R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-01-2003, 11:15 PM   #46
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 147
Default

For Fail Safe, is KO Fail Safe works for Futaba Remote? Anyone knows? Thanks.
ckh1328 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2003, 11:39 PM   #47
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

Any external fail safe device will work on either radios.
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 12:18 AM   #48
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 783
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ckh1328
For Fail Safe, is KO Fail Safe works for Futaba Remote? Anyone knows? Thanks.
If you choose 3PK set with PCM Modulation receiver, you do not need external fail safe, coz its included.
GoldFinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 12:30 AM   #49
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GoldFinger
If you choose 3PK set with PCM Modulation receiver, you do not need external fail safe, coz its included.
You actually can under PCM mode but then like what you say, it is redundant as 3PK already has built in fail safe...

In any case, I forgot to add that if you're using the 3PK under HRS mode, you CANNOT use the external fail safe device. This is mentioned in their manual.
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 01:00 AM   #50
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 783
Default

Nice to meet yo u here D.

True for the PCM, sorry it is not included actually it is a feature that we can use it.

In HRS mode(HRS receiver) actually we could still using the fail safe, you can switch off the TX before RX then you can see that the servo is going to the position that you set before.
But no Battery fail-safe feature just like we need in gas powered car so PCM is better for gas car.

Hope this will helps..
GoldFinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 01:28 AM   #51
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GoldFinger
In HRS mode(HRS receiver) actually we could still using the fail safe, you can switch off the TX before RX then you can see that the servo is going to the position that you set before.
But no Battery fail-safe feature just like we need in gas powered car so PCM is better for gas car.
Ummm, on my 705 with HRS receiver, battery fail safe feature is activated.

But I think you mistook what I mentioned earlier. With HRS, you cannot install the EXTERNAL type fail safe units like the one from Venom, KO or even by Futaba.

I quote from the 3PK manual;

FailSafe: the FS1 FailSafe may be used with standard PPM/FM receivers to return throttle to idle in case of a loss of signal,
similar to the FailSafe function of PCM/HRS receivers. NOTE that HRS receivers can not operate with the FS1.
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 01:43 AM   #52
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 783
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by InitialD
Ummm, on my 705 with HRS receiver, battery fail safe feature is activated.
....Oohhh
Im gonna try that. Looks my English is very bad, so i wrongly understand the manual.

1 more thing D , when you tune the carb (w/ HRS rx) if the metal part of driver touchs your skin, some glitch is happen in your servo is it true?
GoldFinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 01:59 AM   #53
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GoldFinger
Im gonna try that. Looks my English is very bad, so i wrongly understand the manual.
Don't worry. Your english is pretty good already !

Quote:
Originally posted by GoldFinger
1 more thing D , when you tune the carb (w/ HRS rx) if the metal part of driver touchs your skin, some glitch is happen in your servo is it true?
I have not noticed this. But I know that if I start the engine with my glowstarter and if it touches the heatsink, the servos will glitch a little. Both PCM and HRS.
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 08:29 AM   #54
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 147
Default

Thanks, but sorry I am kind of lost. So do I need an external Fail Safe if I am using 3PK?
ckh1328 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 08:40 AM   #55
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Anyone who might be looking for a good radio, UltimateHobbies has a sell on the Lynx3D FM w/spectra module AND Novak Xxtra for only $189.99

I would certainly pick one up if I wasn't already running this setup.
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 08:54 AM   #56
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ckh1328
Thanks, but sorry I am kind of lost. So do I need an external Fail Safe if I am using 3PK?
Sorry for the little digress...

An external fail safe device like the Venom, KO or the Futaba varient is NOT needed when you use the 3PK because it already has an in-built fail safe that you can activate.

If for whatever reason you want to run an external fail safe with the 3PK (of course this is redundant), you can do it when you're running under PCM mode but NOT when you're running HRS. Hope that was clear !
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 10:07 AM   #57
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 147
Default

Thanks
ckh1328 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 10:30 PM   #58
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sin City
Posts: 16
Send a message via Yahoo to SerpentNewbie
Default

I am planning on getting a KO PROPO EX-10 Helios.... just wondering if anyone could tell me where the best price to get one is?
SerpentNewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 11:20 PM   #59
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 381
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SerpentNewbie
I am planning on getting a KO PROPO EX-10 Helios.... just wondering if anyone could tell me where the best price to get one is?
microrcshop ...comes with free shipping ...I bought my helios from them
microrcshop
penggoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2003, 10:17 AM   #60
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 147
Default

The best price if you are only getting a remote is from your lhs.
ckh1328 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 DTX ICE - Car stands, 8000 7.4 lipos, B4 Spares, Tires, 3PK radio M8 radio spektrum racer34v R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 07-16-2008 06:10 AM
gt2 truck,spectrum radio,ae radio,glow starters.......trade for non rc realted xsxracing Other Items: For Sale/Trade or Wanted to Buy 1 08-07-2007 05:43 PM
gt2 truck,nitro extras,spetrum radio,ae radio,charger,battery more....cheap xsxracing R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 08-07-2007 08:40 AM
Good radio:fm, any brand, no offer refused! needed radio(3 channel t to the maxx2 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 16 02-05-2005 11:20 AM
Futaba 3PJS FM/PCM radio w/7 sets of crystals and MATT FRANCIS radio bag Ron Meloni R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 01-08-2003 04:43 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:15 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net