R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-10-2009, 06:55 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
chromie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 209
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Weight Balance

What can I use to measure weight balance on my 1/8th onroad cars?
I have a Serpent 960 and a MRX4X.
chromie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 06:58 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
clmbia45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: las vegas, nv
Posts: 366
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chromie View Post
What can I use to measure weight balance on my 1/8th onroad cars?
I have a Serpent 960 and a MRX4X.
"Digital Weight Distribution Gauge" by Integy. Check with them about your specific application.

www.integy.com
clmbia45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 07:31 PM   #3
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 221
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clmbia45 View Post
"Digital Weight Distribution Gauge" by Integy. Check with them about your specific application.

www.integy.com
I don't see that product on their website, do they still make that?
yappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 07:38 PM   #4
Tech Adept
 
chromie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 209
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Umm.. could I perhaps use the HUDY balance tool?
chromie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 11:24 PM   #5
Tech Fanatic
 
nazwenhome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 977
Trader Rating: 33 (97%+)
Default

just to share some findings. im not sure if its suitable to use X-ray nt1 tweak method, refer their setup book online. doesnt need much tools or get any value for balancing weight, but it will balance your chassis by tuning spring preload collar and anti roll bar.

just my 2 cents
__________________
Serpent S411 TE : ready to race
Tamiya TA05 VDF : sleeping mode
Align 450 sports v2 : tick-tock in progress
nazwenhome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 12:24 AM   #6
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 6,284
Send a message via ICQ to Roelof
Default

If you just want to get balance use a tweakboard, if you want real weights get 4 pocket scales of 1kg.

__________________
The quality of an answer comes with the quality of the question.
Roelof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 01:01 AM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
nazwenhome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 977
Trader Rating: 33 (97%+)
Default

i like that idea
__________________
Serpent S411 TE : ready to race
Tamiya TA05 VDF : sleeping mode
Align 450 sports v2 : tick-tock in progress
nazwenhome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 04:38 AM   #8
Tech Master
 
freestyles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,118
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yappy View Post
I don't see that product on their website, do they still make that?
I couldn't find it either

Quote:
Originally Posted by chromie View Post
Umm.. could I perhaps use the HUDY balance tool?
The hudy balancing tools are good but they will only tell you which way your chassis is balancing, to the left or to the right not what's at each corner or backwards and forwards. And can only be used if your chassis has two very small holes at the front and rear of the chassis for the point of the balance tool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roelof View Post
If you just want to get balance use a tweakboard, if you want real weights get 4 pocket scales of 1kg.


Roelof, do you have to have your shocks disconnected to weigh each corner properly? And where did you get those scales and how much were they?
__________________
This public service announcement was brought to you by the letter "B" and the number "9". Thanks for watching.
freestyles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 06:39 AM   #9
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 6,284
Send a message via ICQ to Roelof
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by freestyles View Post

Roelof, do you have to have your shocks disconnected to weigh each corner properly? And where did you get those scales and how much were they?
On this picture the car is standing on setup blocks and without the shocks you can see the balance in the anti rollbar.

These scales were bought for 12 euro a piece at a gadgetshop.
__________________
The quality of an answer comes with the quality of the question.
Roelof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 07:09 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Corona Ca.
Posts: 2,834
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default Weight balance

Try American weigh.com
__________________
[COLOR="Red"][FONT="Comic Sans MS"][/FONT][/COLOR]BRC358http://www.kamikazercracing.com
nearest barstool
brc358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Schumacher Mi4 Woz Electric On-Road 3944 11-15-2017 07:21 AM
1/10th pan car Taz_S Oval, Larger Scales and More 16138 09-25-2014 10:03 AM
Xray T2'007 Joep Electric On-Road 4185 07-07-2014 09:22 AM
how can i check the weight balance on my car.. help! capturefx Electric On-Road 25 03-22-2013 04:02 PM
GT10 Class JimmyMac Electric On-Road 886 09-07-2010 04:55 AM
RC equipments for Sale ijnek Malaysian R/C Racers 22836 09-09-2009 02:50 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:13 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net