R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-21-2010, 11:57 AM   #1951
Tech Adept
 
ProE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: South Africa
Posts: 236
Send a message via MSN to ProE Send a message via Skype™ to ProE
Default

Quote:
I got you covered for a picture. If you can wait till this evening I will be home and snap a pic.
Thank you
ProE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 05:58 PM   #1952
Tech Fanatic
 
G87z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Logan Township, NJ
Posts: 788
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ProE View Post
Thank you

Here ya go. Does your switch have the charging wire? Or must you disconnect it fromt he battery each time?
Attached Thumbnails
Serpent 733 1/10 200mm touring-img_1484.jpg   Serpent 733 1/10 200mm touring-img_1475.jpg   Serpent 733 1/10 200mm touring-img_1482.jpg  
__________________
Team Shepherd USA / Picco Engines / Sanwa / Matrix Tires / Byrons Fuel / SRC
G87z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 06:23 PM   #1953
Tech Fanatic
 
Team-RTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: sydney
Posts: 917
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ProE View Post
Im trying to get my wiring sorted out for this car. The biggest problem I've got is the battery wire connection. I've mounted the switch in the receiver box.

Where can I position the plug from the switch, that goes to the battery, so that I can easily connect/disconnect the battery from it to charge the battery. I can put it between the battery and the transponder, but then I'll have to take the whole battery out just to charge it.

I would like to be able to leave the battery in the car while its charging.
Any ideas?

Photos of what you've done would also be helpful.
i have a similar issue to you aswell. what i have done is routed the switch wire so the plug sits between the steering servo mount and the front of the tank, so that i just have to remove the tank to charge, which is quite a simple task. I cant post pictures now dues to being at work, but will post a little later on tonight.
__________________
SERPENT | NOVAROSSI | XRAY | TEKIN | FUTABA
Team-RTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 09:28 PM   #1954
Tech Adept
 
ProE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: South Africa
Posts: 236
Send a message via MSN to ProE Send a message via Skype™ to ProE
Default

Quote:
Does your switch have the charging wire? Or must you disconnect it fromt he battery each time?
The switch that I've got in there now, doesn't have the extra charging wire. maybe I must get on of those switches.
ProE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 11:19 PM   #1955
Tech Elite
 
Pattojnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Perth Australia
Posts: 4,594
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

i run the same setup , so the battery doesnt need unplugging all the time.
__________________
Serpent - Walter RC
Serpent E Power ..... Serpent 747 Reds M3T
Serpent 966-TE Reds M7T .... S411ERYX Speedpassion 3.5T, T-Shox
Serpent 811-TE REDs R5T
Pattojnr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 12:26 AM   #1956
Tech Champion
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,172
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G87z View Post
Here ya go. Does your switch have the charging wire? Or must you disconnect it fromt he battery each time?
XRAY switch smaller size !
RC MARKET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 12:52 AM   #1957
Tech Regular
 
Kyle Hazell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 371
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Team-RTR View Post
i have a similar issue to you aswell. what i have done is routed the switch wire so the plug sits between the steering servo mount and the front of the tank, so that i just have to remove the tank to charge, which is quite a simple task. I cant post pictures now dues to being at work, but will post a little later on tonight.

I have found the easiest way to run it is like attached, just use an extension wire. No removal of the tank, no switch to turn itself of and take the engine to the big engine yard in the sky.....
Attached Thumbnails
Serpent 733 1/10 200mm touring-733-connection.jpg  
__________________
ARC R8 RB - Blitz Kronos Tyres - Futaba
Kyle Hazell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 01:29 AM   #1958
Tech Fanatic
 
Julius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Amsterdam Netherlands
Posts: 979
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ProE View Post
The switch that I've got in there now, doesn't have the extra charging wire. maybe I must get on of those switches.
I have the receptacle plug glued to the bottom of the radio plate.
Attached Thumbnails
Serpent 733 1/10 200mm touring-733wires.jpg  
__________________
Team Serpent, Xceed, Sanwa, LRP
Julius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 01:41 AM   #1959
Tech Elite
 
Pattojnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Perth Australia
Posts: 4,594
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

just for interest with the lightweight shaft and disc from CSO.
the std shaft 22grams CSO 16 grams
std disc 12 grams CSO 9 grams
so overall a 9 gram saving. and not that expensive. now to try it in race conditions to see if brakes are as good, and everything works ok still .
__________________
Serpent - Walter RC
Serpent E Power ..... Serpent 747 Reds M3T
Serpent 966-TE Reds M7T .... S411ERYX Speedpassion 3.5T, T-Shox
Serpent 811-TE REDs R5T
Pattojnr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 07:26 PM   #1960
Tech Regular
 
Rock Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 461
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Pattojnr,

Thanks for the weights....I ordered these not knowing the savings. Hope it helps!
Rock Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 07:46 PM   #1961
Tech Regular
 
Rock Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 461
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle Hazell View Post
I have found the easiest way to run it is like attached, just use an extension wire. No removal of the tank, no switch to turn itself of and take the engine to the big engine yard in the sky.....
Kinda did the same but with micro dean plugs, they have a tight fit and soild connection. Direct charge to the lipo and regulator plugs right into the receiver. The LiFe will be here soon so ill probably do the same but safe some weight without the small regulator.
Attached Thumbnails
Serpent 733 1/10 200mm touring-p1020166.jpg  
Rock Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 03:16 AM   #1962
Tech Fanatic
 
Julius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Amsterdam Netherlands
Posts: 979
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rock Racing View Post
Kinda did the same but with micro dean plugs, they have a tight fit and soild connection. Direct charge to the lipo and regulator plugs right into the receiver. The LiFe will be here soon so ill probably do the same but safe some weight without the small regulator.
If you have a small receiver the lipo regulator can fit inside the box! Agreed the wires could be a bin neater but they're inside!
Attached Thumbnails
Serpent 733 1/10 200mm touring-733regulator.jpg  
__________________
Team Serpent, Xceed, Sanwa, LRP
Julius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 04:21 AM   #1963
Tech Fanatic
 
Alex Siddique's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central Coast , NSW Australia
Posts: 872
Trader Rating: 30 (97%+)
Send a message via MSN to Alex Siddique
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Julius View Post
If you have a small receiver the lipo regulator can fit inside the box! Agreed the wires could be a bin neater but they're inside!
LIFE battery reduces a lot of wiring too. i am using 2 atm and they are 1450 mah and last me for around 2 hours of full on racing with digital servos.

Has Any one used the alum body posts? Is there any sign of stress / cracks in there mounting place.
Cheers
Alex
__________________
No Fucker's Taking my money O/s OR local :) :)
Alex Siddique is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 10:33 PM   #1964
Tech Initiate
 
theerm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sydney oz
Posts: 28
Default

do you guys use the balance wire when recharging lipo or life batteries ?
i have the liFe battery to put in but i would have to remove it to charge with the balance wire. and i'm to lazy to pull the battery every time.
can any one help?

thanks in advance
theerm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 11:28 PM   #1965
Tech Addict
 
NitroWD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 622
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theerm View Post
do you guys use the balance wire when recharging lipo or life batteries ?
i have the liFe battery to put in but i would have to remove it to charge with the balance wire. and i'm to lazy to pull the battery every time.
can any one help?

thanks in advance
normally i would balance charge it after every 5 cycles...should be fine as it's only a 2cell receiver battery.
__________________
* Earth's fate depends on what we do TODAY... *
+ Earth got all the time in the world; but we DON'T... +
NitroWD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RCMC 1/8, 1/10 Gas Singapore National Series round 3, 23 AUG 2009 backplate Singapore R/C Racers 47 08-27-2009 12:03 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:01 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net