R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-29-2003, 08:22 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
TexasRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to TexasRacer
Default Sts 12

I just bought one on Rc-muchroom.com Are they any good? Also do they come SG shaft and rear Exhaust? http://rc-mushroom.com/product_info....roducts_id=729
TexasRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2003, 08:30 PM   #2
Tech Addict
 
Thunder racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: ((^^Keep It Sidewayz^^))
Posts: 536
Default

I have a STS D5 and it is a very good engin so far ive only had it for about a week now and it runs good. Very fast

But i dont know much about that sts engine lots of people say they have lots of problems with the con rod.
they after run you should change the rod and the engine will last you lots longer. So if i was you i would change it after run in.

Thats what i did with my D5 anyway.

Cheers
Hope this helps.
Thunder racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2003, 08:54 PM   #3
Tech Addict
 
TexasRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to TexasRacer
Default

Ok kool I will have on sent to me ASAP is it a must do? I wonder why everyone says to change it. I thought during the break in you also are wearing in the conrod also though right?
TexasRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2003, 03:49 AM   #4
Tech Addict
 
Thunder racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: ((^^Keep It Sidewayz^^))
Posts: 536
Default

No man your manly wearing in the P/s.

I changed my rod in my D5 after run and its runs good now i got no problems with it.
Thunder racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2003, 07:20 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
stefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Bavaria, Germany
Posts: 3,273
Send a message via AIM to stefan
Default

The break in process is very hard on the conrod in any engine.

The rod basically has to force the piston up the sleeve while the fit is still very tight....
stefan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2003, 09:32 AM   #6
Tech Addict
 
TexasRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to TexasRacer
Default

Ok kool I thought you also are wearing in the Rod also.
TexasRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2004, 04:55 PM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
TOEBSTER2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: DePere, WI
Posts: 993
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I ran an STS last summer and it was a great engine. We ran two eight week nitro seasons and my connecting rod went out three races to the end. Others also had them and the rod went right away. Not to scare anyone away though. The engine was fast till then and also easy to tune.
__________________
Crookid Creations
TOEBSTER2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2004, 10:25 PM   #8
Tech Addict
 
jscamry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Oviedo,FL
Posts: 507
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jscamry Send a message via MSN to jscamry Send a message via Yahoo to jscamry Send a message via Skype™ to jscamry
Default

can't you just use novarossi engine rods to replace the sts rods. since they are long stoke engines?

jason
jscamry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2004, 10:27 PM   #9
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NC USA
Posts: 472
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to markallen Send a message via Yahoo to markallen
Default

I tried a rod out of a Mugen and it didn't fit .Too long
markallen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2004, 12:36 AM   #10
Tech Champion
 
Manticore's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Heaven
Posts: 9,999
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TOEBSTER2
I ran an STS last summer and it was a great engine. We ran two eight week nitro seasons and my connecting rod went out three races to the end. Others also had them and the rod went right away. Not to scare anyone away though. The engine was fast till then and also easy to tune.
check your crankshaft pin and measure the diameter of the pin in different spots. if you have different measurements and they are more then 0.05mm difference, you need to change a crankshaft as the worn down pin will eat up your conrod bushing fast.
Manticore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2004, 01:16 AM   #11
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 45
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jscamry
can't you just use novarossi engine rods to replace the sts rods. since they are long stoke engines?

jason
It works for me.The rod taken from my novarossi RS12 fix in very nicely into my RS3.For your info when I broke the rod and try to get a replacement from my local distributor its given to me FREE.
IronMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:56 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net