R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Old 02-01-2002, 08:35 AM   #1
Tech Regular

Send a message via AIM to vthondaboi Send a message via Yahoo to vthondaboi
Default question concerning foam and runner tires

well I am new to the sport and already want to upgrade my hpi nitro rs4 to something better...I've heard that if I use a foam tire setup I will need to buy a trie shredder of some sort to cut,shave, or shred the tires down to the right size?...these machines cost $400 so that's not chump change but yet I've never heard of them netion on the forums I visit....what are you guys opinions about this?...is it really necessasry to have a tire shredder?
vthondaboi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2002, 08:42 AM   #2
Tech Initiate

Are you talking about a tire truer? You should use one if you're running foams to make sure that all the tires are the correct diameter and have any or no camber taper (whichever you prefer).

As for the price, Hudy sells manual tire truers that can be bought for less than $300 (more like $250 ~$275, IIRC). The fully automatic Hudy is around $400+, IIRC. Other brands are even cheaper.

I run rubber right now, but the GT-4R was intended for foams. I plan on trying foams this weekend and seeing how it goes. If I like them that much, I will probably invest in a tire truer pretty soon.

By the way, I am also from Arlington.
71dsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2002, 08:47 AM   #3
Tech Regular

oh tight dude I talked to someone from ft worth last night too...RCCADET I believe and he was very helpful....I need t o find more people like y'all to bother the heck out of...

so can the serpent impulse run with rubber tires? or was it the impact....but what I'm getting at is with the 1/10 on road class cars that come equipped with foam tires can you put rubber tires on them?
Old 02-01-2002, 09:08 AM   #4
Tech Initiate