R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-16-2009, 07:59 PM   #1
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: at the track
Posts: 840
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default STS D3R (ONLY) discusson

I know we have a thread for STS engine already. But they all are mixed with all sizes. My thread is specifically for "D3R" only.

I am thinking to buy a used JLR EVO 3 vs a new STS D3R...dont know what to do....

If you have one, can you please tell me what you think? I have recently blew my Sirion Evo 3 crank in 2 big pieces and i have less than 2 gallons...so i think expensive or name brand is not always the best...

By the way, is the JLR Evo 3 better or worse than the Sirio Evo 3???

Thanks...
xxx123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 08:08 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
aizenbelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 311
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xxx123 View Post
I know we have a thread for STS engine already. But they all are mixed with all sizes. My thread is specifically for "D3R" only.

I am thinking to buy a used JLR EVO 3 vs a new STS D3R...dont know what to do....

If you have one, can you please tell me what you think? I have recently blew my Sirion Evo 3 crank in 2 big pieces and i have less than 2 gallons...so i think expensive or name brand is not always the best...

By the way, is the JLR Evo 3 better or worse than the Sirio Evo 3???

Thanks...
Good engine! look around for pricing .


2 gallons for a Nitro engine way toooooooo much
__________________
Don't Blame it on the car when you know you cant drive
X_ray Nt_1 08
RRR WC (For sale!!)
G4+EVO
G4RS 09' (IT'S FINALLY HERE!!!!!) Serpent 733 put on hold!!
aizenbelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 08:08 PM   #3
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

the JL evo 3 or the 4. i've had the d3r good all around engine simple to tune but is better with a nova carb but for all out power go with the JL
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 08:37 PM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: at the track
Posts: 840
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aizenbelle View Post
Good engine! look around for pricing .


2 gallons for a Nitro engine way toooooooo much
Hi, why you say 2 gallons is a lot...??

My friend has a V12 over 4 gallons, still strong....

My P5X in my losi 8ight has way more than 4 gallons still idle and hold tune fine....
xxx123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 08:42 PM   #5
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

The Piccos are the best bang for the buck motors on the planet, go with them.

Although, why buy used when new ones are so cheap?
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 08:50 PM   #6
Tech Addict
 
CurveTracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Suburban Chicago
Posts: 504
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I have both engines, the JL Evo 3 is an order of magnitude of power output across the rev range over the STS D3R. I had an RD Logics Turbo II pipe mated to my D3R and it performed well, especially with a good clutch setup. The JL Evo engine has smooth high torque through the technical sections of the race course and down the back straight. It performs best when mated to the Picco 2607 pipe.

This thread should be moved to the nitro engine zone.
__________________
"Yellow Jacket" Mugen MTX-6, Picco Torque
TeamNITRO RC Club, Lynwood, Illinois
CurveTracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 09:02 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 276
Default

The D3R is good engine for the money. It will work better with the Novarossi cab, for the stock cab makes sure the fuel inlet (at the HSN) is tight as it will leak if it is loose.
__________________
http://www.gpm-parts.com
gpm-parts.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 09:32 PM   #8
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: at the track
Posts: 840
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gpm-parts.com View Post
The D3R is good engine for the money. It will work better with the Novarossi cab, for the stock cab makes sure the fuel inlet (at the HSN) is tight as it will leak if it is loose.
i have many Novarossi Carbs, but they are for my .21 P5X, would they fit? Thanks
xxx123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 10:28 PM   #9
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 276
Default

no, only the .12 carb fits. The .21 Novarossi carb will only fit the .21 STS engines
__________________
http://www.gpm-parts.com
gpm-parts.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 04:05 PM   #10
Tech Regular
 
aizenbelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 311
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xxx123 View Post
Hi, why you say 2 gallons is a lot...??

My friend has a V12 over 4 gallons, still strong....

My P5X in my losi 8ight has way more than 4 gallons still idle and hold tune fine....
I have never seen an engine performing the same after the first gallon. I dont know if your friend runs his engine hard, just around or whatever. but after 2 gallons an engine should be rebuild or pinched and if you are a racer you should rebuild every one gallon.
__________________
Don't Blame it on the car when you know you cant drive
X_ray Nt_1 08
RRR WC (For sale!!)
G4+EVO
G4RS 09' (IT'S FINALLY HERE!!!!!) Serpent 733 put on hold!!
aizenbelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 06:27 PM   #11
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: at the track
Posts: 840
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aizenbelle View Post
I have never seen an engine performing the same after the first gallon. I dont know if your friend runs his engine hard, just around or whatever. but after 2 gallons an engine should be rebuild or pinched and if you are a racer you should rebuild every one gallon.
Do you know how much fuel you need to break in a RB engine?
xxx123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 06:37 PM   #12
Tech Regular
 
aizenbelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 311
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xxx123 View Post
Do you know how much fuel you need to break in a RB engine?
10 thanks did mine just fine. Please don't tell me you go through a gallon to break in an engine
__________________
Don't Blame it on the car when you know you cant drive
X_ray Nt_1 08
RRR WC (For sale!!)
G4+EVO
G4RS 09' (IT'S FINALLY HERE!!!!!) Serpent 733 put on hold!!
aizenbelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 07:32 PM   #13
Tech Regular
 
max_chen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 338
Send a message via MSN to max_chen Send a message via Skype™ to max_chen
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aizenbelle View Post
10 thanks did mine just fine. Please don't tell me you go through a gallon to break in an engine
Ha....Ha....
__________________
High Performance Exhaust System by SSTECH.
www.sstech-racing.com
My facebook http://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php?id=100000783788369
APlus adjustable clutch system(ACS Clutch)
max_chen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 07:54 PM   #14
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Man I wish 10 thanks was all it took. Would save a lot of time and money
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 08:11 PM   #15
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: at the track
Posts: 840
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wingracer View Post
Man I wish 10 thanks was all it took. Would save a lot of time and money

Sometimes, 10 tanks can get your engine "broken" too.....
xxx123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:17 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net