R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-19-2009, 03:09 PM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Default Nitro Acclerates by Itself

Hey guys, I have a Nitro RS4 3. I got it about 4 years ago, but stopped playing it until about a week ago. The reason i stopped was because the clutch was broken, but i went and replaced that. Anyways, i've played about a lil over 10 tanks and its been running like new until recently. It started yesterday, and basically the car would accelerate at full throttle by itself. I thought maybe the low and high end needle were out of tune so i read up on it and tried to tune it myself. That didnt solve the problem. I made sure to get it back to the specs it were before i touched it because im far from good at this hobby yet. Anyways, i was wondering if anyone had any idea how to solve this problem because i want to get back to playing again! lol. Thanks in advance.
silentxnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 05:15 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
impalabob64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: florida
Posts: 1,464
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to impalabob64
Default Hey

Quote:
Originally Posted by silentxnight View Post
Hey guys, I have a Nitro RS4 3. I got it about 4 years ago, but stopped playing it until about a week ago. The reason i stopped was because the clutch was broken, but i went and replaced that. Anyways, i've played about a lil over 10 tanks and its been running like new until recently. It started yesterday, and basically the car would accelerate at full throttle by itself. I thought maybe the low and high end needle were out of tune so i read up on it and tried to tune it myself. That didnt solve the problem. I made sure to get it back to the specs it were before i touched it because im far from good at this hobby yet. Anyways, i was wondering if anyone had any idea how to solve this problem because i want to get back to playing again! lol. Thanks in advance.
Make shore your clutch shoes havent come apart,also check your idle ,your radio settings too.
__________________
RoninRc.com
MurnanModifiedMotors
Basher BT-4
impalabob64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 10:38 PM   #3
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for replying, i checked the idle and its not that. i can turn it all the way in and itll still accelerate on its own. I dont think its the radio settings either. My first thought was that the batteries for the receivers were dead, but i changed them out and still the same. I guess its the clutch. How would i go about checking it? is it hard to do? i havent touched this thing in well over 4 years...im afraid i dont remember how to fix it. Could anyone give me a quick step by step in trying to get to the clutch. Thanks.
silentxnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 10:48 PM   #4
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Default

nevermind. i think you are right about the clutch shoes. I searched up some videos on youtube and it looks fairly simple. Will try to fix it tomorrow. Thanks.
silentxnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 12:39 AM   #5
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 320
Default

you can maybe check the throttle servo and see if it is still good?!
LAM3SAUCE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 11:47 AM   #6
Tech Initiate
 
lethalsassonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 37
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

If your engine is racing and not idling then u are too lean. But u said u checked the needles, so maybe there's an airleak, there's too much air in the chamber and that's making it too lean, the engine sounds like it's all or nothing. I had the same problem with an OS motor, and I gave up and just bought a new one. Listen if it's not a simple airleak, replacing engine parts can be half the price of a new engine, or the same price as buying a used one that is in good condition. So consider getting another motor if repairs and adjustments aren't working.
__________________
Cars: Tamiya TRF 417x, HPI Ken Block WR8, EREVO Brushless
Heli's: Blade 300x, Blade 130x, Blade mcpx BL
lethalsassonic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 04:20 AM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
nazwenhome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 977
Trader Rating: 33 (97%+)
Default

here is some of my thoughts,
if the clutch came loose? during idle, yr kit will move but just enough or slowly pick up speed on the ground.
if its a leak? im sure its a nasty hole that caused this. of course, lotsa fuel dripping out.
if its the throttle servo, u can see carburetor opening initially if its too big or the servo just like to be at open throttle position or low battery.

if as soon as u start your engine,it launch off full speed, on the ground then u better check with local hobby shop for careful inspection.
__________________
Serpent S411 TE : ready to race
Tamiya TA05 VDF : sleeping mode
Align 450 sports v2 : tick-tock in progress
nazwenhome is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:58 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net