Jammin X1-CR WeatherB Nitro Off-Road 15 07-18-2009 12:24 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:40 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net