R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-12-2011, 06:25 AM   #1501
abi
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hawkesbury, NSW, Australia.
Posts: 108
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NitoriousRC View Post
Hi all, just finished putting the Lola Conversion Kit on my car, and it's looking sweet!

I am thinking of putting new shock oils in now and am wondering what would be a good oil weight considering i run on a tight track that is a bit bumpy and varying grip levels (depending on how much methanol gets sprayed on).


/edit

Oh and does anyone have any thoughts on running a solid rear diff? One came with the conversion kit but at the moment i still have the front and rear diffs in.

I was contemplating changing to the front solid diff so didnt want to have solids all the way round.
Any thoughts on that?

Hi Nitorious

I'd think of trying 250 to 300 shock oil and try a set of 25LB springs front and back. Lay the shocks over and run a bit extra droop front and back. This is what I run at my local track which is a bit bumpy. The lola conversion has the bodies downforce applied directly to the hubs so soft springs will work well.

With this kit and 220mm body/tyres go with the one way and rear spool. If 200mm lola body and 26mm/30mm tyres go with front and rear diffs.

Good luck and post your outcome.

Adrian
__________________
Team Magic tragic. G4S RTR, G4S, G4S+Evo, 3 x RS09's.
OS Speed, Spektrum.
abi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 02:26 AM   #1502
Tech Adept
 
NitoriousRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 127
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I ended up running the rear end bits minus the solid diff and also the front shock mount but kept the stock bumper setup as i had to run my standard sedan body because I havent started to paint my lola yet.

The shocks now are mounted at the top most hole front and back because they lined up with how i had them set in the bottom holes in the old mounts.
Should i be leaning hem over more?

Also didn't get to change springs and shock oils yet and the car was a bit of a bugger with not much grip on the track.

I kept on loosing the rear end... i found i had to keep some power on around the corners to stop it (which isnt a bad thing).
I guess i had less grip at the back because the downforce is no longer compressing the shocks so it was too stiff and didnt wanna roll with the punches and grip.

Will change bits out this week ... may try the stock kyoshov1rr springs in the rear and the 300 shock oil and see what happens.
NitoriousRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 05:12 AM   #1503
abi
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hawkesbury, NSW, Australia.
Posts: 108
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NitoriousRC View Post
I ended up running the rear end bits minus the solid diff and also the front shock mount but kept the stock bumper setup as i had to run my standard sedan body because I havent started to paint my lola yet.

The shocks now are mounted at the top most hole front and back because they lined up with how i had them set in the bottom holes in the old mounts.
Should i be leaning hem over more?

Also didn't get to change springs and shock oils yet and the car was a bit of a bugger with not much grip on the track.

I kept on loosing the rear end... i found i had to keep some power on around the corners to stop it (which isnt a bad thing).
I guess i had less grip at the back because the downforce is no longer compressing the shocks so it was too stiff and didnt wanna roll with the punches and grip.

Will change bits out this week ... may try the stock kyoshov1rr springs in the rear and the 300 shock oil and see what happens.
Perhaps double check the rear floating body post doesent bind the rear suspension, this can cause the rear to slide. I wouldnt worry too much until you get that lola body fitted though.

Adrian
__________________
Team Magic tragic. G4S RTR, G4S, G4S+Evo, 3 x RS09's.
OS Speed, Spektrum.
abi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 12:19 PM   #1504
Tech Master
 
td-civ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: London Ont Canada
Posts: 1,326
Trader Rating: 18 (95%+)
Default

hey guys i have had a lot of ppl asking about my packs im going to have 40 packs made up in the next 2 weeks

the price will be $25 shipped anywhere in the world all packs come charged and ready to go and if you need it to have a different type of plug on it i can do that for you all my packs are cover for 60 days from the time you get it in your hands

6.6 volt A123 life packs
1600Mah
2.099 in long
1.109 in wide


thanks

Tuan Do
td-civ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 08:29 PM   #1505
Tech Master
 
td-civ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: London Ont Canada
Posts: 1,326
Trader Rating: 18 (95%+)
Default

any of you guys running the protoform p56 body on there car i just mounted mine and its like it dont fit right and there is like no space for the front bumper






td-civ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 08:53 PM   #1506
Tech Elite
 
Pattojnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Perth Australia
Posts: 4,594
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

it really looks like its mounted too far backward.
some bodies i have used with my 733 mounting them as per pre marked holes, i have had to trim the bumper a little. but yours looks too far rearward mounted.
__________________
Serpent - Walter RC
Serpent E Power ..... Serpent 747 Reds M3T
Serpent 966-TE Reds M7T .... S411ERYX Speedpassion 3.5T, T-Shox
Serpent 811-TE REDs R5T
Pattojnr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 10:28 PM   #1507
Tech Master
 
td-civ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: London Ont Canada
Posts: 1,326
Trader Rating: 18 (95%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pattojnr View Post
it really looks like its mounted too far backward.
some bodies i have used with my 733 mounting them as per pre marked holes, i have had to trim the bumper a little. but yours looks too far rearward mounted.
well it sit's right now but still the room for the bumper is the same
td-civ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 10:34 PM   #1508
Tech Elite
 
Pattojnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Perth Australia
Posts: 4,594
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by td-civ View Post
well it sit's right now but still the room for the bumper is the same
first pic shows me your arch cut out for front tyres, actually sits or touches the front, but a 3-4mm gap on the other side, if the body came forward 3-4 mm then id say you will have more room for your bumper as well
__________________
Serpent - Walter RC
Serpent E Power ..... Serpent 747 Reds M3T
Serpent 966-TE Reds M7T .... S411ERYX Speedpassion 3.5T, T-Shox
Serpent 811-TE REDs R5T
Pattojnr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 12:00 AM   #1509
Tech Addict
 
hooked_on's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abi View Post
The G4 has plenty of life to run, the current itteration is the 'G4D' model 502090 based on the G4JR but with a pull start .15 GO engine. Only problem is the Ahhmm... tyres have very low grip levels!
Adrian:

Tis all good i have rejoined the loyal Team Magic followers and will be hitting the track this Wednesday for a full shake down...

Thanks
Andrew
__________________
- - - - 2013 Dick Johnson Racing Team Mate Member - - - -
hooked_on is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 01:28 AM   #1510
Tech Adept
 
NitoriousRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 127
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Mines a Protoform P56 as well, and it does press a bit back on the corners of the front bumper ... but nothing major.
I brought a G4 bumper recently which is a bit stiffer (but has different mount holes) and at around $4 its cheap enough to cut them to fit different shells







Yours looks very cool btw!

NitoriousRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 02:05 AM   #1511
Tech Master
 
td-civ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: London Ont Canada
Posts: 1,326
Trader Rating: 18 (95%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NitoriousRC View Post
Mines a Protoform P56 as well, and it does press a bit back on the corners of the front bumper ... but nothing major.
I brought a G4 bumper recently which is a bit stiffer (but has different mount holes) and at around $4 its cheap enough to cut them to fit different shells


Yours looks very cool btw!

thanks man my painter did up 3 bodys for me i just took a hpi sprint 2 bumper and cut it up to fit it stiffer so it should be good
td-civ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 04:17 AM   #1512
abi
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hawkesbury, NSW, Australia.
Posts: 108
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by td-civ View Post
hey guys i have had a lot of ppl asking about my packs im going to have 40 packs made up in the next 2 weeks

the price will be $25 shipped anywhere in the world all packs come charged and ready to go and if you need it to have a different type of plug on it i can do that for you all my packs are cover for 60 days from the time you get it in your hands

6.6 volt A123 life packs
1600Mah
2.099 in long
1.109 in wide


thanks

Tuan Do
Hi Tuan,

what is the height and weight of the Fe packs?

Cheers

Adrian.
__________________
Team Magic tragic. G4S RTR, G4S, G4S+Evo, 3 x RS09's.
OS Speed, Spektrum.
abi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 12:26 AM   #1513
Tech Master
 
td-civ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: London Ont Canada
Posts: 1,326
Trader Rating: 18 (95%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abi View Post
Hi Tuan,

what is the height and weight of the Fe packs?

Cheers

Adrian.

6.6 volt A123 life packs
1600Mah
2.099 in long
1.109 in wide
0.572 in height
i dont have my scale on me but the pack weight as much as a AA battery way less then a lipo
td-civ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 04:20 AM   #1514
Tech Addict
 
hooked_on's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Can't wait till tomorrow for my 2009 maiden voyage!
__________________
- - - - 2013 Dick Johnson Racing Team Mate Member - - - -
hooked_on is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 05:03 AM   #1515
Tech Adept
 
NitoriousRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 127
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

All the best for the maiden man, remember to check it all over and make sure the failsafe is set if you have one~
NitoriousRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team Magic G4 Motorman Nitro On-Road 11759 12-09-2016 06:09 AM
‘FWR Racing Season’ FWR Northwest Racers 11302 08-23-2015 07:38 PM
Team Magic G4 + EVO afm Nitro On-Road 421 08-05-2011 01:31 PM
RC equipments for Sale ijnek Malaysian R/C Racers 22836 09-09-2009 02:50 PM
Just Hobby 1/10 Onroad GP Sedan Challenge Race 2( 08 March 2009 ) justhobby Singapore R/C Racers 28 04-08-2009 10:59 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:15 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net