R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-15-2004, 04:19 AM   #1
Tech Adept
 
bleach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: SYDNEY
Posts: 170
Default What to do with servo wires?>

I have built a serpent 705 and the car doesnt use a radio box so i have all these long servo wires i have cable tied around the steering servo. How has everyone else taken car of their servo wires? Is it safe to cut and shorten them?
bleach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2004, 05:21 AM   #2
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: utrecht, The Netherlands
Posts: 13
Default

of course you can cut them, just make sure you don't make any faults (red on yellow or something like that)
-Nitrohead- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2004, 05:29 AM   #3
Tech Master
 
mop_iko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: JOHOR BAHRU, MALAYSIA but now working in SHANGHAI
Posts: 1,797
Default Re: What to do with servo wires?>

Quote:
Originally posted by bleach1
I have built a serpent 705 and the car doesnt use a radio box so i have all these long servo wires i have cable tied around the steering servo. How has everyone else taken car of their servo wires? Is it safe to cut and shorten them?
You can cut them short, but i think no need for you to cut it, just fold it and tie it with a zip tie. bundle them together and 'store' them under your radio tray between your tank and the battery pack. make sure the wires are not 'grinded' by the front diff or blocking the servo saver movement.

this is one issue / problem serpent need to consider when they design a new car after 710... coz in 710 also they havent solve this problem yet. plus the location for on/off switch...



mop
mop_iko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2004, 05:55 AM   #4
Tech Regular
 
KMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 250
Default

The best thing to do is unscrew the bottom cover of the servo, de-solder the leads, cut them to length and re-solder them back in place. No mess, no fuss.
KMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2004, 08:24 AM   #5
Tech Fanatic
 
Turbo9000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 783
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

For me this is the hardest part of installing the electronics. I swap my electronics alot so I dont want to cut my wires shorter. I usually bundle up the wire with zip ties somewhere out of the way on the car. It gets pretty hard when you run a failsafe and all that good stuff. Just make sure you keep the wires away from servo arms and motor mounts...I had a battery short out because the hot chassis melted the wires.
Turbo9000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2004, 10:01 AM   #6
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 184
Default

Quote:
The best thing to do is unscrew the bottom cover of the servo, de-solder the leads, cut them to length and re-solder them back in place. No mess, no fuss.
Providing they do not damage the board or link solder joints in the process.

Personally I do shorten my pigtails to keep wiring neat and clean, but if you are not an accomplished solderer with adequate equipemnt, you run the risk of ruining the servo by messing up the board or pigtail.
NitroJohnnyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2004, 10:12 AM   #7
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: South FLorida
Posts: 1,104
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Profoxcg
Default

so there is no place to put an on/off switch? -- what am I going to do ?!
Profoxcg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2004, 03:00 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: TEXAS. USA
Posts: 1,219
Trader Rating: 2 (75%+)
Default

Quote:
so there is no place to put an on/off switch? -- what am I going to do ?!
You can zip-tie, superglue, shoe-goo or shrinkwrap the on/off switch to the throttle servo.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg picture 134.jpg (51.6 KB, 233 views)
PUNISHER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2004, 08:14 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
tIANcI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 1,737
Default Re: What to do with servo wires?>

Quote:
Originally posted by bleach1
I have built a serpent 705 and the car doesnt use a radio box so i have all these long servo wires i have cable tied around the steering servo. How has everyone else taken car of their servo wires? Is it safe to cut and shorten them?
Do not cut or re-solder the wires ... you may be asking for trouble unless you have a TRS (throttle return spring). Just bundle it up neatly and cable tie it but remember to also secure the bundle so that it does not drop near the chassis or below it!
tIANcI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2004, 08:14 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
VenomWorldOrder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: www.RCunderground.net
Posts: 4,063
Default Re: Re: What to do with servo wires?>

www.servocity.com

sells the bits to shorten the wires without soldering. i sent a email to ppurchase these items but their service for OS customers isn't that good! i sent around 4 emails stating a order reminding etc and still haven't recieved any products even after they seemed to confirm it.
VenomWorldOrder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2004, 09:04 AM   #11
Tech Champion
 
Manticore's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Heaven
Posts: 9,999
Default Re: Re: Re: What to do with servo wires?>

Quote:
Originally posted by VenomWorldOrder
www.servocity.com

sells the bits to shorten the wires without soldering. i sent a email to ppurchase these items but their service for OS customers isn't that good! i sent around 4 emails stating a order reminding etc and still haven't recieved any products even after they seemed to confirm it.
this?

Manticore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2004, 02:34 AM   #12
Tech Adept
 
bleach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: SYDNEY
Posts: 170
Default

Ok here was my eventual solution to my servo wire problem with the 705. I tried to tie everything down with zip ties. I could only fit my relativly large hitec reciever in a position where it sticks out a fair bit. Any advice on how to protect it?


Last edited by bleach1; 01-24-2004 at 02:55 AM.
bleach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2004, 02:55 AM   #13
Tech Elite
 
VenomWorldOrder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: www.RCunderground.net
Posts: 4,063
Thumbs down

Quote:
Originally posted by bleach1
http://members.optusnet.com.au/bleach1/705wires.jpg
this link works....

UOOHH! UGLY! a mate i race with told me today that dick smiths in australia sells the servo plug ends (the metal components in the pic that manticore posted) so you can then cut the wire and sorten it from the plastic connector peice.
VenomWorldOrder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2004, 06:04 AM   #14
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: South FLorida
Posts: 1,104
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Profoxcg
Talking cool, thanks for the info

I was able to get the connector replacements at my local store, but it was not as cheap as in the website. I am going to try to get all that sort out tonight. =) I want to start the break in of my engine this week so its ready for some saturday practice.
Profoxcg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2004, 03:40 AM   #15
Tech Elite
 
VenomWorldOrder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: www.RCunderground.net
Posts: 4,063
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by VenomWorldOrder
this link works....

UOOHH! UGLY! a mate i race with told me today that dick smiths in australia sells the servo plug ends (the metal components in the pic that manticore posted) so you can then cut the wire and sorten it from the plastic connector peice.
i've purchased the parts i talk about above at dick smiths. they are pcb matrix sockets. they fit......kind of. there is a certain section that is different (the part on the metal connector that is exposed on the plastic cover that sits infront of the plastic flap) this peice is longer than standard. it fits but not too well.

verdict. try it. it will work but won't fit perfect. if anyone in australia can get servocity to answer your emails AND SEND YOU THE PROIDUCTS EMAIL OR PM ME.
VenomWorldOrder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anybody ever solder new wires on there servo? sm1nts2escape Radio and Electronics 1 09-09-2008 05:32 PM
changing servo wires bigbutstupid Radio and Electronics 1 05-11-2008 05:13 AM
Shortening servo wires TL_XXX-S_racer Electric On-Road 6 01-13-2008 11:18 AM
servo wires? spiderman-49 Rookie Zone 5 11-01-2006 04:21 PM
Shortening servo wires Accord Electric On-Road 12 12-01-2003 01:31 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:32 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net