R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-12-2009, 01:27 PM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Default race motor rebuild do it ur self

does any one know of a site that walks you through porting and polishing? all help is extreamly appreciated. I have a team associated .12 and want to mod it my self. any body know of a site or company? walk through site perferably
godriverc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 03:29 PM   #2
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Read this entire thread.

http://www.rctech.net/forum/exclusiv...o-engines.html
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2009, 09:09 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
HarryN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 2,009
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HarryN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wingracer View Post
Wow, that was an awesome thread!!!!

Only thing it did not talk about was those Hudy break-in bench. Is that really needed? A hobby store told me I need to have it if I am to be competitive. I have raced Nitro on-road in the past and never needed one. But I am a bit skepticle about "needing" a break-in bench from Hudy in order to be competitive.
__________________
Car(s): Team Losi 22 1/10 Buggy, Team Losi 22 1/10 Stadium Truck
Motors/Engines: SP 13.5 v1.0, SP 17.5 v3.0 x2, RevTech 7.5
Radio: Spektrum DX3R, DX3S
Cars For Sale: FG 08-530 EVO w/ Sport Brakes!
Track(s): http://www.rctrack.com
HarryN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2009, 09:39 AM   #4
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 6,281
Send a message via ICQ to Roelof
Default

No, there is no Hudy bench needed. The Hudy bench takes away the boring slow driving on a track and with slow driving there is alway the urge to go faster which could damage the engine.....

And there are some people saying the Hudy bench is giving the wrong airflow on the engine compared when mounted in the car which could have effect on the shaping of the P/S set due the expansion on cold and hot spots of the engine.
__________________
The quality of an answer comes with the quality of the question.
Roelof is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2009, 10:00 AM   #5
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

there was a post in here a while ago that was from one of the magazines on how to port a p/s but i cant seem to find it
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2009, 12:12 PM   #6
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

A break in bench is not needed and in fact, if not used correctly it can kill a motor before it ever hits the track. If you do use one you have to shroud the head with something to allow the motor to get up to a reasonable temp. If you just let it sit there it will run all day at ambient temp and just wear itself out.

That being said, it can really come in handy with some of these super tight, take forever to break in kind of motors we have these days.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2009, 09:02 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Chiefy 707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Vallejo, CA
Posts: 485
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wingracer View Post

That being said, it can really come in handy with some of these super tight, take forever to break in kind of motors we have these days.
__________________
"It looks like a [insert car here]. It's just another [insert car here] clone!"
"Why did [insert manufacturer here] go with such a radical design? [insert manufacturer here] needs to stick with what works!" Shhhh, please.

HB/LRP/KO Propo/Protek/Associated/Tekno
Chiefy 707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 07:12 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
HarryN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 2,009
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HarryN
Default

Wow, usually I do a tank at least with wheels off the ground and let the engine idle while blipping it to clear out the stagnant fuel and oil. Do you guys just drop the car on the track and drive to break it in? Does that old rule "If you break it in fast you'll go fast. If you break it in slow, you'll go slow." still apply?
__________________
Car(s): Team Losi 22 1/10 Buggy, Team Losi 22 1/10 Stadium Truck
Motors/Engines: SP 13.5 v1.0, SP 17.5 v3.0 x2, RevTech 7.5
Radio: Spektrum DX3R, DX3S
Cars For Sale: FG 08-530 EVO w/ Sport Brakes!
Track(s): http://www.rctrack.com
HarryN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 11:22 PM   #9
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 46
Default

These are amazing threads. Keep up the good work gentlemen
thewood1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
R/C Drifter chipsmore Brunei R/C Racers 79 06-16-2009 02:16 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:27 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net