R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-20-2004, 05:50 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Ducati-Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: California Central Coast
Posts: 458
Default NTC3 Pull Start on an AE starter box ~ Will it work?

Been running electric and finally got the nitro bug. Found a pull start (PS) NTC3 and need to know if the AE starter box works on a PS engine. I got the starter box with my second NPS NTC3 and it works fine with the NPS, but seems to bog or drag on the PS stock engine. Are the flywheels different sizes that interfere with the starter box drive wheel?

Gotta tell ya, ain't been the same since I pulled the trigger on a nitro
Ducati-Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2004, 06:26 PM   #2
Tech Addict
 
thefuzzclub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 704
Default

you have to change the engine mount and flywheel. to use the starter box, the flywheel must be bigger and the engine mounts must sit lower. check the part numbers in the ae manual.
thefuzzclub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2004, 06:32 PM   #3
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

you dont have to change it i didn't change mine the non p/s fly wheel is lighter but how cares about weight untill a roar race. i forgot just change the backer plate on it and throw the p/s away good luck with it

Last edited by 20 SMOKE; 01-20-2004 at 06:51 PM.
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2004, 11:17 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Ducati-Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: California Central Coast
Posts: 458
Default Thqnks

I thought there was some kinda spacing difference. as the non pull starts fits great and spins right up.

bill
Ducati-Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2004, 02:41 AM   #5
Tech Adept
 
The Sleeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 123
Default

There shouldn't be much of a spacing difference.

The reason the engine mounts are taller for PS engines is to make clearance for the pull start itself. The flywheels for pull start engines are generally bigger. This allows you to still use a starter box. You may want to check to see you have a pull start flywheel. Compare it to the one on your other car. You should see a difference in diameter.

Do you have problems starting your PS engine even by pulling the rope? If so, the one-way bearing may be bad.
The Sleeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2004, 02:06 AM   #6
Tech Master
 
Im2lazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hawaii!
Posts: 1,967
Default Re: Thqnks

Quote:
Originally posted by Ducati-Rider
I thought there was some kinda spacing difference. as the non pull starts fits great and spins right up.

bill
The pull-start flywheel is specifically larger than the non-pull flywheel so that even when using pull-start mounts and a pull-start flywheel, you would be able to use a starter box. All cars with flywheel access through the bottom of the chassis are like this. That is why there is a larger (pull-start) flywheel for pull-start engine mounts and a smaller (non-pull) flywheel for lower non-pull motor mounts. The reason for the smaller flywheel and lower motor mounts is simply performance. The reason for the larger flywheel and higher motor mounts are obviously for clearance.

So long as you don't see any black rubber from the starter wheel on the chassis, there should be any clearance issues.

Quote:
Do you have problems starting your PS engine even by pulling the rope? If so, the one-way bearing may be bad.
Agreed.
Im2lazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pull start doesnt work with glow plug in atebit Rookie Zone 8 08-27-2007 08:03 PM
How do starter boxes work? Do they work with Shaft Start engines? Ofna_Driver_777 Electric Off-Road 7 02-25-2007 07:51 PM
Pull Start? Roto Start? or Starter Box? jamiekulhanek Electric Off-Road 3 09-09-2004 01:50 AM
NTC3 pull start to non-pull question SeventyGTX Nitro On-Road 4 02-16-2004 08:05 PM
how do I convert pull start NTC3 to non? jbui Nitro On-Road 5 06-11-2002 09:59 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:00 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net