R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Old 04-07-2009, 10:36 AM   #1
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default iPhone/iTouch application ideas for R/C

Hi all,

I'm a software developer by profession and I've raced RC cars for a few years now. There have been a number of times that I've wished there were an RC application for the iPhone to do this or do that.

I'd like to develop a few applications for the iPhone specifically for RC and I was hoping to get input from you.

One of the main apps I'd like to see is one for setups and I just made a post about that idea here: http://www.rctech.net/forum/electric...eed-ideas.html

For the nitro crowd (and I'm a nitro racer) I've always wanted an app that could help me with pit stop timing.

Imagine I've got a 30 minute race and want to pit every 6.5 minutes. I enter this information and select some music to play. I pop one earbud in. I might start the timer by shaking the iPhone 5 seconds before the race starts.

During the race I get to listen to my music. Occasionally the music fades out and I hear a voice that says "4 minutes left before pit". 15 seconds before the pit it reminds me again and vibrates a bunch.

Maybe you set an option for whether it should just assume you pit whenever it tells you (and how long to assume your pit takes) or you pull your iPhone out and shake it briefly to reset the pit timer.

Then you're back to your music, etc.

Can you give me input on such an application? Would you buy it from the Application Store if it were available? Do you have other things you'd like to see on the iPhone that are RC-specific?

If I get some feedback and interest I'll get started.
Arboleda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 10:47 AM   #2
Tech Regular